Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The bridge of San Luis Rey - Exploring fate love and the interconnectedness of lives in 18th century Peru - cover

The bridge of San Luis Rey - Exploring fate love and the interconnectedness of lives in 18th century Peru

Thornton Wilder

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thornton Wilder's 'The Bridge of San Luis Rey' is a captivating novel set in 18th century Peru, exploring themes of fate, love, and the meaning of life through the tragic collapse of a bridge and the lives of five people who perish in the incident. The novel's unique narrative style, with its omniscient narrator and exploration of the interconnectedness of human lives, sets it apart as a timeless classic in American literature, winning the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1928. Wilder's elegant prose and philosophical insights make 'The Bridge of San Luis Rey' a thought-provoking and emotionally resonant read. The novel's exploration of universal human experiences and the role of chance in shaping our destinies will leave readers questioning the nature of existence and the bonds that connect us all. With its enduring themes and lyrical storytelling, 'The Bridge of San Luis Rey' is a must-read for anyone interested in profound reflections on life and love.
Available since: 07/10/2023.
Print length: 84 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Pearl of Orr's Island - cover

    The Pearl of Orr's Island

    Harriet Beecher Stowe

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Go on a journey to the coast of Maine and immerse yourself in the picturesque community on Orr’s Island. See the raindrops glistening on the pine needles and hear the waves crashing on the rocks. This is a tale of romance, tragedy, crusty sea captains, an impetuous boy, a loving girl, complete with village gossips and twists in the plot. (Summary by Bridget Gaige)
    Show book
  • The Dress - cover

    The Dress

    Kate Kerrigan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Lily Fitzpatrick loves vintage clothes. But this passion for beautiful clothes is about to have unforeseen consequences, when Lily stumbles upon the story of a 1950s New York beauty, who shares Lily's surname. Joy Fitzpatrick was a legend. But what was the famous dress which she once commissioned? What happened to it - and why did Joy suddenly disappear from New York high society?
    Show book
  • The Furies - cover

    The Furies

    John Jakes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From a #1 New York Times–bestselling author: Amanda Kent heads west to build a family dynasty in the era of the Gold Rush.  Opening twenty-two years after the events of The Seekers, John Jakes’s fourth Kent Family novel spans the blood-soaked era of America’s relentless expansion into the West. Amanda Kent, daughter of Gilbert Kent and Harriet Lebow, is one of the few women to escape the massacre at the Battle of the Alamo. Uncommonly brazen and focused, Amanda seeks to make a new life for herself by restoring the Kent family name. Her efforts to build a dynasty take her to northern California, just in time for the Gold Rush. Her passion and determination during these frenzied years make The Furies an exhilarating page-turner. This ebook features an illustrated biography of John Jakes including rare images from the author’s personal collection.
    Show book
  • The Tinner's Corpse - cover

    The Tinner's Corpse

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Crowner John is summoned to investigate the murder of a tin miner. The victim worked for Devon's most powerful and successful mine owner, Walter Knapman. There seems, to be only one motive - to sabotage Walter's business. But the tinners have their own laws, and they are none too pleased at Crowner John's interference. How on earth can Crowner John sort all this out when his own life is in turmoil?
    Show book
  • Greek Island Escape - The perfect holiday read - cover

    Greek Island Escape - The...

    Patricia Wilson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The new escapist novel from the author of Island of Secrets. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Lucinda Riley.'I am Sofia. I am searching for my daughter, born 1st November 1972. Can you help me?'On the beautiful beaches of Crete, an old woman is handing out scraps of paper. Sofia, eighty-five years old, unable to speak, is desperate to find a daughter she has never known. After a tragic childhood in Athens and a soaring career as a singer, the brutal treatment of the man she loved by a tyrannical regime forced her to give up her daughter mere days after her birth. Now she longs to be reunited with her child before it's too late.Meanwhile in London, Zoe is searching too. In the months since the disappearance of her teenage daughter, Zoe's life has crumbled apart. Her husband has left her, her son feels forgotten, and every day is a struggle. But Zoe is desperate to track her daughter down, even if she doesn't want to be found . . .
    Show book
  • Scholarly Pursuits - A Victorian San Francisco Mystery - cover

    Scholarly Pursuits - A Victorian...

    M. Louisa Locke

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Something is rotten in the state of Berkeley” 
    --1881 Blue and Gold Yearbook, University of California: Berkeley   
    In Scholarly Pursuits, the sixth full-length novel in the USA Today best-selling Victorian San Francisco mystery series, Locke explores life on the University of California: Berkeley campus in 1881, where Laura and her friends face the remarkably modern problems of fraternity hazings, fraught romantic relationships, and fractious faculty politics.   
    While Annie and Nate Dawson and friends and family in the O’Farrell Street boardinghouse await a blessed event, Laura Dawson finds herself investigating why a young Berkeley student dropped out of school in the fall of 1880.  
    No one, including her friend Seth Timmons, thinks this is a good idea, since she is juggling a full course load with a part-time job, but she can’t let the question of what happened to her friend go unanswered. Not when it means that other young women might be in danger.  
    This cozy historical mystery of romantic suspense is set in the period immediately after the fifth book in the series, Pilfered Promises, and two novellas, Kathleen Catches a Killer and Dandy Delivers.  However, it can be read as a stand-alone.
    Show book