Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The End of Average - How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness - cover

The End of Average - How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness

Todd Rose

Publisher: HarperOne

  • 5
  • 16
  • 0

Summary

Are you above average? Is your child an A student? Is your employee an introvert or an extrovert? Every day we are measured against the yardstick of averages, judged according to how closely we come to it or how far we deviate from it. 
The assumption that metrics comparing us to an average—like GPAs, personality test results, and performance review ratings—reveal something meaningful about our potential is so ingrained in our consciousness that we don’t even question it. That assumption, says Harvard’s Todd Rose, is spectacularly—and scientifically—wrong. 
In The End of Average, Rose, a rising star in the new field of the science of the individual shows that no one is average. Not you. Not your kids. Not your employees. This isn’t hollow sloganeering—it’s a mathematical fact with enormous practical consequences. But while we know people learn and develop in distinctive ways, these unique patterns of behaviors are lost in our schools and businesses which have been designed around the mythical “average person.” This average-size-fits-all model ignores our differences and fails at recognizing talent. It’s time to change it. 
Weaving science, history, and his personal experiences as a high school dropout, Rose offers a powerful alternative to understanding individuals through averages: the three principles of individuality. The jaggedness principle (talent is always jagged), the context principle (traits are a myth), and the pathways principle (we all walk the road less traveled) help us understand our true uniqueness—and that of others—and how to take full advantage of individuality to gain an edge in life. 
Read this powerful manifesto in the ranks of Drive, Quiet, and Mindset—and you won’t see averages or talent in the same way again.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Power of your Subconscious Mind - cover

    The Power of your Subconscious Mind

    Joseph Murphy

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The Power of Your Subconscious Mind will open a world of success, happiness, prosperity, and peace for you. It is one of the most brilliant and beloved spiritual self-help works of all time which can help you heal yourself, banish your fears, sleep better, enjoy better relationships and just feel happier. The techniques are simple and results come quickly. You can improve your relationships, your finances, your physical well-being.
    In this book, the author fuses his spiritual wisdom and scientific research to bring to light how the sub-conscious mind can be a major influence on our daily lives. Once you understand your subconscious mind, you can also control or get rid of the various phobias that you may have in turn opening a brand new world of positive energy. 
    ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
    Joseph Murphy was born in Ireland, the son of a private boy's school headmaster and raised a Roman Catholic. He studied for the priesthood and joined the Jesuits. In his twenties, an experience with healing prayer led him to leave the Jesuits and move to the United States, where he became a pharmacist in New York (having a degree in chemistry by that time). Here he attended the Church of the Healing Christ (part of the Church of Divine Science), where Emmet Fox had become minister in 1931.
    In the mid 1940s, he moved to Los Angeles, where he met Religious Science founder Ernest Holmes, and was ordained into Religious Science by Holmes in 1946, thereafter teaching at the Institute of Religious Science. A meeting with Divine Science Association president Erwin Gregg led to him being reordained into Divine Science, and he became the minister of the Los Angeles Divine Science Church in 1949, which he built into one of the largest New Thought congregations in the country. In the next decade, Murphy married, earned a PhD in psychology from the University of Southern California and started writing. After his first wife died in 1976, he remarried to a fellow Divine Science minister who was his longstanding secretary. He died in 1981. 
    The Power of your Subconscious Mind by Joseph Murphy, ebook, 9788193540114
    Show book
  • Escape Velocity - Free Your Company's Future from the Pull of the Past - cover

    Escape Velocity - Free Your...

    Geoffrey A. Moore

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    “Readthis book to learn how to create a company as powerful as Apple.”—Guy Kawasaki,former chief evangelist of Apple 
    InEscape Velocity Geoffrey A. Moore, author of the marketing masterwork Crossingthe Chasm, teaches twenty-first century enterprises how to overcome thepull of the past and reorient their organizations to meet a new era ofcompetition. The world’s leading high-tech business strategist, Moore connectsthe dots between bold strategies and effective execution, with an action planthat elucidates the link between senior executives and every other branch of acompany. For readers of Larry Bossidy’s Execution,Clay Christensen’s Innovator’s Solution, and Gary Vaynerchuck’sCrush It!, and for anyone aiming for the pinnacle of business success, EscapeVelocity is an irreplaceable roadmap to the top.
    Show book
  • Cracking the New Job Market - The 7 Rules for Getting Hired in Any Economy - cover

    Cracking the New Job Market -...

