Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Goodness - cover

Goodness

Tim Parks

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 23
  • 0

Summary

George Crawley has finally got his life running along satisfyingly straight lines. Having made a success of his career and saved his faltering marriage, he is secure in the belief that he is master of his own destiny. Then comes the tragic blow - fate presents him with an apparently insoluble problem. Except that the word 'insoluble' just isn't part of the man's vocabulary. George will stop at nothing, nothing, to get his life back on the rails again.

Other books that might interest you

  • Unmasked: Blood Bond: Parts 10 11 & 12 (Volume 4) - cover

    Unmasked: Blood Bond: Parts 10...

    Helen Hardt

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    Vampires can’t levitate. At least that’s what Dante Gabriel always thought, until he finds himself floating above his bed along with his lover, Erin Hamilton. As he continues to exhibit unusual powers, more memories from his time in captivity surface, leaving him fearing what he might have done while imprisoned. When a new and unexpected temptation arises, he finds himself unable to resist.
     
    Erin aches for Dante and wants more than anything for him to find peace. As they uncover clue after clue in their attempt to find the missing women and solve the puzzle of Dante’s past, she is more determined than ever to put an end to their struggle, even if it means putting herself in harm’s way.
     
    After an ominous visit with Bea, the voodoo priestess, Dante knows what he must do, and he must do it alone. First, though, he will make Erin truly his and take the sustenance he needs to get him through his next battle. But will his love for her be enough to save him when his nemesis is finally unmasked?
    Show book
  • The Girl From Blind River - A Novel - cover

    The Girl From Blind River - A Novel

    Massey Gale

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    BESTSELLING TRADITION: Fans of Daniel Woodrell and Emma Cline will love this taut, edgy tale of a young woman pulled into the criminal underbelly of her small town. MARKETABLE CONCEPT AND PROTAGONIST: Featuring a smart-mouthed heroine facing corruption and danger, this page-turning suspense debut perfectly marries a coming-of-age story with the thrill of a small-town crime drama. WELL-CONNECTED AUTHOR: A Pushcart Prize-nominated author and the recipient of numerous fiction accolades, Gale Massey has strong connections to established authors and will be seeking early praise from: Laura Lippman, Ann Hood, and Michael Koryta. The Girl From Blind River has already collected a handful of blurbs from well-reviewed authors including: Steve Yarbrough, Randall Kenan, and Sterling Watson.
    Show book
  • The Race for Love - cover

    The Race for Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All her young life has been lived in the shadow of her father’s disgrace after he was caught cheating at cards at his Club in London and Alita Lang lives a dismal life under sufferance with her begrudging aunt and uncle, the Duke and Duchess of Langstone.           In fact the only love in Alita’s lonely life is her passion for her uncle’s thoroughbred horses, especially her beloved stallion, Flamingo, who she has taught many tricks to. She spends most of her time in the Duke’s stables and can train the most unruly horse        And now the Duke, desperate to raise money, is determined to sell them all to the brash American multi-millionaire who has just bought the neighbouring estate and its magnificent Marshfield House.        Introduced to the handsome, blue-eyed and tanned Clint Wilbur as Alita Blair, an employee of the estate, she soon finds herself working for him on improvements to his stables and soon, through his consistent kindness and gentle thoughtfulness, she discovers an alluring new side to her new employer and ally.       Suddenly Alita’s heart is racing as she realises that she is in love. But surely the race for love is already lost because the Duke is already scheming for his daughter, Hermione, to marry the eligible millionaire and join their two estates together.KeywordsPrince of Wales, Texas, The Derby, Gaiety Theatre, Gaiety Girls, Steeplechase, Fox Hunt, thoroughbred, Covent Garden
    Show book
  • Tell Me Your Dreams - cover

    Tell Me Your Dreams

    Sidney Sheldon, Partnershi...

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Somebody was watching her 
    She had read about stalkers, but they belonged in a different, faraway world. She had no idea who it could be, who would want to harm her. She was trying desperately not to panic, but lately her sleep had been filled with nightmares, and she had awakened each morning with a feeling of impending doom. 
    Thus begins Sidney Sheldon's chilling new novel, Tell Me Your Dreams. Three beautiful young women are suspected of committing a series of brutal murders. The police make an arrest that leads to one of the most bizarre murder trials of the century. Based on actual events, Sheldon's novel races from London to Rome to the city of Quebec to San Francisco, with a climax that will leave the reader stunned.
    Show book
  • Never Lose Love - cover

    Never Lose Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    On her deathbed Lady Margaret Marsh reveals that there is no family money left to support her daughter, the stunningly beautiful Josina. They were cut off without a penny by their relations long ago when she eloped with Josina’s father, the inveterate but often successful gambler, Captain D’Arcy Marsh, who was later killed in a duel by a man he had won from at cards.Her mother believes that there is no alternative but for Josina to throw herself on the mercy of her relative, the dashing and handsome Duke of Nevondale. But arriving at his stately home she finds that he is a rake who is having an affair with the wife of the French Embassy Attaché, a liaison that could bring scandal and death close to his door. When, on accidentally discovering a fiendish plot, Josina rushes to the Duke’s rescue, only to find him in compromising circumstances, she is deeply shocked and horrified.Yet disturbingly she finds herself falling in love. For no other apparent reason than to save hers and incidentally his reputation the Duke decides that he wants to marry Josina.But as much as she yearns for him, how can she possibly marry a man who does not love her after her mother and father had been so sublimely in love with each other that for them the world was lost for love?
    Show book
  • Blood Bond: 2 - cover

    Blood Bond: 2

    Helen Hardt

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    Dante Gabriel is angry. Someone has violated the woman whose scent has left him emotionally paralyzed, and he’s become unhinged. He vows to protect Erin Hamilton—mostly from himself.
     
    Erin has other ideas. She’s determined to figure out the strange man who keeps leaving her aroused and unsatisfied. When she pushes Dante for answers, he goes looking for them himself. What he uncovers could put Erin in mortal danger, with him as her only salvation.
    Show book