Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mango and Peppercorns - A Memoir of Food an Unlikely Family and the American Dream - cover

Mango and Peppercorns - A Memoir of Food an Unlikely Family and the American Dream

Tung Nguyen, Katherine Manning, Lyn Nguen

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.• IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.• TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.• INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes. Perfect for:• Fans of culinary nonfiction• Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen• Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

Other books that might interest you

  • Poulet - More Than 50 Remarkable Recipes That Exalt the Honest Chicken - cover

    Poulet - More Than 50 Remarkable...

    Cree LeFavour

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Poulet is more than just a cookbook dedicated to chicken: it is an ode to this worldwide favorite. More than 50 thoughtful recipes cover the globe to breathe new life into the well-loved chicken supper. Five chapters are organized by flavor profile American, Bistro, Latin, East and South Asian, and North African/Mediterranean to bring to the table wherever you live. Each recipe is organized into a set matching a main course of chicken with a complementary grain, salad, vegetable, or bread. Author Cree LeFavour's sophistication and humor, coupled with wine, cocktail, and beer suggestions, spark a new appreciation of a time-honored favorite.
    Show book
  • Wine Politics - How Governments Environmentalists Mobsters and Critics Influence the Wines We Drink - cover

    Wine Politics - How Governments...

    Tyler Colman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After reading this intriguing book, a glass of wine will be more than hints of blackberries or truffles on the palate. Written by the author of the popular, award-winning website DrVino.com, Wine Politics exposes a little-known but extremely influential aspect of the wine business—the politics behind it. Tyler Colman systematically explains how politics affects what we can buy, how much it costs, how it tastes, what appears on labels, and more. He offers an insightful comparative view of wine-making in Napa and Bordeaux, tracing the different paths American and French wines take as they travel from vineyard to dining room table. Colman also explores globalization in the wine business and illuminates the role of behind-the-scenes players such as governments, distributors, and prominent critics who wield enormous clout. Throughout, Wine Politics reveals just how deeply politics matters— right down to the taste of the wine in your glass tonight.
    Show book
  • Lil Pumpkin Cookies - cover

    Lil Pumpkin Cookies

    Julia M. Usher

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Embellished with orange glaze, cinnamon stick "stems," and green sugar "vines," these pumpkins appear to be freshly plucked from the patch! With expert advice and step-by-step instructions from celebrated cookie queen Julia M. Usher, you'll be able to add these gourmet ghouls to your next Halloween party or use them in a pumpkin-themed garden scene for a centerpiece.
    Show book
  • French Wine - A History - cover

    French Wine - A History

    Rod Phillips

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "A fascinating book that belongs on every wine lover’s bookshelf."—The Wine Economist"It’s a book to read for its unstoppable torrent of fascinating and often surprising details."—Andrew Jefford, Decanter For centuries, wine has been associated with France more than with any other country. France remains one of the world’s leading wine producers by volume and enjoys unrivaled cultural recognition for its wine. If any wine regions are global household names, they are French regions such as Champagne, Bordeaux, and Burgundy. Within the wine world, products from French regions are still benchmarks for many wines.  French Wine is the first synthetic history of wine in France: from Etruscan, Greek, and Roman imports and the adoption of wine by beer-drinking Gauls to its present status within the global marketplace. Rod Phillips places the history of grape growing and winemaking in each of the country’s major regions within broad historical and cultural contexts. Examining a range of influences on the wine industry, wine trade, and wine itself, the book explores religion, economics, politics, revolution, and war, as well as climate and vine diseases. French Wine is the essential reference on French wine for collectors, consumers, sommeliers, and industry professionals.
    Show book
  • Molecular Gastronomy - Exploring the Science of Flavor - cover

    Molecular Gastronomy - Exploring...

    Hervé This

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Taking kitchen science to a whole new (molecular) level, Hervé This is changing the way France---and the world—cooks.”—Gourmet   Bringing the instruments and experimental techniques of the laboratory into the kitchen, Hervé This—international celebrity and founder of molecular gastronomy—uses recent research in the chemistry, physics, and biology of food to challenge traditional ideas about cooking and eating. What he discovers will entertain, instruct, and intrigue cooks, gourmets, and scientists alike.Molecular Gastronomy is filled with practical tips, provocative suggestions, and penetrating insights. This begins by reexamining and debunking a variety of time-honored rules and dictums about cooking and presents new and improved ways of preparing a variety of dishes from quiches and quenelles to steak and hard-boiled eggs. Looking to the future, This imagines new cooking methods and proposes novel dishes. A chocolate mousse without eggs? A flourless chocolate cake baked in the microwave? Molecular Gastronomy explains how to make them. This also shows us how to cook perfect French fries, why a soufflé rises and falls, how long to cool champagne, when to season a steak, the right way to cook pasta, how the shape of a wine glass affects the taste of wine, why chocolate turns white, and how salt modifies tastes.   “A captivating little book.”—Economist   “This book, praiseworthy for its scientific rigor, will hold a special appeal for anyone who relishes the debunking of culinary myths.”—Saveur   “Will broaden the way you think about food.”—The New York Sun “A wonderful book . . . it will appeal to anyone with an interest in the science of cooking.”—O Chef
    Show book
  • How I Learned To Cook - Culinary Educations from the World's Greatest Chefs - cover

    How I Learned To Cook - Culinary...

    Kimberly Witherspoon, Peter Meehan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Before he was a top chef, Tom Colicchio learned to love cooking when he was still slinging burgers at a poolside snack bar. Barbara Lynch tells the story of lying her way into her first chef's job and then needing to cook her way out of trouble in the galley kitchen of a ship at sea. Stories of mentorship abound: Rick Bayless tells the story of finally working with Julia Child, his childhood hero; Gary Danko of earning the trust of the legendary Madeleine Kamman. How I Learned to Cook is an irresistible treat, a must-have for anyone who loves food and wants a look into the lives of the men and women who masterfully prepare it.
    Show book