Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Secret Service - cover

Secret Service

Tom Bradby

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

An MI6 officer must find a traitor hiding within the highest ranks of government in a new thriller with “resonant echoes of le Carré” (Booklist, starred review). Senior MI6 officer Kate Henderson is in possession of the political equivalent of a nuclear bomb. She heads up the Russia Desk of the Secret Intelligence Service, and one of her undercover operations has revealed some alarming evidence that a senior UK politician is a high-level Russian informer.   Determined to find the identity of the traitor, Kate must risk everything to get to the truth. Until a young woman is brutally murdered as a consequence, which puts Kate and her team under the spotlight. With blood on her hands, her reputation to uphold, her family hanging by a thread, and an election looming, Kate is quickly running out of options—and out of time . . .   From the author of Shadow Dancer and The White Russian, who has been a finalist for multiple Crime Writers Association awards, this is a tense, timely novel of secrets, betrayals, and spycraft.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl in the Glass Box - A Jack Swyteck Novel - cover

    The Girl in the Glass Box - A...

    James Grippando

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Miami attorney Jack Swyteck lands in the heart of the contentious immigration debate when he takes on the heart-wrenching case of an undocumented immigrant who fled to America to protect her daughter and save herself, in this timely and pulse-pounding thriller that explores the stories behind the headlines from New York Times bestselling author James Grippando, winner of the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. 
    Julia Rodriguez and her teenage daughter Beatriz escaped bloodthirsty gangs, random violence and, Julia's abusive husband back in El Salvador. Arriving in Miami, mother and daughter struggled to carve their own piece of the American dream. While life in the States is hard, it is safer, until Julia's rejects her boss's unwanted sexual advances. Suddenly—thanks to an "anonymous" tip to U. S. immigration authorities—she is arrested, locked in detention with criminals, and slated for deportation. Jack's only viable legal move to save her is asylum—a long shot that’s become nearly impossible in today’s charged political climate. 
    When Julia and Beatriz made the perilous trek north to freedom, they thought they’d left the danger behind them. But now, even Miami isn’t safe. A ruthless enemy may have tracked them to south Florida and is biding time, patiently waiting to strike.  
    In a case where the stakes have never been higher, Jack Sywteck may not be able to save his client—even if he wins.
    Show book
  • What She Knew - A Novel - cover

    What She Knew - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One. 
    In a heartbeat, everything changes… 
    Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.   
    Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion. 
    As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most. 
    Where is Ben? The clock is ticking...
    Show book
  • The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel - cover

    The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel

    William Stevenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A sprawling fictional account of the adventures of Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck, the World War I military commander who created the first modern guerilla army.   November 1914. In German-occupied East Africa during the Great War, British forces have arrived. In defiance of his orders, Prussian commander Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck enlists soldiers, civilians, and African rebels to fight against the British—the world’s first modern guerrilla uprising. Lettow-Vorbeck’s actions draw the attention of the brilliant but brutal chief of British intelligence, who vows to defeat him. To complicate matters, Lettow-Vorbeck finds himself embroiled in a romantic relationship with an American woman who loves him—but objects to his conduct in the war. Meanwhile, Zionists fight for influence in the region, rival tribes must be appeased with diplomacy, and an African princess serves as a spy for the rebels.   The acclaimed author of A Man Called Intrepid crafts a novel of romance, war, and resistance based on real-life personas and historical events. A former foreign correspondent in the region, William Stevenson paints an astonishingly accurate and detailed picture of the geography, military, and political climate of East Africa in a time of chaos. A thrilling read, TheGhosts of Africa is an epic tale of adventure that will both entertain and inform.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 12
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book
  • Spiteful Bones - cover

    Spiteful Bones

    Jeri Westerson

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    The restoration of a crumbling manor house leaves Crispin Guest grappling with a troubling discovery in this entertaining medieval noir mystery.
    
    Restoring his recently inherited family home is a daunting enough task for young lawyer Nigellus Cobmartin without the addition of any unwelcome discoveries. But when workmen turning the crumbling manor house into a grand home for Nigellus and his companion, John Rykener, uncover a skeleton bound, tied and hidden in the wall - and holding the precious relic that went missing from his father's estate nearly twenty years ago - Nigellus immediately calls on London tracker Crispin Guest for help.
    
    Whose bones are they, and why was the valuable relic buried with the thief? Crispin and Jack are drawn into a mystery of dark secrets, family scandal and old grudges as they attempt to find the truth behind a load of old bones.
    Show book
  • A Christmas Tragedy - A Miss Marple Story - cover

    A Christmas Tragedy - A Miss...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Previously published in the print anthology The Thirteen Problems. 
    At a health resort, Miss Marple becomes suspicious that a man she meets is planning on murdering his wife.
    Show book