Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
First Catch - Study of a Spring Meal - cover

First Catch - Study of a Spring Meal

Thom Eagle

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

After many decades of celebrity chefs and restaurateurs dominating the conversation in food media, recent years have seen a major spike in interest in home cooking. First, Catch will appeal to readers who are comfortable in the kitchen and seeking to expand their repertoires and skill sets, as well as those who have been known to burn water. Thom Eagle’s writing recalls some of the most canonical writers in food: Anthony Bourdain’s humor, Bee Wilson’s knack for history, and M.F.K. Fisher’s ineffable style. We think First, Catch will appeal to readers of literary nature writing such as H Is for Hawk as well as readers who loved Blood, Bones & Butter, Consider the Fork, and foodies of all stripes. A celebration of food, that mixes history with memoir with nature writing with cooking technique, First, Catch can be thought of as a “cookbook without recipes.” It mimics the thought process behind an everyday meal that is meant to be shared joyfully with friends and family. Eagle stresses intuitive decision-making based on what exists on hand in an average kitchen: he isn’t interested in food trends, fashionable gadgets, or flashy ingredients. Rather, he uses cooking to go back to basics, achieving comfort and clarity in food that he is excited to share with others. First, Catch makes food science accessible. In the grand tradition of Michael Pollan’s bestselling food journalism and especially Samin Nosrat’s knock-out cookbook-turned-Netflix sensation Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, Thom Eagle is interested in how the raw ingredients of a dish work together and transform through various kinds of manipulation. (He’s also a strong believer in the proper—a.k.a. extensive—use of salt.) Food media and culture has entered a common parlance, rather than being restricted to the kitchen alone. The New York Times and the New Yorker both have rapidly developing cooking sections, with food media celebrities like Helen Rosner and Alison Roman churning out viral—and Instagrammable—recipes for home cooks almost every week, with thousands of rabid fans who will cook anything they hashtag. Eagle’s own easy literacy with Instagram and Twitter will help to introduce him to this ever-growing audience. We will do outreach to blurbers from both the literary and food worlds, including Jeanette Winterson, Robert McFarlane, Mark Bittman, Gabrielle Hamilton, J. Kenji López-Alt, among others.Includes beautiful illustrations running alongside the text; it is a perfect gift book. Eagle is a writer, chef, and fermenter currently based in East London. First, Catch was a runaway success in the UK, where it was won the Fortnum and Mason’s Debut Food Book Award, was shortlisted for the 2018 Andre Simon Food Book of the Year, and made several roundups of the year’s best food books, including BBC Radio 4, the Times, and the Financial Times.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Book of Beautiful Questions - The Powerful Questions That Will Help You Decide Create Connect and Lead - cover

    The Book of Beautiful Questions...

    Warren Berger

    • 5
    • 16
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of A More Beautiful Question, hundreds of big and small questions that harness the magic of inquiry to tackle challenges we all face--at work, in our relationships, and beyond. 
      
    When confronted with almost any demanding situation, the act of questioning can help guide us to smart decisions. By asking questions, we can analyze, learn, and move forward in the face of uncertainty. But "questionologist" Warren Berger says that the questions must be the right ones; the ones that cut to the heart of complexity or enable us to see an old problem in a fresh way. 
      
    In The Book of Beautiful Questions, Berger shares illuminating stories and compelling research on the power of inquiry. Drawn from the insights and expertise of psychologists, innovators, effective leaders, and some of the world's foremost creative thinkers, he presents the essential questions readers need to make the best choices when it truly counts, with a particular focus in four key areas: decision-making, creativity, leadership, and relationships. 
      
    The powerful questions in this book can help you: 
    -        Identify opportunities in your career or industry 
    -        Generate fresh ideas in business or in your own creative pursuits 
    -        Check your biases so you can make better judgments and decisions 
    -        Do a better job of communicating and connecting with the people around you 
      
    Thoughtful, provocative, and actionable, these beautiful questions can be applied immediately to bring about change in your work or your everyday life.
    Show book
  • Cybersexism - Sex Gender and Power on the Internet - cover

    Cybersexism - Sex Gender and...