    R. Holland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The rules for finding professional work once seemed clear and unwavering: capture career highlights in a resume, practice answers to standard interview questions, and do lots of face-to-face networking. Cracking the New Job Market shows how these rules have changed and delivers new job-hunting strategies that actually work. The key, rather than to emphasize past accomplishments, is to sell your self on the value you can create for an employer. This new approach to getting hired requires new skills. Author R. William Holland, a human resources insider, shows job seekers how to: * Gather information on what a prospective employer finds important * Emphasize those skills, accomplishments, and qualities in tailored resumes and interview answers * Identify the intersection between personal talents and what the marketplace needs * Unlock the networking power of social media * Negotiate the best possible offer Enlightening and practical, this myth-busting book delivers seven powerful rules for landing a great job-even in a difficult economy.
    Show book
  • Mastering Interview Skills 2nd edition - cover

    Mastering Interview Skills 2nd...

    T.S. Chua

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mention interviews, and the usual response is one of fear (to varying degrees) or boredom (“oh no, not another interview!”). However for most jobs of any worth, it is a process which you must go through (unless you happen to have an important relative who is in the company you wish to work for, and who is able to bring you in, which is not often).  
    More often than not, a candidate who is skilled in bringing out the best of himself/herself during the interview process will easily be selected for the job over a more qualified candidate with poorer interview skills. It is the packaging and the presentation which matters most, as the interviewer only gets to see you and hear you for about 20 minutes on average. There are sometimes second or even third interviews, but this usually involves different interviewers, and your interview skills are thereby taxed even further.  
    Excellent interview skills will put you in the best position to snag that dream job, and these skills can be trained and practised. I have interviewed many candidates before in my stint in various companies in different industries, and has also gone through numerous interviews before (no thanks to the bad job market in some periods whereby I was looking for a new job). These experiences have greatly enriched my understanding of the interview process, and I have covered as many aspects of this process as possible in this book.   
    Remember that the interview process is inherently a human interaction activity, whereby the impression of a candidate is the key determining factor of the hiring decision. And it is to this end in mind that this book is geared fully towards.
    Show book
  • The Murder of Lehman Brothers an Insider's Look at the Global Meltdown - cover

    The Murder of Lehman Brothers an...

    Joseph Tibman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The aftershocks of the 2008 financial crisis still appear in the headlines most recently the government's quest to crush Moodys and S&P for failure to rate securities correctly given the risk. Were these agencies the only responsible parties? 
    
    “To me, as a multi-decade, veteran Lehman investment banker, the breathtaking death of my firm appeared impossible as little as three days ahead of the bankruptcy filing.  Not only did I consider our ‘master of the universe’ firm invincible, but, like my colleagues, when it became clear we were in deep trouble, it was unfathomable that the US government could misstep so foolishly as to let any bulge bracket investment bank simply fail. The worst case seemed to be the Bear Stearns route.”
    
    For the first time, Joe Tibman pulls back the kimono to share intriguing information and detail about Lehman Brothers and the economic meltdown that has never before been revealed:
    
    • How Lehman Brothers almost went under 10 years earlier but was, in a lucky turn of events, rescued from the brink of disaster when the U.S. government bailed out Mexico before it defaulted on billions of dollars in bonds?
    
    • How, in the most detailed and intimate account of Lehman after the September 11, 2001 terrorist attack, when the firm and its people were ripped from their home, Fuld’s “One Firm” strategy finally took root, sweeping away the vestiges of internal war inside Lehman’s own halls, turning tragedy to triumph for a newly united firm where survival and success meant much more than a payday?
    
    • What role did Paulson play?  Cox?  Bernanke? Greenspan?  Geithner?  Clinton? Phil Gramm?  Congress? Summers? 
    
    • No reporter has ever been able to uncover why the rating agencies rated subprime securities so high.  These agencies have never come clean with a clear statement on this issue.  They just fired subprime analysts.  For the first time in this book, Tibman discloses the key facts behind the subprime rating disaster.
    Show book
  • Her Way To The Top - The Glass Ceiling Is Thicker Than It Looks - cover

    Her Way To The Top - The Glass...

    Hira Ali

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Award-winning Hira Ali examines the myriad of challenges women face on their road to professional success. Informed by her 13 years of coaching experience and survey responses from 300 working women, she reveals the universal internal and external roadblocks that can impede a woman’s climb to the top, regardless of her culture or geography. This go-to guide for working women explores FOMO (the Fear of Missing Out), Imposter Syndrome, perfectionism and sexual harassment, among other issues.
     
    She moves beyond problems and empowers her readers with real solutions to help them break the glass ceiling. Written by a successful career woman for the benefit of career women around the world, Her Way to the Top demonstrates that women are all in this together, and together they can make a difference for each other.
    Show book