Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Garden of Cyrus - cover

The Garden of Cyrus

Thomas Browne

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Garden of Cyrus" by Thomas Browne. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.
Available since: 04/11/2021.
Print length: 50 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fear and Was It a Dream? - Stories: Classic Tales Edition - cover

    Fear and Was It a Dream? -...

    Guy de Maupassant

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Skeletons and corpses rise from their fitful sleep and share a haunting message from beyond the grave.
    Show book
  • When She Was Good - cover

    When She Was Good

    Philip Roth

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this mesmerizing, funny, chilling novel, the setting is a small town in the 1940s Midwest, the subject the heart of a wounded and ferociously moralistic young woman, one of those implacable American moralists whose "goodness" is a terrible disease. When she was still a child, Lucy Nelson had her alcoholic failure of a father thrown in jail. Ever since then she has been trying to reform the men around her, even if that ultimately means destroying herself in the process. With his unerring portraits of Lucy and her hapless, childlike husband, Roy, Roth has created an uncompromising work of fictional realism, a vision of provincial American piety, yearning, and discontent that is at once pitiless and compassionate.
    Show book
  • The Bundle of Letters - cover

    The Bundle of Letters

    Maurus Jokai

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mór Jókai (1825-1904), also known as Maurus Jokai, was a Hungarian dramatist and novelist.A celebrated doctor receives a visit from a new patient with a most peculiar ailment. He has an excruciatingly painful spot on his hand. But on examination, he can find nothing wrong with the patient at all. He assumes it is a psychosomatic illness, but the patient is insistant that the area of his hand be surgically removed. When the doctor declines this, the patient attempts to cut out the area himself, and the doctor is obliged to complete the operation after all.Apparently cured, and endlessly grateful, the patient leaves. But a few weeks later the condition has recurred, and the doctor must operate on the healthy hand again. A few weeks later, a letter arrives from the patient. The condition has recurred again... but this time the patient is unwilling to try to cure it through surgery again. He explains the background of his strange malady.... and a very peculiar and gripping tale it is....
    Show book
  • Indiscretions of Archie - cover

    Indiscretions of Archie

    P. G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Indiscretions of Archie is a 1921 comedic novel by the British master of the genre, P. G. Wodehouse. The novel tells the story of impoverished, embarrassment-prone Archibald "Archie" Moffam (pronounced "Moom") and his difficult relationship with his art-collecting, hotel-owning, millionaire father-in-law Daniel Brewster, who is the father of Archie's new bride Lucille. Archie's attempts to ingratiate himself with Brewster only get him further into trouble. The story takes place in New York City...
    Show book
  • The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man - cover

    The Autobiography of an...

    James Weldon Johnson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this classic novel from the Harlem Renaissance, a biracial musician living in the Jim Crow era chooses to pass as white and deals with the consequences. First published in 1912, The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man is the story of an unnamed, light-skinned, biracial narrator born in a small Georgia town during the years following the Civil War. He knows nothing about race—until he and his Black mother move to Connecticut and an episode at his school forces her to explain things to him. As the narrator grows up, he pursues a higher education and begins traveling to cities like New York and Paris. He develops desires and ambitions, but everything changes when he returns to the South and witnesses the lynching of a Black man. The horror of the scene persuades him to live as white, but this decision comes at a cost . . .The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man covered issues and themes not usually seen in the literature of its day. It offered a critical examination of race in society—as well as a look into Black society most white readers were unfamiliar with at the time. Today, the novel is just as moving as when it was originally published, an excellent choice for readers of Charles W. Chesnutt’s The House Behind the Cedars and Nella Larsen’s Passing.
    Show book
  • Golden Thread The - A Tale of Two Cities Book 2 (Unabridged) - cover

    Golden Thread The - A Tale of...

    Charles Dickens

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Book 2: The Golden Thread: A Tale of Two Cities is an 1859 historical novel by Charles Dickens, set in London and Paris before and during the French Revolution. The novel tells the story of the French Doctor Manette, his 18-year-long imprisonment in the Bastille in Paris and his release to live in London with his daughter Lucie, whom he had never met. The story is set against the conditions that led up to the French Revolution and the Reign of Terror.Dickens' best-known work of historical fiction, A Tale of Two Cities is regularly cited as the best-selling novel of all time. In 2003, the novel was ranked 63rd on the BBC's The Big Read poll. The novel has been adapted for film, television, radio, and the stage, and has continued to have an influence on popular culture.
    Show book