"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Outdoor Life: The Ultimate Bushcraft Survival Manual - 272 Wilderness Skills - cover

Outdoor Life: The Ultimate Bushcraft Survival Manual - 272 Wilderness Skills

Tim MacWelch, The Editors of Outdoor Life

Publisher: Weldon Owen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The ultimate guide to living in the wild from finding shelter and food to knowing the many uses for antlers, mud, animal fat and more.   Imagine being dropped in the woods with little more than a knife, your wits, and the shirt on your back. You’d need more than luck to survive. You’d need the knowledge and skills covered in Ultimate Bushcraft Survival Manual.   In this book, survival expert Tim MacWelch examines how primitive cultures around the world and throughout history have made their own shelter, weapons, tools, and more. He also shares clever, MacGuyver-style ideas for repurposing anything you might find in your pockets or pack. Whether your goal is to test yourself against nature, be prepared for any catastrophe, or learn more about traditional survival techniques, this is the book for you.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Majors - cover

    The Majors

    John Feinstein

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    WHAT DOES IT TAKE to win a major championship and reach the absolute pinnacle of golf? Through a season of the four tournaments -- the Masters, the U.S. Open, the British Open, and the PGA Championship -- known collectively as the majors, John Feinstein takes us where the television cameras never go, both off the links and "inside the ropes", as he reveals the special challenges and rituals, the frustrations and exhilaration, that mark the lives and careers of the world's greatest golfers.
    Show book
  • Early Southern Sports and Sportsmen 1830-1910 - A Literary Anthology - cover

    Early Southern Sports and...

    III Rivers

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jacob F. Rivers III has collected twenty-two classic hunting tales by twelve southern writers including Davey Crocket, Johnson J. Hooper, and Henry Clay Lewis. These stories spring not only from a genteel literary tradition but also from the tradition of the tall tale or stories of backwoods humor. Antebellum and post–Civil War tales reflect changes in the social and economic composition of the hunting class in the South. Some reveal themes of fear for the future of field sports, and others demonstrate an early conservation ethic among hunters and landowners.
    
    Early Southern Sports and Sportsmen brings to new readers a wealth of hunting and fishing lore heretofore hard to find by any but scholars in the field of southern literature. Rivers has gathered a host of well-read and well-heeled sportsmen who relish each and every detail of their encounters with their environment. Sports authors come from every spectrum of southern society, but their common vocabulary and shared enthusiasm bond them together.
    
    Rivers corrects unfortunate stereotypes of hunters as indifferent to aspects of nature other than environmental exploitation. Whether humorists or serious advocates, these authors reveal their sense of their place in the wild, and many advocate ecological good citizenship that disdains wanton slaughter and unethical practices. They condemn such acts as beneath the dignity and honor of true sportsmen.
    
    The collection includes accounts of hunting many types of game indigenous to the South from 1830 to 1910, from aristocratic foxhunts to yeoman deer drives. The structure is largely chronological, beginning with John James Audubon’s essay on the American wild turkey from his Ornithological Biography (1832) and ending with stories from Alexander Hunter’s The Huntsman in the South (1908). Whatever their era, the chief characteristics of these sporting accounts are the excitement the authors experience upon suddenly encountering game, the rigors and hardships they endure in its pursuit, their keen powers of observation of the woods and waters through which they travel, and the comedy often found in the strong friendships that frequently mark their adventures. But above all the tales resonate with a reverence for field sports as the means through which humans establish meaningful and lasting relationships with the mysteries and the magic of nature.
    Show book
  • Firepower - How the NRA Turned Gun Owners into a Political Force - cover

    Firepower - How the NRA Turned...

