Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Old mother west wind - cover

Old mother west wind

Thornton W. Burgess

Publisher: iBoo Press House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thornton Waldo Burgess (January 14, 1874 – June 5, 1965) was a conservationist and author of children’s stories. He loved the beauty of nature and its living creatures so much that he wrote about them for 50 years. By the time he retired, he had written more than 170 books. Many of his outdoor observations in nature were used as plots for his stories. In his first book, “Old Mother West Wind,” published in 1910, the reader meets many of the characters found in later books and stories. These characters include Peter Rabbit, Jimmy Skunk, Sammy Jay, Bobby Raccoon, Joe Otter, Grandfather Frog, Billy Mink, Jerry Muskrat, Spotty the Turtle and of course, Old Mother West Wind and her Merry Little Breezes. Note to parents of very small children: in Chapter 15, little Tommy Trout gets eaten by a pickerel. 
  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Portrait of a Marriage - A Novel - cover

    Portrait of a Marriage - A Novel

    Pearl S Buck

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A wealthy painter falls in love with an illiterate Pennsylvania farm girl in this novel from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Good Earth.  At the turn of the century, an upper-class painter from Philadelphia goes searching for inspiration. He finds his muse on a farm—the farmer’s beautiful and humble daughter. His portrait of her becomes one of his most inspired works, but his passion for the illiterate girl doesn’t stop at the easel: He returns to marry her and settle down to country life—a journey that means bridging enormous gaps between their cultures, breaking from his parents, and creating tension between their friends. Pearl S. Buck compassionately imagines both sides of the complex marriage, and in addition, creates a wonderfully vivid picture of America leading up to the Second World War. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Pearl S. Buck including rare images from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • Dead Men Whistling - cover

    Dead Men Whistling

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    ONLY SILENCE CAN KEEP YOU SAFE. 
     
    Sergeant Kieran O'Regan was responsible for hunting down killers. Now he's become one of the dead: his decapitated body has been found in a graveyard, a tin whistle stuffed into his throat. 
     
    O'Regan was due to give evidence at a trial for police corruption. His gruesome murder sends a clear message to whistleblowers: only silence is safe. DCI Katie Maguire is determined to uncover the truth. But corruption in the Garda stretches back decades. As more officers are horrifically silenced, Katie must decide who she can trust...
    Show book
  • Enchanted - cover

    Enchanted

    P. Marie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lilith is a teenager looking for some excitement in her ordinary life.  She soon finds that her family has a secret; a dark secret that threatens not only her, but all of mankind. 
    
    It's summer vacation and Lilith sits at the window seat in her bedroom.  She sits, bored and depressed that her best friend is going away for the summer.  
    
    Lilith believes that this will be just another ordinary summer, spent with her mom Lauren, her father Edward, and her younger brother Ethan.  But Lilith will soon find that there is nothing ordinary about the days to come.  Soon Lilith will find herself in the biggest battle of her life, of anyone's life for that matter.
    Show book
  • Thursday: Sweet Romance - Sweet and Timeless #4 - cover

    Thursday: Sweet Romance - Sweet...

    Lily Rose

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sweet and Timeless: Thursday by Lily Rose is the sweet edition of New York Times bestselling author E. L. Todd's steamy contemporary romance novel Thursday. This story is the same as the contemporary romance and conveys all the passion of the original book without any explicit scenes or harsh language.  
     
    I’ve known Marie my whole life. She’s been my sister’s geeky friend since I could remember. 
     
    But now she’s a woman—a fine one.  
     
    Every time she walks by, my eyes soak her in. My hands want to grab her and never let go. 
     
    Now I want her.  
     
    After the greatest night of my life, she’s all I can think about. I’ve been with a ton of women but the connection was never like that. Whatever Marie and I have together is something worth keeping.  
     
    Now I need her.  
     
    I don’t do relationships or commitments. After everything I’ve been through, I can’t handle them.  
     
    But I find myself wanting to make an exception—for her. 
     
    **Includes never-before-scenes of Hawke and Francesca. While Axel and Marie started their relationship, what were Hawke and Francesca doing, together and apart? Follow their story as well as Axel and Marie in this novel**
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Challenge Accepted - cover

    Challenge Accepted

    KB Alan

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Since being turned into a werewolf, Adam has been a loner. Practically a hermit. Okay, actually a hermit. When the local wolves and werewolves start experiencing weird behavior, he can’t resist the pull to step up and see if he can help. And runs smack into trouble in the form of the werewolves’ National President. 
    
     
    
    
     
    Myra’s term as President is nearly over, but she’s determined to track down the wolf who was attacked, and turned against his will. When she meets Adam, she only wants to help him live a full and happy life. Then she sees him naked. And gets to know him. And decides she wants a lot more for him than to just escape his lonely cabin in the woods.
    
     
    
    
     
    Challenge Accepted can be read by itself. It is not necessary to read the series to enjoy this book.
    
     
    
    
     
    Wolf Appeal Series:
    
     
    Book 1 - Alpha Turned
    
     
    Book 2 - Challenge Accepted
    Show book