Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Parnamirim - An American Airbase in the tropics - 1939-1945 - cover

Parnamirim - An American Airbase in the tropics - 1939-1945

Valdívia S. Beauchamp

Publisher: Oficina do Livro Editora Ltda

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Nesta história fascinante a autora tenta resgatar, mesmo com brevidade, alguns traços da dignidade de esquecidos heróis e heroínas brasileiros. No ano de 2020 em que é celebrado 75 anos de um dos mais importantes acontecimentos históricos do século passado, a vitória dos Aliados sobre o nazifascismo, este livro é lançado em homenagem a esses heróis.
Available since: 09/06/2022.

Other books that might interest you

  • Jen's Jet - cover

    Jen's Jet

    Douglas Vautour

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Phonics Fun Readers is a series of phonics learning English fairy tale readers designed for children from first-time English to lower grades of elementary school.
    Show book
  • City Limits - cover

    City Limits

    Paul E. Peterson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This award-winning book “skillfully blends economic and political analysis” to assess the challenges of urban governments (Emmett H. Buell, Jr., American Political Science Review).  Winner of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for the best book published in the United States on government, politics, or international affairs   Many simply presume that a city’s politics are like a nation’s politics, just on a smaller scale. But the nature of the city is different in many respects—it can’t issue currency, or choose who crosses its borders, make war or make peace. Because of these and other limits, one must view cities in their larger socioeconomic and political contexts. Its place in the nation fundamentally affects the policies a city makes.   Rather than focusing exclusively on power structures or competition among diverse groups or urban elites, this book assesses the strengths and shortcomings of how we have previously thought about city politics—and shines new light on how agendas are set, decisions are made, resources are allocated, and power is exercised within cities, as they exist within a federal framework.   “Professor Peterson's analysis is imaginatively conceived and skillfully carried through. [City Limits] will lastingly alter our understanding of urban affairs in America.”—from the citation by the selection committee for the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award
    Show book
  • The Waterloo Archive Volume II: German Sources - cover

    The Waterloo Archive Volume II:...

    Gareth Glover

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Histories of the Waterloo campaign and tours of the battlefield generally concentrate on the battle between the armies of Napoleon and Wellington - the role of Blucher's Prussians is left in the background. Peter Hofscher's fascinating account focuses on the Prussians at the Battle of Waterloo and on their critical but often neglected contribution to the battle. He tells the story of the grueling Prussian advance towards the battlefield and he records the ferocious and decisive fight that broke out when they arrived. At every stage he allows the reader to follow in the footsteps of the Prussian soldiers as they struggled across the Belgian countryside almost 200 years ago.
    Show book
  • This Is Ohio - The Overdose Crisis and the Front Lines of a New America - cover

    This Is Ohio - The Overdose...

    Jack Shuler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For readers of Dopesick and Dreamland, journalist Jack Shuler explores the current addiction crisis as a human rights problem fostered by poverty and inadequate health care in this “insightful look at how the issues in Ohio affect the rest of the country” (Cosmopolitan, A Best Nonfiction Book of the Year).Tainted drug supplies, inadequate civic responses, and prevailing negative opinions about people who use drugs, the poor, and those struggling with mental health issues lead to thousands of preventable deaths each year while politicians are slow to adopt effective policies. Putting themselves at great personal risk (and often breaking the law to do so), the brave men and women profiled in This Is Ohio are mounting a grassroots effort to combat ineffective and often incorrect ideas about addiction and instead focus on saving lives through commonsense harm reduction policies.Opioids are the current face of addiction, but as Shuler shows, the crisis in our midst is one that has long been fostered by income inequality, the loss of manufacturing jobs across the Rust Belt, and lack of access to health care. What is playing out in Ohio today isn’t only about opioids, but rather a decades–long economic and sociological shift in small towns all across the United States. It’s also about a larger culture of stigma at the heart of how we talk about addiction. What happens in Ohio will have ramifications felt across the nation and for decades to come.
    Show book
  • Summary of Mark R Levin's Plunder and Deceit - cover

    Summary of Mark R Levin's...

    Falcon Press

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Summary of Mark R. Levin's Plunder and Deceit calls a threat to the United State’s experiment with democracy. At the heart of the threat is an executive branch of government that is running amok. Its leaders are well meaning, but they are trying to transform the US into a utopia by throwing trillions of dollars at the country’s social problems. The result is a national debt that has passed $18 trillion and continues growing. The soaring increase in debt is unsustainable. Sooner or later, the system will face financial collapse. When that happens, it will be future generations, not the current generation that is supporting the increased government spending, that will be left to pick up the pieces. Levin sees what’s happening as no less than a threat to US democracy.  
    The reason the executive branch is running amok is that it has shattered the balance of power between the branches of government…
    Show book
  • The Rebels' Hour - cover

    The Rebels' Hour

    Lieve Joris

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A compelling, blood-soaked portrait of a young Tutsi rebel who rose to become one of the leading generals in the Congolese Army.” —Details   Lieve Joris has long been considered “one of the best journalists in the world” and in The Rebels’ Hour she illuminates the dark heart of contemporary Congo through the prism of one lonely, complicated man—a rebel leader named Assani who becomes a high-ranking general in the Congolese army. As we navigate the chaos of his lawless country alongside him, the pathologically evasive Assani stands out in relief as a man who is both monstrous and sympathetic, perpetrator and victim (Libération, France).   “Lieve Joris is of the caliber of Naipaul or Ryszard Kapuscinski, 50% traveler, 50% journalist, 100% writer.” —Elle (France)
    Show book