Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Essential Works of Christianity - 50+ Works on Theology Philosophy and Spirituality; Including Christian Fiction Classics - cover

The Essential Works of Christianity - 50+ Works on Theology Philosophy and Spirituality; Including Christian Fiction Classics

Saint Augustine, Pope Gregory I, Martin Luther, Friedrich Nietzsche, Thomas Paine, Leo Tolstoy, Athanasius of Alexandria, Gregory of Nyssa, John of Damascus, Thomas à Kempis, St. Teresa of Ávila, Brother Lawrence, David Hume, Ludwig Feuerbach, Charles Spurgeon, Andrew Murray, G. K. Chesterton, Arthur Pink, Alighieri Dante, John Milton, John Bunyan, Voltaire Voltaire, Lew Wallace, Henryk Sienkiewicz, Charles M. Sheldon, Henry Van Dyke, Grace Livingston Hill, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Ralph Waldo Emerson, H. Emilie Cady, James Allen, Prentice Mulford, Florence Scovel-Shinn

Translator George Eliot, Thomas Carlyle, Philip Schaff, Jeremiah Curtin, Alexander Walker, Benedict Zimmerman, William Benham, Helen Zimmern, Thomas Common, James Donaldson, R. S. Grignon, John Wycliffe, Alexander Roberts, Andrew Rutherfurd

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

e-artnow presents the essential works of Christian faith - the scriptures, the history of Christianity, the most important philosophical works on religion & spirituality, as well as most famous Christian novels and stories: 
Scripture:
Bible
First Clement
Second Clement
Didache
Epistle of Barnabas
Shepherd of Hermas
The Infancy Gospel of Thomas
Apocalypse of Peter
History:
History of the Christian Church 
Creeds of Christendom
Philosophy of Religion:
The Confessions of St. Augustine
On the Incarnation (Athanasius)
On the Soul and the Resurrection (Gregory of Nyssa)
On the Holy Spirit (Basil)
Pastoral Care (Gregory I)
An Exact Exposition of the Orthodox Faith (John of Damascus)
Summa Theologica (St. Thomas Aquinas)
The Imitation of Christ (Thomas à Kempis)
A Treatise on Christian Liberty (Martin Luther)
The Interior Castle (St. Teresa of Ávila)
The Practice of the Presence of God (Brother Lawrence)
The Age of Reason (Thomas Paine)
The Natural History of Religion (David Hume)
The Religious Affections (Jonathan Edwards)
The Essence of Christianity (Ludwig Feuerbach)
Beyond Good and Evil (Nietzsche)
All of Grace (Charles Spurgeon)
Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness (Andrew Murray)
Orthodoxy (Chesterton)
The Everlasting Man (Chesterton)
The Sovereignty of God (Arthur Pink)
The Kingdom of God Is Within You (Tolstoy)
Religious Fiction:
Divine Comedy (Dante)
Paradise Lost (John Milton)
The Pilgrim's Progress (John Bunyan)
Zadig (Voltaire)
Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ (Lew Wallace)
Quo Vadis (Henryk Sienkiewicz)
In His Steps (Charles M. Sheldon)
The Story of the Other Wise Man (Henry Van Dyke)
The Ball and the Cross (Chesterton)
The Enchanted Barn (Grace Livingston Hill)
The Grand Inquisitor (Dostoevsky)
Wilhelm Meister's Apprenticeship (Goethe)
Thus Spoke Zarathustra (Nietzsche)
Spirituality:
The Conduct of Life (Ralph Waldo Emerson)
Lessons in Truth (H. Emilie Cady)
As a Man Thinketh (James Allen)
Thoughts are Things (Prentice Mulford)
The Game of Life and How to Play It (Florence Scovel Shinn)

Other books that might interest you

  • An I-Novel - cover

    An I-Novel

    Minae Mizumura

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    Minae Mizumura’s An I-Novel is a semi-autobiographical work that takes place over the course of a single day in the 1980s. Minae is a Japanese expatriate graduate student who has lived in the United States for two decades but turned her back on the English language and American culture. After a phone call from her older sister reminds her that it is the twentieth anniversary of their family’s arrival in New York, she spends the day reflecting in solitude and over the phone with her sister about their life in the United States, trying to break the news that she has decided to go back to Japan and become a writer in her mother tongue.Published in 1995, this formally daring novel radically broke with Japanese literary tradition. It liberally incorporated English words and phrases, and the entire text was printed horizontally, to be read from left to right, rather than vertically and from right to left. In a luminous meditation on how a person becomes a writer, Mizumura transforms the “I-novel,” a Japanese confessional genre that toys with fictionalization. An I-Novel tells the story of two sisters while taking up urgent questions of identity, race, and language. Above all, it considers what it means to write in the era of the hegemony of English—and what it means to be a writer of Japanese in particular. Juliet Winters Carpenter masterfully renders a novel that once appeared untranslatable into English.
    Show book
  • The Anatomy of Fake News - A Critical News Literacy Education - cover

    The Anatomy of Fake News - A...

    Nolan Higdon

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Since the 2016 U.S. presidential election, concerns about fake news have fostered calls for government regulation and industry intervention to mitigate the influence of false content. These proposals are hindered by a lack of consensus concerning the definition of fake news or its origins. Media scholar Nolan Higdon contends that expanded access to critical media literacy education, grounded in a comprehensive history of fake news, is a more promising solution to these issues. The Anatomy of Fake News offers the first historical examination of fake news that takes as its goal the effective teaching of critical news literacy in the United States. Higdon employs a critical-historical media ecosystems approach to identify the producers, themes, purposes, and influences of fake news. The findings are then incorporated into an invaluable fake news detection kit. This much-needed resource provides a rich history and a promising set of pedagogical strategies for mitigating the pernicious influence of fake news.
    Show book
  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • Bad Behavior - cover

    Bad Behavior

    Noire, Kiki Swinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NINE LIVESKIKI SWINSONWild-card Aiden. Dead-shot Ava. Efficient, fast, and brutal, this notorious brother-sister hit team grew up abused, unwanted—and in lethal tune with each other. Killing nine targets in ten days will be their biggest score yet. But as Ava sets up their final target, she falls hard for him and a chance at a normal life. And that's a betrayal she may not live to regret . . . THE CRUSHED ICE CLIQUENOIREAt first all ghetto princesses Honore and Cucci want is quick cash-flow. But after sexing jewelry distributor Slimy Sam and learning his illegal tricks of the trade, they assemble a crack team of thieves for one dazzling scam. Replacing diamonds with fakes and selling the reshaped real deal on the black market is making them crazy-rich. But when Sam double-crosses them, these diamond divas must survive to steal another day . . . “Treachery, betrayal, and revenge add to the twists and turns and lots of drama in this book. Loved it! Can’t wait until the sequel comes out.”—RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars on Kiki Swinson’s The Score “Noire has created one of the liveliest urban fiction series headed by a most memorable protagonist. Fans will get a hoot out of the biting insults and dark humor marking practically every page.”—Library Journal STARRED REVIEW on Noire’s Stone Cold Liar
    Show book