Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Red Herrings - A Simon Bognor Mystery - cover

Red Herrings - A Simon Bognor Mystery

Tim Heald

Publisher: Dean Street Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

An ancient country custom goes awry, killing a man and spoiling Bognor's holiday. At the annual Clout, the men of Herring do as they have done for centuries, firing arrows blindly into the woods and allowing their women to retrieve what they have shot. Nobody ever kills anything, but it's a jolly time nonetheless - until the day when a few of the arrows find their mark, pinning a wayward customs inspector to a tree in a bloody parody of Saint Sebastian. It's rotten luck for the dead man, and not much better for Simon Bognor. Bognor huffs when he hears of the killing, knowing that he is going to be sucked into investigating the death. A special inspector for the Board of Trade, Bognor is always getting invited to crime scenes, despite knowing almost nothing about crime. His bad lungs, sour attitude, and fleshy physique are out of place in the countryside, but Bognor is in for the duration. He will find the person who caused the accident - or the next arrow's target could be his heart. 'Dazzling and star-spangled [prose].' - Dorothy B. Hughes, author of In a Lonely Place'Crime with a P.G. Wodehouse flair.' - Chicago Tribune 'A constant pleasure.' - The Daily Telegraph

Other books that might interest you

  • Avenged - An Amber Monroe Crime Thriller #2 - cover

    Avenged - An Amber Monroe Crime...

    C.M. Sutter

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Crime happens, even in small towns like North Bend, but when Amber Monroe and her fellow detectives from the Washburn County Sheriff’s Office are called to the home of a retired forensic psychiatrist, they find a macabre murder scene that would rival any Halloween horror film. 
    When a local EMT and a former deputy go missing that same week, law enforcement conclude there has to be a link between the three cases. With no clues to guide them, the detectives are stumped until they begin a search through old court files. 
    New information emerges that could break the case wide open, but when the names on the perpetrator’s kill list are revealed, apprehending him is all that matters. His intentions have become more than personal and crystal clear. Washburn County’s finest may be next, and they don’t have the luxury of time on their side. 
    Note:All Amber Monroe books are standalone stories but since characters carry over, they are best read in chronological order. 
    Series One - Amber Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Greed 
    #2 Avenged 
    #3 Vendetta 
    The Amber Monroe Crime Thriller Series follows on the heels of the conclusion of Malice, Book 5 in the Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series. 
    Editorial Review: 
    “At the sheriff’s office in Washburn County, Wisconsin, newly promoted Detective Amber Monroe and her partner are assigned to investigate a suspected dog-fighting ring, but their work is interrupted by news that a retired forensic psychiatrist has been found brutally murdered. The possible dog-fighting case goes on the back burner, the sheriff’s office watches the body count rise, and their only clues are the threatening letters being mailed to the victims from several states away. C. M. Sutter deftly picks up the pace in this second installment in her Amber Monroe Crime Thriller series, and readers will find themselves racing to keep up with Amber and her fellow officers as this tale hurtles to its pulse-pounding conclusion.” Angela M., Editor, Red Adept Editing 
    Start at the beginning of the Monroe Sisters' saga with Maniacal. Find all of the books leading up to the Amber Monroe Crime Thriller Series below. 
    Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Maniacal 
    #2 Captive 
    #3 Fallacy  
    #4 Premonition  
    #5 Exposed 
    Note:The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series. 
     Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series 
    #1 Snapped  
    #2 Justified 
    #3 Donors 
    #4 Leverage 
    #5 Malice 
    Show book
  • Captive - A Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller #2 - cover

    Captive - A Detective Jade...

    C.M. Sutter

    • 0
    • 24
    • 0
    A body, wrapped in plastic, is discovered in a ditch along a secluded country road. Detective Jade Monroe, and her partner, Jack Steele, arrive at the scene in minutes. Suspicious looking evidence gives the impression that this young woman has been held captive. 
    As days pass, more local women vanish without a trace. Jade and her team of detectives fear the worst. 
    With precious time slipping away, Jade needs to pull out all stops to find this perpetrator, even if that means putting herself directly in harm's way. 
    Note: All Detective Jade Monroe books are standalone stories, yet they are best read in chronological order. 
    Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Maniacal 
    #2 Captive 
    #3 Fallacy 
    #4 Premonition 
    #5 Exposed 
    Note: The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series. 
    Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series 
    #1 Snapped  
    #2 Justified 
    #3 Donors 
    #4 Leverage 
    #5 Malice
    Show book
  • Glasgow Kiss - A DCI Lorimer Novel - cover

    Glasgow Kiss - A DCI Lorimer Novel

    Alex Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Internationally bestselling author Alex Gray returns with another dark, twisty mystery featuring Detective Chief Inspector William Lorimer 
    Eric Chalmers is one of the most popular teachers at Muirpark Secondary School in Glasgow. Gentle and kind, he is the one adult students trust as a confidant. So when precocious teenager Julie Donaldson accuses Chalmers of rape, the school goes into shock. How could a deeply religious family man like Chalmers do such a thing? With some students and teachers supporting Julie, and others standing by Chalmers, life at Muirpark is far from harmonious. And then the situation gets much worse — Julie Donaldson goes missing, and the police are called in. 
    For DCI William Lorimer, this is the second missing persons case in a week. He’s had too many sleepless nights worrying about a toddler who has been missing for several days. Julie’s disappearance adds a further burden to Lorimer’s already overstretched workload. With each day, the likelihood of either girl being found alive diminishes, and Lorimer finds himself racing against the clock to save innocent lives. 
    Show book
  • Love Me to Death - Brief Case - cover

    Love Me to Death - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Christmas short story.
    
     
    The first of an occasional series of short stories (covering the elapsed time between the books in The Falconer Files series.)
    
     
    On Christmas Day the two detectives are summoned to a block of apartments in Market Darley, to investigate the unexplained death of a young woman whose fiance was due to move in with her on New Year's Day.
    
     
    At first, her death seems a complete mystery, then, something that Dr Christmas discovers on the internet indicates that her death could just have been a tragic accident, or was it?
    Show book
  • The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery - cover

    The Sleeping Lady - A Mystery

    Bonnie C. Monte

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Thirty-five-year-old Rae Sullivan owns a thriving home décor shop in the San Francisco Bay area, near majestic Mt. Tamalpais (to locals, The Sleeping Lady). But when her business partner, Thalia, confides that she has a lover in France, Rae’s comfortable life starts to unravel. Soon, an anonymous note-writer threatens to reveal the affair, and Thalia—who, unswayed by Rae’s warnings, insists on confronting the blackmailer—turns up dead in Golden Gate Park.
    
    The police, convinced the crime was a random mugging, are dismissive of Rae’s story of blackmail. Then a scandal from Rae’s past job comes to light, and the police start to eye her as a suspect. To clear her reputation and ensure justice for Thalia, Rae decides it’s up to her to unmask the murderer—despite her husband’s objections.
    
    Rae’s sleuthing leads her to France, where she enlists the help of Thalia’s handsome half brother. As they collaborate to catch the killer, sparks fly between them, and Rae has to contend with these newly aroused feelings—even as she strives to outmaneuver a cold-blooded murderer who wants to silence her.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book