Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Wolf Hunt - A fast-paced action-packed historical fiction novel - cover

The Wolf Hunt - A fast-paced action-packed historical fiction novel

Tim Hodkinson

Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

'Fast-paced, detailed and brilliantly written [for] fans of Bernard Cornwell, George R.R. Martin, and especially Theodore Brun' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY 
 
When you can't protect everyone, who will you save? 
 
Iceland, AD 935 
 
Einar Unnsson is destined to be great. When he fights, a frenzy comes upon him. It makes him lethal in battle – so lethal he just defeated the man his own father sent to kill him.
 
Now, with Einar exiled from his kingdom, his father turns his vengeance on Einar's mother – his escaped former bedslave. Yet Einar is in no position to protect her. He's made an enemy of the powerful King Eirik and must fight for his own life before he can save her.
 
Einar depends on the Wolf Coats, a band of fearsome, bloodthirsty warriors, but they're convinced the fates have cursed them. Will Einar's skill in battle be enough to save his mother? Or will the Wolf Coats' superstition destroy them all?
 
PRAISE FOR TIM HODKINSON: 
 
'A brilliantly written historical adventure which will appeal to fans of Bernard Cornwell, George R.R. Martin, and especially Theodore Brun' HISTORICAL NOVEL ASSOCIATION
 
'A gripping action adventure like the sagas of old; and once finished, you just want to go back and read it all over again' MELISENDE'S LIBRARY
 
'An excellently written page-turner, with a feel for the period which invites you into the era and keeps you there' HISTORICAL WRITERS ASSOCIATION
 
READERS LOVE THE WOLF HUNT: 
 
'Fantastically written! This book will have you hooked from the very first page! ... 5 stars all the way, buy it, read it, love it, recommend it!' ★★★★★ Paula Cwikla, Netgalley Reviewer
 
'Hodkinson weaves his spell so intricately that you are drawn in before you know it – and pages and hours have passed in no time at all ... This is a series worth investing in!' ★★★★ Melisende d'Outremer, Netgalley Reviewer
 
'This is right down my street! I loved it, what a tale, excellent character depth, brilliantly written and full of action, what more could I want. Excellent work Tim!' ★★★★★ Stephen Walker, Netgalley Reviewer

Other books that might interest you

  • Insight Guides: Explore Marrakech - cover

    Insight Guides: Explore Marrakech

    Insight Guides

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Whether you're looking for bustling souks, stunning monuments or buzzing nightlife, you'll find it all in Marrakech. Explore Marrakech is part of a brand-new series and is the ideal pocket companion for your trip: a full-colour guide containing 14 easy-to-follow routes in and around the city, from the exhilarating Jemaa el Fna at the heart of the medina to the elegant tranquility of the Majorelle Garden in the New Town. Insight's trademark cultural coverage sets the routes in context, with introductions to Marrakech's exciting cuisine, fantastic shopping and outdoor activities, fabulous pampering opportunities and key historical dates. Our recommended places to eat and drink are highlighted in each route, with even more suggestions in the directory section, which also contains a wealth of useful practical information, including a range of carefully selected hotels to suit all budgets. All routes are plotted on the useful pull-out map, and evocative photography captures the essence of this alluring gem of a city.
    Show book
  • Butterflies of Indiana - A Field Guide - cover

    Butterflies of Indiana - A Field...

    Jeffrey E. Belth

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Discover the butterflies of Indiana in this award-winning, simple to use field-guide 
     
    Butterflies of Indiana is a unique and award-winning field guide to Indiana's rich butterfly fauna that covers all 149 species of butterflies and their close relatives, the skippers. It features over 500 color photographs that illustrate the undersides and uppersides of most species and highlight the variations found among them, both seasonally and between males and females. 
     
     For beginners and experts alike, Butterflies of Indiana offers an introduction to the natural history of butterflies. The simple and intuitive design of this guide and its wealth of features make it a faithful companion for butterfly watchers, collectors, gardeners, birders, and naturalists.
    Show book
  • 60 Short Hikes in the Sandia Foothills - cover

    60 Short Hikes in the Sandia...

    Tamara Massong

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The hiking trails in the Sandia Mountains are one of the great assets of Albuquerque, for residents and visitors alike. This book will help more people take advantage of these beautiful places to walk, most of them hitherto unmapped. It introduces sixty short hikes in the public lands on the eastern edge of the city. Some of the hikes are in the foothills and some are in the lower slopes of the mountains. Most are less than four miles long, and all are easy to access. They range in difficulty from easy to very hard. Included are useful tips for how to reach the trails, where to park, and how to stay safe and avoid trespassing on private property. Each hike also features downloadable digital route data that can be easily used with smartphones or GPS units.
    Show book
  • Pravda Ha Ha - Truth Lies and the End of Europe - cover

    Pravda Ha Ha - Truth Lies and...

