Don't miss out on our offer of unlimited reading for a whole year!
Only until 29 April!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Red Herrings - A Simon Bognor Mystery - cover

Red Herrings - A Simon Bognor Mystery

Tim Heald

Publisher: Dean Street Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

An ancient country custom goes awry, killing a man and spoiling Bognor's holiday. At the annual Clout, the men of Herring do as they have done for centuries, firing arrows blindly into the woods and allowing their women to retrieve what they have shot. Nobody ever kills anything, but it's a jolly time nonetheless - until the day when a few of the arrows find their mark, pinning a wayward customs inspector to a tree in a bloody parody of Saint Sebastian. It's rotten luck for the dead man, and not much better for Simon Bognor. Bognor huffs when he hears of the killing, knowing that he is going to be sucked into investigating the death. A special inspector for the Board of Trade, Bognor is always getting invited to crime scenes, despite knowing almost nothing about crime. His bad lungs, sour attitude, and fleshy physique are out of place in the countryside, but Bognor is in for the duration. He will find the person who caused the accident - or the next arrow's target could be his heart. 'Dazzling and star-spangled [prose].' - Dorothy B. Hughes, author of In a Lonely Place'Crime with a P.G. Wodehouse flair.' - Chicago Tribune 'A constant pleasure.' - The Daily Telegraph

Other books that might interest you

  • Dark Rite - cover

    Dark Rite

    David Wood, Alan Baxter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A small mountain town hides a dark secret… 
     
    When his father’s death brings Grant Shipman to the Appalachian town of Wallen’s Gap, he believes his biggest problem will be dealing with the slow pace and odd townsfolk. But something sinister is at work. A dark power rises, an echo of the town’s bloody past. A book of blood magic offers an unspeakable horror a gateway into the world of the living, and only Grant stands in the way of their Dark Rite. 
     
    Praise for Dark Rite 
     
    “Wood and Baxter have delivered a stunning tale that reminds of an early Stephen King’s talent for the macabre with a pinch of Graham Masterton’s flair for witchcraft and terror. A sinister tale of black magic and horror – not for the faint hearted.” 
    Greig Beck, bestselling author of Beneath the Dark Ice and Black Mountain 
     
    “When Grant Shipman returns to Wallens' Gap for his father's funeral, he discovers a curious book and a supernatural relic hidden from the malevolent townsfolk, who shelter generations of malignant secrets. After his friend Cassie is kidnapped and his own life increasingly threatened, Grant must confront the powers of darkness, a demon summoned for the ultimate sacrifice. 
    With mysterious rituals, macabre rites and superb supernatural action scenes, Wood and Baxter deliver a fast-paced horror thriller.” 
    J.F.Penn, author of the bestselling ARKANE thriller series 
     
    "Wood and Baxter have taken on the classic black magic/cult conspiracy subgenre, chucked in a toxic mix of weirdness, creepshow chills and action, and created a tale that reads like a 
    latter-day Hammer Horror thriller. Nice, dark fun." 
    Robert Hood, author of Immaterial and Fragments of a Broken Land: Valarl Undead
    Show book
  • Cooking the Books - cover

    Cooking the Books

    Kerry Greenwood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Corinna Chapman, talented baker and reluctant investigator, is trying to do nothing at all on her holiday. Her gorgeous Daniel is only intermittently at her side (he's tracking down a multi-thousand dollar corporate theft). Jason, her baking offsider, has gone off to learn how to surf. And Kylie and Goss are fulfilling their lives' ambition auditioning for a soapie. But quiet refl ection doesn't seem to suit Corinna. She's bored. So she accepts an offer from a caterer friend to bake for the film set of the soapie in which Kylie and Goss have parts. Soon complications that could only happen to Corinna ensue, involving cakes, sabotage, nursery rhymes, and a tiger named Tabitha.
     
    Meanwhile, on the other side of town, a young woman is being unmercifully bullied by her corporate employers - who spend a lot of time cooking the books....
    Show book
  • Exile- A Jade Ihara Adventure - Jade Ihara Adventures - cover

    Exile- A Jade Ihara Adventure -...

