You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced

Other books that might interest you

  • A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing - The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland - cover

    A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous...

    DaMaris Hill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season 
    Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year 
    BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" 
    Most Anticipated Books of the Year--The Rumpus, Nylon 
     
    A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration. 
      
    “It is costly to stay free and appear / sane.” 
     
    From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida B. Wells to Sandra Bland and Black Lives Matter, black women freedom fighters have braved violence, scorn, despair, and isolation in order to lodge their protests. In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, DaMaris Hill honors their experiences with at times harrowing, at times hopeful responses to her heroes, illustrated with black-and-white photographs throughout. 
    For black American women, the experience of being bound has taken many forms: from the bondage of slavery to the Reconstruction-era criminalization of women; from the brutal constraints of Jim Crow to our own era's prison industrial complex, where between 1980 and 2014, the number of incarcerated women increased by 700%.* For those women who lived and died resisting the dehumanization of confinement--physical, social, intellectual--the threat of being bound was real, constant, and lethal.  
     
    In A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing, Hill presents bitter, unflinching history that artfully captures the personas of these captivating, bound yet unbridled African-American women. Hill's passionate odes to Zora Neale Hurston, Lucille Clifton, Fannie Lou Hamer, Grace Jones, Eartha Kitt, and others also celebrate the modern-day inheritors of their load and light, binding history, author, and reader in an essential legacy of struggle. 
     
    *The Sentencing Project
    Show book
  • Life Support - 100 Poems to Reach for on Dark Nights - cover

    Life Support - 100 Poems to...

    Julia Copus

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    These carefully selected poems will offer solace; provide an escape from the constant chatter of everyday thought; help make space for the unexpected; enable us to reinvent ourselves within the chaotic landscape of our lives. Some will be old favourites; others less well-known; all the poems will have the power to surprise or move. 
     
    A deeper, more lasting comfort comes from art that makes us sit up and listen, that reawakens the senses and offers new ways of looking - this is poetry that, in the best sense, unsettles us, in order to reconnect us with the world around us and bring us to a place of greater clarity. 
     
    The anthology will be divided into the following sections: The deep heart's core (poems about places of sanctuary); As a boy I stood before it for hours (poems that remind us to place our focus 'out there'; that show us how to be mindful); A world in a grain of sand (poems that play with the notion of scale, so that the tiny becomes large and the large tiny - putting things in perspective); Stilll life (poems about focusing on a specific moment); and Another Self (poems on friendship/companionship; a sense of everyone being in the same boat).
    Show book
  • New Russian Drama - An Anthology - cover

    New Russian Drama - An Anthology

    Maksim Hanukai, Susanna Weygandt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New Russian Drama took shape at the turn of the new millennium—a time of turbulent social change in Russia and the former Soviet republics. Emerging from small playwriting festivals, provincial theaters, and converted basements, it evolved into a major artistic movement that startled audiences with hypernaturalistic portrayals of sex and violence, daring use of non-normative language, and thrilling experiments with genre and form. The movement’s commitment to investigating contemporary reality helped revitalize Russian theater. It also provoked confrontations with traditionalists in society and places of power, making theater once again Russia’s most politicized art form. 
    This anthology offers an introduction to New Russian Drama through plays that illustrate the versatility and global relevance of this exciting movement. Many of them address pressing social issues, such as ethnic tensions and political disillusionment; others engage with Russia’s rich cultural legacy by reimagining traditional genres and canons. Among them are a family drama about Anton Chekhov, a modern production play in which factory workers compose haiku, and a satirical verse play about the treatment of migrant workers, as well a documentary play about a terrorist school siege and a postdramatic “text” that is only two sentences long. Both politically and aesthetically uncompromising, they chart new paths for performance in the twenty-first century. Acquainting English-language readers with these vital works, New Russian Drama challenges us to reflect on the status and mission of the theater.
    Show book
  • She Felt Like Feeling Nothing - cover

    She Felt Like Feeling Nothing

    r.h. Sin

    • 23
    • 402
    • 0
    There are moments when the heart no longer wishes to feel because everything it's felt up until then has brought it nothing but anguish. In She Felt Like Feeling Nothing, r.h. Sin pursues themes of self-discovery and retrospection. With this book, the poet intends to create a safe space where women can rest their weary hearts and focus on themselves.
    Show book
  • New Hampshire - Poems - cover

    New Hampshire - Poems

    Robert Frost

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This Pulitzer Prize–winning poetry collection from 1923 features some of the most enduring works by one of the finest American poets of the twentieth century.   One of the most beloved and influential poets in American letters, Robert Frost won his first of four Pulitzer Prizes for this collection of poems inspired by the cold and wild places of New Hampshire in winter. From vivid depictions of provincial life to wry accounts of city dwellers to striking contemplations of the end of the world, the poems collected here are quintessential Frost.   Along with the lengthy title poem, this volume boasts some of Frost’s most famous and significant works, including “Fire and Ice,” “Nothing Gold Can Stay,” and “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” which Frost himself called “my best bid for remembrance.”
    Show book
  • We Hope This Reaches You in Time - cover

    We Hope This Reaches You in Time

    r.h. Sin, Samantha King Holmes

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    A revised and expanded paperback edition of We Hope This Reaches You in Time by Samantha King Holmes and r.h. Sin with all-new bonus material from the authors.Ideas, poetry, and prose from bestselling authors Samantha King Holmes & r.h. Sin.
    Show book