    Rory MacLean

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Shortlisted for the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year Award 
     
    'A gem of a book, informative, companionable, sometimes funny, and wholly original. MacLean must surely be the outstanding, and most indefatigable, traveller-writer of our time' John le Carré 
     
    In 1989 the Berlin Wall fell. In that euphoric year Rory MacLean travelled from Berlin to Moscow, exploring lands that were – for most Brits and Americans – part of the forgotten half of Europe. Thirty years on, MacLean traces his original journey backwards, across countries confronting old ghosts and new fears: from revanchist Russia, through Ukraine's bloodlands, into illiberal Hungary, and then Poland, Germany and the UK. Along the way he shoulders an AK-47 to go hunting with Moscow's chicken Tsar, plays video games in St Petersburg with a cyber-hacker who cracked the US election, drops by the Che Guevara High School of Political Leadership in a non-existent nowhereland and meets the Warsaw doctor who tried to stop a march of 70,000 nationalists. Finally, on the shores of Lake Geneva, he waits patiently to chat with Mikhail Gorbachev. 
     
    As Europe sleepwalks into a perilous new age, MacLean explores how opportunists – both within and outside of Russia, from Putin to Home Counties populists – have made a joke of truth, exploiting refugees and the dispossessed, and examines the veracity of historical narrative from reportage to fiction and fake news. He asks what happened to the optimism of 1989 and, in the shadow of Brexit, chronicles the collapse of the European dream.
    Show book
  • Meet Me at the Rocket - A History of the South Carolina State Fair - cover

    Meet Me at the Rocket - A...

    Rodger E. Stroup, SC State...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Who doesn't love the bustle and jangle, the smells, the sounds, the energy, and the tastes of a lively state fair? In this fast-changing world, keeping any endeavor alive and thriving for 150 years is an accomplishment, but the South Carolina State Fair has met any challenges with doggedness, determination, and flair.In the early 1700s South Carolinians were gathering to exchange information about crops and livestock, and small rural fairs were held, enhanced by horse racing, raffles, and other diversions to draw in the populace. The State Agricultural Society of South Carolina was founded in 1839 and held its first annual fair and stock show in November of the following year. In 1869 the State Agricultural and Mechanical Society of South Carolina was founded to revive the fair and has presented a fair in every year except 1918. The South Carolina State Fair has a long and storied history from those early days to its current "meet me at the rocket" days. Those initial fair goers would have been astonished to see the rocket, a Jupiter intermediate-range ballistic missile, greeting them as they arrived on the grounds.The long story of the fair is inextricably bound to the history of South Carolina, of course, and indeed the history of the United States. Stroup ably weaves many strands together through archival records, newspaper reports, anecdotes (have you heard about the "Schara-mouche-Dance by a person from London?") and vintage artifacts, illustrations, paintings, and photographs from the fair's inception to the present. The fair has been an admixture of serious agricultural and animal husbandry and pure entertainment—the scandalous as well as the wholesome, and Stroup investigates them all, from the "Colored State Fair" to the infamous "girlie shows" to the prizes won for livestock—and touches on characters as diverse as Preston Brooks and Seabiscuit. As lively and entertaining as a state fair itself, Meet Me at the Rocket is as thorough a history of an important state institution as can be found. Buy a cotton candy, visit the exhibits, ride the merry-go-round, and enjoy this singular exploration of South Carolina's agriculture and industry, its science and art and history.A foreword is provided by Walter Edgar, the Neuffer Professor of Southern Studies Emeritus and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History at the University of South Carolina. He is the author of South Carolina: A History, editor of The South Carolina Encyclopedia, and host of the radio program Walter Edgar's Journal.
    Show book
  • The National Road - Dispatches From a Changing America - cover

    The National Road - Dispatches...

    Tom Zoellner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    To read this book is to see America: each state is highlighted in this collection as Zoellner's travels take him to through both famous and less-traveled corners of the country. He describes the state's highest peaks, the stores profiting from rural poverty, the towns issuing traffic tickets to boost funds, and beyond
    Zoellner is a master of place, and excels in examining how our relationship to the land has evolved over the course of American history. While the essays are varied in subject and form, they all strive to answer one question: what does it mean to “belong” in America when rootedness to a particular piece of ground means less than at any time during our history? 
    In 2019, only 11% of Americans changed residences, the lowest percentage ever recorded. Zoellner does not observe people economically privileged enough to move at will, but those anchored to the land, whether willingly or not. The reader sees slaughterhouse employees, sex workers, immigrants cleaning out hog farms, and Dollar General shoppers, all grappling with their own changing relationship to American geography
    The author weaves evocative details of his life with journalistic reportage and social history, creating a powerful tapestry of the country "heavily dependent on a shared place. This is our lowest common denominator: we all stand on the same land. If you want to know Americans, look at where they live first. Look at the land. Geography is our bounty; it has also become a curse."
    Currently the politics editor of The Los Angeles Review of Books, Zoellner resides in Southern California
    Acquired and edited by Dan Smetanka, Editor in Chief of Counterpoint Press
    Show book