    Sean Ellis, David Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jade Ihara is caught in a centuries old power struggle between a slave cult who believes she might be the incarnation of the goddess of liberty, and a secret cabal with plans for world domination. Can she unravel the mystery of the Cult of Libertas and find their sacred relics before it’s too late?  David Wood and Sean Ellis deliver another action-packed thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Fans of Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider, Rogue Angel, and Dane Maddock will love Exile! 
    Praise for David Wood and Sean Ellis 
    “I'll admit it. I am totally exhausted after finishing the latest Jade Ihara page-turner by David Wood and Sean Ellis. What an adventure! I kept asking myself how the co-authors came up with all this fantastic stuff. This is a great read that provides lots of action, and thoughtful insight as well, into strange realms that are sometimes best left unexplored.” Paul Kemprecos, author of Cool Blue Tomb and The NUMA Files 
    "Dane and Bones.... Together they're unstoppable. Rip-roaring action from start to finish. Wit and humor throughout. Just one question - how soon until the next one? Because I can't wait."- Graham Brown, author of Shadows of the Midnight Sun 
    “Ellis and Wood are a partnership forged in the fires of Hell. Books don’t burn hotter than this!”- Steven Savile, author of the Ogmios thrillers
    Show book
  • The Long Good Boy - cover

    The Long Good Boy

    Carol Lea Benjamin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A dog trainer–turned-PI and her pit bull go after a killer—with a little help from a courageous dachshund—in this mystery by a Shamus Award winner. Rachel and Dash have a new client. Well, three new clients. A trio of transvestite working girls want Rachel to investigate the death of one of their own. Rosalinda’s throat was slashed on Halloween right after the Greenwich Village parade. Finding her killer isn’t exactly the NYPD’s top priority—and LaDonna, Chi Chi, and Jasmine are terrified that they’ll be next. With her cash retainer in hand—and very few leads—Rachel starts digging. What is the connection between Rosalinda and a dead butcher? Soon, with the help of Chi Chi’s mini-dachshund, Clint, Rachel is breaking into a plant in the Meatpacking District. But her future is suddenly on the line when she sets herself up as bait to catch the killer. As Rachel follows a twisting trail with only Dash for protection, she discovers that her foray into “the life” could end with her own untimely death. The Long Good Boy is the 6th book in the Rachel Alexander and Dash Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • The Queen's Head - cover

    The Queen's Head

    Edward Marston

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    He was egotistical, verbose and hot-headed to a fault. But he did not deserve to die... His name was Will Fowler, an actor in the esteemed theatrical company called Lord Westfield's Men, a vibrant young man flushed from the success of a recent performance at The Queen's Head theatre. So exuberant was he that he persuaded the resourceful manager of the company, Nicholas Bracewell, to quaff a pint or two at a nearby pub. Alas, it was to be Will's last taste of beer. A tavern brawl left him dead - but not before he gasped for Nicholas to find his fast-fleeting, red-bearded murderer and administer a just revenge. Yet finding Will's murderer in London's dark, crowded streets was a seemingly impossible task - not to mention the fact that Lord Westfield's Men were just commanded to appear at the court of Elizabeth I - an honour one dare not refuse . . .
    Show book
  • Old Bones - A British Police Procedural - cover

    Old Bones - A British Police...

    Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    DCI Bill Slider tackles the coldest of cold cases in this absorbing mystery.    A young couple discover human remains buried in the garden of their new house: could this be the resting place of 14-year-old Amanda Knight, who disappeared from the same garden two decades before, and was never seen again? 
    
    
    
    The problem comes almost as a relief to DCI Slider, still suffering from the fallout of his previous case. He is not popular with the Powers That Be, and his immediate boss, Detective Superintendent Porson, reckons that at least this little puzzle will keep Slider out of trouble. After all, with a murder twenty years in the past, this is the coldest of cold cases. Most of the suspects and principal players are now dead too, and all passion is long spent. Or is it?
    Show book