Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Listening to the Wind - cover

Listening to the Wind

Tim Robinson

Publisher: Milkweed Editions

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A mapmaker’s vivid journey through the geography, ecology, and history of Ireland’s Connemara region. 
 
Here is Connemara, experienced at a walker’s pace. From cartographer Tim Robinson comes the second title in the Seedbank series, a breathtakingly intimate exploration of one beloved place’s geography, ecology, and history. 
 
We begin with the earth right in front of his boots, as Robinson unveils swaths of fiontarnach—fall leaf decay. We peer from the edge of the cliff where Robinson’s house stands on rickety stilts. We closely examine an overgrown patch of heather, a flush of sphagnum moss. And so, footstep by footstep, moment by moment, Robinson takes readers deep into this storied Irish landscape, from the “quibbling, contentious terrain” of Bogland to the shorelines of Inis Ní to the towering peaks of Twelve Pins. 
 
Just as wild and essential as the countryside itself are its colorful characters, friends and legends and neighbors alike: a skeletal, story-filled sheep farmer; an engineer who builds bridges, both physical and metaphorical; a playboy prince and cricket champion; and an enterprising botanist who meets an unexpected demise. Within a landscape lie all other things, and Robinson rejoices in the universal magic of becoming one with such a place, joining with “the sound of the past, the language we breathe, and our frontage onto the natural world.” Situated at the intersection of mapmaking and mythmaking, Listening to the Wind is at once learned and intimate, elegiac and magnificent—an exceptionally rich “book about one place which is also about the whole world” (Robert Macfarlane). 
 
“Visitors to Connemara, that expanse of stony beauty in the west of Ireland, are often struck by its stillness. [This] collection of essays succeeds in the difficult task of staying true to the verities of a place on to which so many fantasies have been projected.” —The Guardian

Other books that might interest you

  • Sea and Sardinia - cover

    Sea and Sardinia

    D. H. Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the author of Lady Chatterly’s Lover, a travelogue of a journey with his wife that offers a glimpse of post–World War I Europe. After the First World War, when D. H. Lawrence was living in Sicily, he traveled to Sardinia and back in January 1921. This record of what he saw on that journey, Sea and Sardinia, not only reveals his response to new landscapes, new people, and his ability to capture their spirit into literary art, but is also a shrewd inquiry into the post-war values which led to the rise of communism and fascism in various countries around the world. A celebration of the human spirit despite its indictment of materialism, this collection of travel writings has restored passages and corrected corrupted textual readings for the definitive version of the book Lawrence himself called “a marvel of veracity.”
    Show book
  • The Voyage of the Beagle - cover

    The Voyage of the Beagle

    Charles Darwin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The riveting firsthand account of the historic voyage that led to the theory of evolution   When the HMS Beagle set sail in 1831, the science of biology was not far removed from the Dark Ages. When the ship returned to England nearly five years later, Charles Darwin had the makings of a theory that would revolutionize our understanding of the natural world.   From volcanoes in the Galapagos to the coral reefs of Australia, The Voyage of the Beagle documents the young naturalist’s encounters with some of the earth’s most stunning features. Darwin’s observations of the people, places, and events he experienced make for compelling reading and offer a fascinating window into the intellectual development of his ideas about natural selection.   A brilliant travelogue and a revealing glimpse into the Victorian mindset, The Voyage of the Beagle is an indispensable companion volume to On the Origin of Species.   This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.  
    Show book
  • A History of South Carolina Barbeque - cover

    A History of South Carolina...

    Lake E. High

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “The guru of ’que . . . [is] well equipped for his mission: securing South Carolina’s rightful claim as home to the nation’s first and best barbeque” (South Carolina Living).   South Carolina has been home to good, old-fashioned barbeque for quite a long time. Hundreds of restaurants, stands and food trucks sell tons of the southern staple every day. But the history of Palmetto State barbeque goes deeper than many might believe—it predates the rest of America. Native Americans barbequed pork on makeshift grills as far back as the 1500s after the Spanish introduced the pig into the Americas. Since the early 1920s, South Carolinians have been perfecting the craft and producing some of the best-tastin’ ’que in the country. Join author and president of the South Carolina Barbeque Association Lake E. High Jr. as he traces the delectable history from its pre-colonial roots to a thriving modern-day tradition that fuels an endless debate over where to find the best plate.   Includes photos!   “Of course, if one wants to taste the best, one needs to eat barbecue in South Carolina. As High repeatedly thumps into readers, the South, and South Carolina in particular, is home to real barbecue. Nevermind that hippie California TV-producer gobbledegook or those misguided cooking attempts by confused Northerners. Bless their hearts.” —The Island Packet
    Show book
  • The Watchers - A gripping debut horror novel for 2021 - cover

    The Watchers - A gripping debut...

    A.M. Shine

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote unknown forests of Galway, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 
     
    'A dark, claustrophobic read' – T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grance
     
    You can't see them. But they can see you.
     
    This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.
     
    Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.
     
    Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?
     
    Perfect for fans of Francine Toon, Paul Tremblay and Andrew Michael Hurley.
    Show book
  • Untie the Lines - Setting Sail and Breaking Free - cover

    Untie the Lines - Setting Sail...

    Emma Bamford

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Casting Off we met Emma Bamford. Stressed out and fed up with London life, working 80-hour weeks and with no hint of a love life, Emma suddenly decided to quit her job, pack up her life and go and live with a man she's never met, and his cat, on a yacht in Borneo. In Casting Off we followed Emma on her amazing adventures as she sailed the globe in search of something more. We laughed, we cried and we 'aaahhhh'ed.  
      
    Untie the Lines picks up where Casting Off left off. There's love in the air in the form of Guy, the handsome sailor Emma met in Casting Off. Will they sail off happily into the sunset together? And there's an abundance of sailing adventure to be had in the USA and Caribbean too. But there are also difficult times, as we follow Emma's journey through more heartache and anguish, as she is forced to return to London, to her old, crippling life. Things spiral out of control until one day Emma, exhausted and suffering from anxiety attacks, just can't take a step further along the same path any more and she is forced to seek help and admit that it's time to change things once and for all. 
      
    Untie the Lines is another thrilling, funny and absorbing installment of Emma's life. It's also deeply moving and will ring true with anyone affected by the stresses and fast pace of modern life and the battle between head and heart.
    Show book
  • Barcelona Movie Walks - Discover Barcelona in 20 Great Movie Routes - cover

    Barcelona Movie Walks - Discover...

    Eugeni Osácar Marzal

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Enjoy a star-struck holiday in Barcelona in the footsteps of Penélope Cruz, Javier Bardem, Robert de Niro, Scarlett Johansson and many more.
    
    Make your visit to Barcelona a film-star experience: see the locations of Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Biutiful, All About My Mother and more than 90 other films by directors such as Woody Allen, Pedro Almodóvar and Steven Soderbergh. Discover the parts of Barcelona immortalized by filmmakers and find out lots of interesting facts about the favourite places of the stars.
    
    Every chapter begins with a presentation: you will find detailed and interesting information about films of a certain genre shot in Barcelona, or about a specific director or film. You can find more info about the shoots and then re-live stories on the routes. This book also includes QR codes for mobile access to exclusive Internet maps including all the information and spots selected by the author. 
    
    With the QR codes, you will have all the information you need, directly from the book to your smartphone!
    
    Barcelona is on the big screen – Lights, camera, action!
    Show book