    Laurie Penny

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    'The Internet was supposed to be for everyone... Millions found their voices in this brave new online world; it gave unheard masses the space to speak to each other without limits, across borders, both physical and social. It was supposed to liberate us from gender. But as more and more of our daily lives migrated on line, it seemed it did matter if you were a boy or a girl.' 
        
      It's a tough time to be a woman on the internet. Over the past two generations, the political map of human relations has been redrawn by feminism and by changes in technology. Together they pose questions about the nature and organisation of society that are deeply challenging to those in power, and in both cases, the backlash is on. In this brave new world, old-style sexism is making itself felt in new and frightening ways.   
        
      In Cybersexism, Laurie Penny goes to the dark heart of the matter and asks why threats of rape and violence are being used to try to silence female voices, analyses the structure of online misogyny, and makes a case for real freedom of speech – for everyone.  
     
     
    Laurie Penny's forthcoming book, Unspeakable Things: Sex, Lies and Revolution, will be published in 2014.
    Show book
  • Influence - How social media influencers are shaping our digital future - cover

    Influence - How social media...

    Sara McCorquodale

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Highly Commended by the 2020 Business Book Awards 
     
    Digital influencing is one of the most exciting and disruptive new media industries, forecast to be worth over £10bn by 2020. Influencers now dominate the digital world and, when it comes to growth, they are consistently outperforming traditional media and brand advertising. 
    Despite their prominence, digital influencers continue to be misunderstood and undervalued by many people, as those charged with incorporating the influencer space into their digital strategy rarely comprehend how this extremely powerful industry works. As one of the leading authorities on the influencer space, Sara McCorquodale demystifies exactly how it operates, as she interrogates the phenomenon, analyses its problems and forecasts its future.  
    Influence draws upon first-hand interviews with world-renowned influencers, providing an invaluable insight into the inner-workings of digital culture and how it can best be used as an effective marketing and branding platform. This compelling guide on how to effectively identify and utilise the power of influencers is a must-read for anyone who wants their business to succeed and prosper online.
    Show book
  • Of Privacy and Power - The Transatlantic Struggle over Freedom and Security - cover

    Of Privacy and Power - The...

    Henry Farrell, Abraham L. Newman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    How disputes over privacy and security have shaped the relationship between the European Union and the United States and what this means for the futureWe live in an interconnected world, where security problems like terrorism are spilling across borders, and globalized data networks and e-commerce platforms are reshaping the world economy. This means that states’ jurisdictions and rule systems clash. How have they negotiated their differences over freedom and security? Of Privacy and Power investigates how the European Union and United States, the two major regulatory systems in world politics, have regulated privacy and security, and how their agreements and disputes have reshaped the transatlantic relationship.The transatlantic struggle over freedom and security has usually been depicted as a clash between a peace-loving European Union and a belligerent United States. Henry Farrell and Abraham Newman demonstrate how this misses the point. The real dispute was between two transnational coalitions—one favoring security, the other liberty—whose struggles have reshaped the politics of surveillance, e-commerce, and privacy rights. Looking at three large security debates in the period since 9/11, involving Passenger Name Record data, the SWIFT financial messaging controversy, and Edward Snowden’s revelations, the authors examine how the powers of border-spanning coalitions have waxed and waned. Globalization has enabled new strategies of action, which security agencies, interior ministries, privacy NGOs, bureaucrats, and other actors exploit as circumstances dictate.The first serious study of how the politics of surveillance has been transformed, Of Privacy and Power offers a fresh view of the role of information and power in a world of economic interdependence.
    Show book
  • Skeletal System - Speedy Study Guides - cover

    Skeletal System - Speedy Study...

    Speedy Publishing

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Depending on your career options, the skeletal system can be a very crucial part of daily responsibilities at work. For example, one that studied sports or physical therapy will have to know everything about the body and its internal mechanisms in order to determine the best course of action in the case of injuries of any kind or accidents. It is not just doctors that need to know such things and in an ever increasing world of initiative and capitalism self-education can prove very helpful in moving on to new career options or simply knowing what to do in an emergency situation.
    Show book
  • STAFF REPORT Green Jobs: A Pathway to a Strong Middle Class - cover

    STAFF REPORT Green Jobs: A...

    Joe Biden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "STAFF REPORT Green Jobs: A Pathway to a Strong Middle Class" by Joe Biden. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.
    Show book