Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
I'm OK--You're OK - cover

I'm OK--You're OK

Thomas Harris

Publisher: Harper Perennial

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An enormously popular (7-million copies sold) and insightful classic of popular psychology based on Eric Berne’s theory of Transactional Analysis that has helped millions of people who never before felt OK about themselves find the freedom to change, to liberate their ADULT effectiveness, and to achieve joyful intimacy with the people in their lives. 
Transactional analysis delineates three ego-states (parent, adult and child) as the basis for the content and quality of interpersonal communication. “Happy childhood” notwithstanding, says Harris, most of us are living out the not ok feelings of a defenseless child wholly dependent on ok others (parents) for stroking and caring. At some stage early in our lives we adopt a “position” about ourselves which very significantly determines how we feel about ourselves, particularly in relation to other people. And for a huge portion of the population, that position is that I’m Not OK-You’re OK. This negative Life Position, shared by successful and unsuccessful people alike, contaminates our rational adult potential, leaving us vulnerable to the inappropriate, emotional reactions of our child and the uncritically learned behavior programmed into our parent. By exploring the four basic “life positions,” we can radically change our lives.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Egoscue Method of Health Through Motion - Revolutionary Program of Stretching and - cover

    The Egoscue Method of Health...

    Pete Egoscue

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    No one is immune. For people from champion athletes to desk-bound white-collar professionals, many simple acts of life--a relaxing evening stroll through the neighborhood, an exhilarating run along a sandy beach, just bending down to tie a loose shoelace-are often acts of torture. The walking wounded suffer from torn rotator cuffs, tennis elbow, jogger's knees, bad backs, stiff necks, sore feet, and swollen ankles. It could, without exaggeration, be called a modem epidemic.  
    In this brilliant book, renowned anatomical functionalist Pete Egoscue identifies the epidemic's causes and effects. By recognizing that the human body is dependent on adequate motion to maintain its full range of physical functions, he has revolutionized both the treatment of musculoskeletal pain and the techniques for training athletes to achieve peak performance levels.  
    Brimming with common sense and practical advice, the heart of this important book consists of twenty-two easy-to-do, highly effective exercises that stretch, strengthen, and relax the body, allowing a return to proper alignment.
    Show book
  • Repacking Your Bags - Lighten Your Load for the Good Life - cover

    Repacking Your Bags - Lighten...

    Richard J. Leider, David A. Shapiro

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    NEW EDITION, REVISED AND UPDATED
    
    
    
    “Living in the place you belong, with the people you love, doing the right work, on purpose.” This is how Richard Leider and David Shapiro define “the good life.” Technological advances, economic shifts, and longer life spans mean most of us will need to repeatedly reimagine our lives. In this wise and practical guide, Leider and Shapiro help you weigh all that you’re carrying, leverage what helps you live well, and let go of those burdens that merely weigh you down. 
    
    
    
    This third edition has been thoroughly revised with new stories and practices to help you repack your four critical “bags” (place, relationship, work, and purpose); identify your gifts, passions, and values; and plan your journey, no matter where you are in life.
    Show book
  • A Joosr Guide to Thinking Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman - cover

    A Joosr Guide to Thinking Fast...

    Joosr

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    In today's fast-paced world, it's tough to find the time to read. But   with Joosr guides, you can get the key insights from bestselling   non-fiction titles in less than 20 minutes. Whether you want to gain  knowledge on the go or find the books you'll love, Joosr's brief and  accessible  eBook summaries fit into your life. Find out more at  joosr.com.
     
    Do you consider yourself to be a rational person who makes decisions based on reason and analysis. In fact, most of the decisions you make every day are intuitive. Gain insight into how you can utilize your brain's two systems of thinking in perfect coordination to make great decisions in your life.
     
     
     
    In this book, Daniel Kahneman explores the way in which our mind makes decisions and judgments. He describes the two contrasting processes that our mind follows when we think. The first intuitive "fast" thinking process that happens almost unconsciously and the "slow" second process where the thinking happens deliberately and consciously. Thinking, Fast and Slow gives you practical techniques for slower, smarter thinking, which will enable you to make better decisions in all aspects of your life.
     
     
     
    You will learn:
     
    ·      How your aversion to risk affects your decision making
     
    ·      Why the memories you make lead you to make bad decisions
     
    ·      Why you can't always trust your intuition.
    Show book
  • The Joy of Hygge - How to Bring Everyday Pleasure and Danish Coziness into Your Life - cover

    The Joy of Hygge - How to Bring...

    Jonny Jackson, Elias Larsen

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Hygge (pronounced “hoo-gah”) is a Danish word that describes the feeling of being cozy, comfortable, and at peace with the world. It’s almost impossible to translate to English, and it’s probably the reason that Denmark is one of the happiest countries in the world.According to the London Evening Standard, hygge takes us beyond mindful meditation and adult coloring books and introduces us to a comfortable, warm, relaxing lifestyle exemplified by those in Denmark.The Joy of Hygge is packed with recipes to warm you on a winter’s evening, craft ideas for decorating your home, and inspirational suggestions for enjoying the magic of everyday pleasures. Learn how to make your life more hyggelig by: 
    
    •	Creating a snuggly pair of hand-knitted socks
    •	Filling your house with more light and nature displays
    •	Building a cozy campfire for friends and family
    •	Taking advantage of picnics, bike rides, and woodland walks
    •	Appreciating the natural wonders that surround us every day
    •	And more!
    Remember—a little hygge brings a lot of happiness.
    Show book
  • Happiness Is 500 Ways to Be in the Moment - cover

    Happiness Is 500 Ways to Be in...

    Lisa Swerling, Ralph Lazar

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Mindful living is happy living. This refreshing book from the creators of Happiness Is . . . illustrates 500 inspiring ways to slow down, unplug, de-stress, connect with others, and relish the simple moments in life: sitting under a ceiling fan on a hot day, taking lunch away from your desk, letting go of negative thoughts, a beach yoga session, and more. Featuring the brand's signature charming illustration style and friendly tone, this book sparks positive reflection and serves to remind us that happiness is all around—and within.
    Show book
  • How Will You Measure Your Life? - cover

    How Will You Measure Your Life?

    Clayton M. Christensen, Karen...

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen’s How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader—student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child—forge their own paths to fulfillment.
    Show book