Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Clumsiest People in Europe - cover

The Clumsiest People in Europe

Todd Pruzan

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Caustic, cranky, and inadvertently hilarious, the bestselling Victorian author Mrs. Favell Lee Mortimer rarely left the house-but that didn't stop her from writing several successful travel books. With volumes on Europe, Asia, and Africa and America, Mrs. Mortimer had something nasty to say about your ancestors, no matter where they had the misfortune of living. Todd Pruzan has assembled three of Mrs. Mortimer's very forgotten classics into one volume, The Clumsiest People in Europe, a wild tour through the comically and horrifyingly misinformed prejudices of a unique Victorian eccentric.

Who read this book also read:

  • T-Bull and the Lost Men - cover

    T-Bull and the Lost Men

    Paul Mosier

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have you heard the one about the lesbian pixie called Tinker Bull, who takes on a shipload of Roman Catholic pirates without the help of her old friend Peter Plan, who has become an investment banker?  Or the one about the Crocodazzi, an insatiable investigative journalist who happens to be a crocodile? The punch lines are all in the story called "T-Bull and the Lost Men"--a fun house mirror masquerading as a book.
    
    Of course it's more than just punch lines: there's its educational slant, too!  Like discovering how certain pirates can be natural capitalists, and how organic pixie dust is made.  Best of all, you learn how Tinker Bull's restless, gutsy temperament spurs her companions to risk their grim, tepid comforts for the barest chance of realizing their hearts' desires.
    
    It is satire that cuts close to the skull-and-crossbones of organized religion, capitalism, academia, and the media.
    Show book
  • Mr Bean's Definitive and Extremely Marvelous Guide to France - cover

    Mr Bean's Definitive and...

    Robin Driscoll, Tony Haase

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    England is wet, and Mr. Bean is fed up. He dashes off a note to the queen to let her know he won't be available to chat for a few days, indulges in a few fantasy drawings of himself as a tanned man in swimwear, and sets off for the south of France. Mr. Bean has a new video camera (although he had intended to buy a kettle) and records every detail of his journey, culminating in his trip to the Cannes Film Festival, where the results of his home video will be screened. This is the story recounted in the hilarious Mr. Bean's Holiday, which releases September 28. But all the while Mr. Bean kept a diary of his creative peregrinations, and this book is the definitive and marvelous result. Here he turns his hand to travel writings and extreme scrapbooking, and has even developed his own rating system (a range of Post-it notes saying everything from "excellent" and "as good as fish and chips" to "a pile of poo"). Also included are souvenirs, menus, sugar wrappers, postcards, and photographs that he collected en route. The first Bean movie, Bean, grossed $255 million worldwide and was an instant surprise hit in America.  
    Much more than a straight tie-in, Mr. Bean's Definitive and Extremely Marvelous Guide to France is a hilarious stand-alone book that will appeal to anyone who loves Mr. Bean, no matter how young or old.
    Show book
  • Not My 45 President - cover

    Not My 45 President

    Robert James Brydges

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The work within this book is a creative expression of a basic disagreement of political philosophy. It was written as a means to question the government in power and hold them to account for their policies, choices and decisions which clearly do not represent the majority of the people in this country as reflected in the daily media coverage of current events.
    Show book
  • My Man Jeeves - cover

    My Man Jeeves

    P.G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My Man Jeeves is a collection of short stories by P. G. Wodehouse. Of the eight stories in the collection, half feature the popular characters Jeeves and Bertie Wooster, while the others concern Reggie Pepper, an early prototype for Wooster.
    
    Although the book was not published in the United States, all the stories had appeared there, mostly in The Saturday Evening Post or Collier's Weekly, and in the Strand in the UK, prior to the publication of the UK book.
    
    Several appeared later in rewritten form in Carry on, Jeeves (1925), such as "Helping Freddie", which in its later incarnation was called "Fixing It for Freddie" and featured Jeeves and Wooster. The other Reggie Pepper stories were included in the U.S. version of The Man with Two Left Feet (1917).
    
    Jeeves and Wooster had first appeared in the short story "Extricating Young Gussie", which appeared in the Saturday Evening Post in 1915, and was included in The Man with Two Left Feet.
    Show book
  • Sex Jokes - cover

    Sex Jokes

    Joe King

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Sex JokesOne hundred of hilarious and funny jokes !Have fun and laugh!
    Show book
  • The Outcasts - A Novel - cover

    The Outcasts - A Novel

    Stephen Becker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An American engineer journeys to the tropics to build a bridge and reclaim his manhood in this brilliant tragicomedy written during the height of the Cold War Fleeing two bad marriages and the sneaking suspicion that failure is his destiny, Bernard Morrison boards a flight bound for a freshly liberated country in desperate need of infrastructure. When the plane finally touches down, the pilot has happy news: The airport and the capital are not under attack. So far, so good, thinks Morrison as he heads for the jungle.   The bridge he has been sent to build may be in the middle of nowhere, but the work requires discipline and fortitude—qualities long missing from Morrison’s routine—and his interactions with the native laborers and their bosses are refreshingly out of the ordinary. When he discovers a primitive tribe living near the construction site, Morrison revels in their freedom and lack of inhibition. He vows to protect the innocent tribespeople, not realizing that it’s too late—the bridge to the future has already been built.   Part farce, part tragedy, The Outcasts is a powerful morality tale in the tradition of Joseph Conrad and Graham Greene.
    Show book