Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Letter of Marque - Willy Lauer Book 2 #2 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Letter of Marque - Willy Lauer Book 2 #2

Tom Thowsen

Publisher: Tom Thowsen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book series takes place during the days of the Napoleonic Wars. Here you get to join the brave hero Willy Lauer and his gifted heroine Raja Romanova on their new adventures. Willy is a young fisherman from Norway. Raja is a refugee from Moldova. Both wish to become privateers and make a fortune for themselves, which presents some challenges. "All is fair in love and war". 
Willy felt the nerves grow when the majestic Fredriksten Fortress came into view, and the beautiful town stretched along the coast. But his heart truly began to pound when he noticed all the people. The harbour was crawling with them. Most of the citizens had shown up. It was quite the reception. The field musicians were wearing their gorgeous uniforms, and there was smiling and cheering. But when Carsten Tank, the shipowner, opened his mouth to say: "Oh God, Willy. What is this nonsense?" with a horrified expression on his face, Willy Lauer realised that he had misunderstood. This whole scene hadn't been planned by Gustav as he'd initially thought. It had scheduled by Tank. The grand celebration was for The Avenger of Wrath; not Willy's conquest, The Sea Lion ... 
"Nonsense?" Willy said with a crooked smile. "Is that what you call this? Capturing a vessel." 
Tank laughed and shook his head. "Capturing, you say. Do you have a letter of marque?" 
  
Tom Thowsen (1964) is a Norwegian author who writes suspense literature. He made his breakthrough in 2015 with "The White Lady", a suspense novel about a ghost that is said to haunt Fredriksten fortress in his native town of Halden, and he received excellent publicity in the city newspaper. "Risk sports that work", they wrote. The first edition of the book sold out in two months. Later, "The White Lady" has been translated into English and is now sold on the English-language market, where it has received brilliant reception. 
Thowsen has also received good reception for the suspense novel Kayaweta. "A good mix of the Middle Ages and our time," the local newspaper Halden Arbeiderblad wrote. "The author is bursting with narrative joy and knowledge," wrote the Democrat, a newspaper in Fredrikstad.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Meaning of Friday - cover

    The Meaning of Friday

    Vanessa Gordon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Meaning of Friday is the first in the series The Naxos Mysteries with Martin Day. English archaeologist and TV presenter Martin Day, who is in his element enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere of his adopted Greece, uses his skills as a researcher to solve mysterious events on the beautiful island of Naxos.
    Show book
  • The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery - cover

    The Secret Keepers of Old Depot...

    Amanda Cox

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Present Day. After tragedy plunges her into grief and unresolved anger, Sarah Ashby returns to her childhood home determined to finally follow her long-denied dream of running Old Depot Grocery alongside her mother and grandmother. But when she arrives, her mother, Rosemary, announces to her that the store is closing. Sarah and her grandmother, Glory Ann, make a pact to save the store, but Rosemary has worked her entire life to make sure her daughter never follows in her footsteps. She has her reasons--but she'll certainly never reveal the real one. 
     
    1965. Glory Ann confesses to her family that she's pregnant with her deceased fiancé's baby. Pressured into a marriage of convenience with a shopkeeper to preserve the family reputation, Glory Ann vows never to love again. But some promises are not as easily kept as she imagined. 
     
    This dual-timeline story from Amanda Cox deftly explores the complexity of a mother-daughter dynamic, the way the secrets we keep shape our lives and the lives of others, and the healing power of telling the truth.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Ilsa - A Novel - cover

    Ilsa - A Novel

    Madeleine L'Engle

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Long out of print, the second novel by the bestselling author of A Wrinkle in Time looks at the darker side of love in a Southern town. From the moment Henry Porcher first sees Ilsa Brandes, he worships her. Despite controversy surrounding the young girl, Henry is drawn to her, a fascination that turns into a lifelong infatuation.   As the years pass, Ilsa’s memory never leaves him, not until the day he returns to their sleepy Southern hometown and renews their childhood friendship. Henry watches as she becomes a wife, then a mother, then a widow, irrevocably changed by tragedy.   Out of print for nearly six decades, this rare and sought-after novel is a portrait of a remarkable woman bound by both the stifling conventions of her time and place, and her own sense of honor and purpose.   A departure from L’Engle’s later works, Ilsa is a dark, intriguing novel about passion, fixation, and the real price of unrequited love by an author renowned for her children’s classics as well as her candid personal memoirs.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Madeleine L’Engle including rare images from the author’s estate.  
    Show book
  • Barrow Witch - cover

    Barrow Witch

    Craig Comer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Comer concludes his trilogy with flourishing aplomb . . . we reach the ultimate high of fey steampunk fantasy that the series has always delivered.” —Ahimsa Kerp, author of Beneath the MantleWith a treaty to bring peace to the Scottish fey hanging in the balance, Effie of Glen Coe must claim her place as the heart of the Seily Court if she is to defeat the dark madness of the Barrow Witch. The treaty that will bring peace to the fey of Scotland is within Effie of Glen Coe’s grasp. Yet the lords of London will not consent to such an accord until the madness spreading across the empire is halted and its source destroyed. As Effie and her allies hunt for the ancient being known as the Barrow Witch, they uncover her sinister plot. The Barrow Witch has found an alchemic means to transform fey into devilish creatures bent on her will. Using these marauding bands, she seeks to enslave not only the empire, but all of fey kind. Effie’s fight takes her from haunted cities to ruined castles, but it is not until Caledon, Steward of the Seily Court, is captured that she must finally confront her own self-doubts and the legacy of her family’s treacherous past. For only by accepting she has become the very heart of the Scottish fey can she learn to unravel the schemes of their enemy and rally the empires of man and fey toward an ultimate confrontation with the Barrow Witch.“Brings human and magical beings together brilliantly! . . . This intricate tale is woven with much lore, mysticism, clever banter, and incredible characters that readers will instantly love!” —InD’tale
    Show book
  • The Willows - cover

    The Willows

    Algernon Blackwood

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Classic horror from the prolific author of ghost stories and supernatural fiction, and thought by H. P. Lovecraft to be the best “weird tale” of all time.   “Algernon Blackwood’s novella The Willows uses setting like a master. This story is considered by Lovecraft and others to be one of the greatest horror short stories of all time. . . . I can tell you it creeped me out more than I thought it would. It’s a simple tale: two men traveling the Danube by boat end up stopping at an island of willows to pass the night, and they begin to realize that they have trespassed upon a land that does not welcome them, and isn’t really a part of our own world. I went in knowing that it greatly influenced Lovecraft, and the parallels in ideas and style are readily apparent in the last half of the story. . . . A beautifully written, enjoyably creepy novella.” —ChicagoNow   “Represents a high point in the development of the horror genre—in fact, horror master H. P. Lovecraft regarded it as the best supernatural tale ever written. More thought-provoking than gory or terrifying, The Willows is a must-read for fans of classic ghost stories.” —NPR.org   “Mind-blowing eeriness . . . [a] slow-thickening, vibrating, vegetable atmosphere of dread.” —Tor.com   “It’s easy to see why this story was revered by Lovecraft and others. It is a textbook example of the classic weird tale, evocatively conjuring the mystery and otherworldly dread that are the hallmarks of such fiction. It moves a little slowly, but patient readers will be well-rewarded with a deeply unsettling slice of cosmic horror.” —My Weird Life
    Show book