Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Smile of the Wolf - cover

Smile of the Wolf

Tim Leach

Publisher: Head of Zeus

  • 2
  • 12
  • 0

Summary

A SUNDAY TIMES HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE YEAR. 
 
Tenth-century Iceland. In the midwinter darkness, on the lifeless black soils of a newly settled land, two friends kill a man. Kjaran, an itinerant storyteller, and Gunnar, a once-feared warrior, must make a choice: conceal the deed or confess to it and pay the blood price to the dead man's brothers. 
 
For the right reasons, they make the wrong choice. 
 
Kjaran and Gunnar's fateful decision will leave them fighting for their lives, fighting to retain their humanity as Iceland's unyielding code of honour ignites a remorseless blood feud that will consume all it touches. 
 
'Smile of the Wolf bares its fangs from the first page. Like a medieval tapestry, the storytelling is rich with imagery. Readers will be lured spellbound into this lyrical and evocative Icelandic saga. It deserves huge success' DAVID GILMAN.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Four Streets Saga - cover

    The Four Streets Saga

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This is the complete story, in one volume, of Nadine's bestselling Four Streets Trilogy. 
     
    Set in the Irish Catholic community of 1950s Liverpool and on the west coast of Ireland, this is a saga of working-class families. Despite living on the edge of poverty, they are bound together by humour and loyalty, gossip, grumbling – and endless cups of tea. 
     
    It is also the gripping, horrifying story of a young girl betrayed by a man who is trusted and revered by the people of the Four Streets. The community's revenge is played out over a drama in three acts: The Four Streets, Hide Her Name and The Ballymara Road.
    Show book
  • The Children of Lovely Lane - cover

    The Children of Lovely Lane

    Nadine Dorries

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The second gripping novel in the Lovely Lane series, from bestselling author Nadine Dorries. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson. 
     
    The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards. 
     
    St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south. 
     
    The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it. 
     
    Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go. 
     
    Can't wait for the next one? THE MOTHERS OF LOVELY LANE is out now! 
     
     What people are saying about THE CHILDREN OF LOVELY LANE: 
     
    'Another fantastic book in this amazing series!' 
     
    'Nadine Dorries is fast becoming my favourite author. Once I start reading, her books are difficult to put down' 
     
    'So well written and the story line always keeps you wondering' 
     
    'There is nothing better than reading a Nadine Dorries book'
    Show book
  • Once More My Darling Rogue - cover

    Once More My Darling Rogue

    Lorraine Heath

    • 4
    • 33
    • 0
    They are England's most eligible bachelors, with the most scandalous reputations. But for the right woman, even an unrepentant rogue may mend his ways . . . 
    Born to the street but raised within the aristocracy, Drake Darling can't escape his sordid beginnings. Not when Lady Ophelia Lyttleton snubs him at every turn, a constant reminder he's not truly one of them. But after rescuing her from a mysterious drowning, he realizes she doesn't remember who she is. With plans to bring her to heel, he insists she's his housekeeper—never expecting to fall for the charming beauty. 
    While Ophelia might not recall her life before Drake, she has little doubt she belongs with him. The desire she feels for her dark, brooding employer can't be denied, regardless of consequences. So when Ophelia's memory returns, she is devastated by the depth of his betrayal. Now Drake must risk everything to prove she can trust this rogue with her heart once more.
    Show book
  • The Angel in the Glass - A new forensic mystery series set in Stuart England - cover

    The Angel in the Glass - A new...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Physician-sleuth Dr Gabriel Taverner uncovers dark secrets in his small Devon village in the second of this intriguing historical mystery series. 
    June, 1604.  When the emaciated body of a vagrant is found on the edge of the moor, it’s the verdict of physician Gabriel Taverner that the man died of natural causes – but is all as it seems? Who was the dead man, and why had he come to the small West Country village of Tavy St Luke’s to die cold, sick and alone?  With no one claiming to have known him, his identity remains a mystery.
    Then a discovery found buried in a nearby field throws a strange new light on the case … and in attempting to find the answers, Gabriel Taverner and Coroner Theophilus Davey unearth a series of shocking secrets stretching back more than fourteen years.
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1 - cover

    Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    "Hauntingly beautiful are the bonds between the cultures of the Scots Highlanders and the Indians" – Historical Novel Society 
     
    Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War.  
     
    Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased. 
     
    Bone Rattler is a powerful historical mystery set against a backdrop of culture clashes, greed, deceit and murder as seen through the eyes of an honest Scot swept up in both the wonder and heartbreak of early colonial America. 
     
     
    "Having already won an Edgar for his Inspector Shan series, Pattison makes a strong bid for another with this outstanding mystery set in colonial America… Pattison's moving characters, intricate plot and masterful evocation of the time, including sensitive depictions of the effects of the European war on Native Americans, set this leagues beyond most historicals." – Publishers Weekly 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of the Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, and Bone Mountain. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • The Proposition - cover

    The Proposition

    Judith Ivory

    • 1
    • 25
    • 0
    No man, gentleman or otherwise, has ever looked at Lady Edwina Bollash the way the brash, handsome man standing before her is doing now. Edwina has accepted the challenge to transform incorrigible Mick Tremore into a gentleman in just six weeks. And although the linguist is sure she can rise to the task, she isn't at all certain she won't swoon under his frankly sensuous gaze before her job is done. 
    Mick has lived outside of London society long enough to know that appearances can be deceiving. Edwina might look all buttoned up-the perfect English lady-but there is unleashed passion existing just below her placid facade (not to mention a great pair of legs!). And as she prepares him to take his place in society, Mick prepares Edwina to take her place in his heart...and in his bed.
    Show book