    Matthew J. Lacombe

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    How the NRA became a political juggernaut by influencing the behaviors and beliefs of everyday AmericansThe National Rifle Association is one of the most powerful interest groups in America, and has consistently managed to defeat or weaken proposed gun regulations—even despite widespread public support for stricter laws and the prevalence of mass shootings and gun-related deaths. Firepower provides an unprecedented look at how this controversial organization built its political power and deploys it on behalf of its pro-gun agenda.Taking readers from the 1930s to the age of Donald Trump, Matthew Lacombe traces how the NRA's immense influence on national politics arises from its ability to shape the political outlooks and actions of its followers. He draws on nearly a century of archival records and surveys to show how the organization has fashioned a distinct worldview around gun ownership and used it to mobilize its supporters. Lacombe reveals how the NRA's cultivation of a large, unified, and active base has enabled it to build a resilient alliance with the Republican Party, and examines why the NRA and its members formed an important constituency that helped fuel Trump's unlikely political rise.Firepower sheds vital new light on how the NRA has grown powerful by mobilizing average Americans, and how it uses its GOP alliance to advance its objectives and shape the national agenda.
    Show book
  • Done Deal - An Insider's Guide to Football Contracts Multi-Million Pound Transfers and Premier League Big Business - cover

    Done Deal - An Insider's Guide...

    Daniel Geey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'If you want to know and understand how football really works, this is the book for you.' Guillem Balagué 
     
    'A myth-busting and hugely entertaining look at the ever more complex machinations of the beautiful game. Essential.' Raphael Honigstein 
     
    'A must-read for football fans.' Freddie Ljungberg 
     
    Insightful, enlightening and thought-provoking, leading Premier League lawyer Daniel Geey lifts the lid on the inner workings of modern football.  
     
    What really happens inside a club on transfer deadline day? Are football agents overpaid? Which club put a clause forbidding space travel into a midfielder's contract? And which team's players can never wear red boots?  
     
    Whether it is a manager being sacked, a star player transfer, billion-pound television rights negotiations or a controversial club takeover, leading football lawyer Daniel Geey has all the insight. With an accessible and thoughtful perspective, and featuring expert contributions, Done Deal explores the issues that shape the modern game, providing football fans with a fresh and authoritative look at all off-field football matters.
    Show book
  • 21 Miles - Swimming in Search of the Meaning of Motherhood - cover

    21 Miles - Swimming in Search of...

    Jessica Hepburn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jessica is one of the UK’s leading voices on fertility, appearing widely in the press and media on the subject of IVF.In 2018 she was nominated as one of Amnesty International's Women of Suffragette Spirit and won the Fertility Foundation's inaugural Fertility Hero Award Jessica's festival, Fertility Fest, will be taking place at the Barbican in April. Jessica also has several events and festival appearances booked throughout the year, including Guernsey Literary Festival in May, Waterstones Gower Street in July and The Fertility Show London in November, among others.For readers of Izzy Judd’s Dare to Dream, Alexandra Heminsley’s Leap In.
    Show book
  • Slobberknocker - My Life in Wrestling - cover

    Slobberknocker - My Life in...

    Jim Ross, Paul O'Brien, Scott E....

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    There are few people who have been in the wrestling business longer than Jim Ross. And those who have made it as long as he has (half a century to be exact) probably made enemies or burned bridges. But that's just not JR.Slobberknocker is the story of how an Oklahoman farm kid, with a vivid imagination and seemingly unattainable dreams, became The Voice of Wrestling to record TV audiences and millions of fans around the world. Jim opens up about his life as an only child on a working farm, who became obsessed with professional wrestling having first saw it on his grandparent's TV. Even though the wrestling business was notoriously secretive and wary of outsiders, he somehow got a foot in the door to start a historic career, one where he held almost every job in the business from putting up the ring to calling matches, from driving his blind, drunk boss towards revenge, to consoling two naked 600 pound brothers in the shower room after a rough match.With all those adventures and responsibilities, he's also recognized as the man who built and nurtured a once-in-a-generation talent roster that took the WWE to new heights, including Stone Cold Steve Austin, Brock Lesnar, and The Rock to name a few. Readers will finally get the opportunity to hear never-before-told stories about the politics, wackiness, and personalities of all the biggest stars.But this isn't just a wrestling story. It's a story about overcoming adversity and achieving your dreams, as success did not come without significant costs and unforeseen challenges to JR, including multiple bouts of severe facial paralysis called Bell's Palsy.Currently the host of the podcast The Ross Report, any fan of wrestling from the territory days to today will be enthralled with stories from the road and behind the scenes. Slobberknocker is the first time Ross tells his story and you don't want to miss it! An Author's Republic audio production.
    Show book