Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Little Visits with Great Americans - The True Stories and Life Lessons by Famous and Most Influential People of the Time (Vol 1&2) - cover

Little Visits with Great Americans - The True Stories and Life Lessons by Famous and Most Influential People of the Time (Vol 1&2)

Theodore Roosevelt, William Dean Howells, John Burroughs, Ella Wheeler Wilcox, James Whitcomb Riley, Frederic Remington, Goldwin Smith, Chauncey M. Depew, Andrew Carnegie, Helen Keller, Mrs. Burton Harrison, Russell H. Conwell, Jacob Gould Schurman, Samuel Jones, John Philip Sousa, Marshall P. Wilder, Thomas Alva Edison, Hiram Stevens Maxim, Hazen S. Pingree, Marshall Field, John Wanamaker, Sir Thomas Lipton, Darius Ogden Mills, Russell Sage, Lyman Judson Gage, Cornelius Vanderbilt, Robert C. Clowry, Herbert H. Vreeland, Samuel Gompers, Nelson A. Miles, Joseph H. Choate, Jonathan P. Dolliver, Thomas C. Platt, Tom L. Johnson, Edwin Markham, General Lew Wallace, Edwin Austin Abbey, Alice Barber Stephens, Homer Davenport, Charles Dana Gibson, Frederick Burr Opper, F. Wellington Ruckstuhl, Henry Merwin Shrady, Helen Miller Gould, Nathan Strauss, Frank W. Gunsaulus, Robert Collyer, Robert Laird Borden, S. N. Parent, Andrew G. Blair, James Loudon, Sir William C. Van Horne, Philip D. Armour, John B. Herreshoff, Lillian Nordica

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book features the life stories, told by themselves, of many successful men and women, with emphasis on those experiences which to them appear to have been the turning points in their lives. The leaders in invention, manufacture, transportation, commerce, finance, in political and public life, and in the professions of the ministry, the law, literature and art, were requested to bequeath in their own words the stories of their lives, their ideals, and the lessons of their experience, to the American public. Many and varied careers have been selected, so that each one may find his ideal of success fulfilled in real life, and be aroused to a lofty aspiration and resolute determination to achieve like eminence. While for the most part the experiences portrayed in this book occurred upon American soil, in several instances persons born or now living abroad, but prominently identified with American life, have been included.
Contents:
Hard Work, the Secret of a Great Inventor's Genius – Thomas Alva Edison
A "Down-East" Yankee Who Dictates Peace to the Nations – Hiram Stevens Maxim
A Poor Boy Who Once Borrowed Books Now Gives Away Libraries – Andrew Carnegie 
A Good Shoemaker Becomes Detroit's Best Mayor and Michigan's Greatest Governor – Hazen S. Pingree
Determination Not to Remain Poor Made a Farmer Boy Merchant Prince – Marshall Field
Honesty the Foundation of a Great Merchant's Career – John Wanamaker  
A British Boy Wins Fortune and Title by American Business Methods – Sir Thomas Lipton
A Self-made Man Who Strives to Give Others a Chance – Darius Ogden Mills 
Thrift, the Secret of a Fortune Built in a Single Lifetime – Russell Sage
Cut Out for a Banker, He Rose From Errand Boy to Secretary of the United States Treasury – Lyman Judson Gage 
A Young Millionaire Not Afraid to Work in Overalls – Cornelius Vanderbilt
A Messenger Boy's Zeal Lifts Him to the Head of the World's Greatest Telegraph System – Robert C. Clowry…

Other books that might interest you

  • The Anatomy of Fake News - A Critical News Literacy Education - cover

    The Anatomy of Fake News - A...

    Nolan Higdon

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Since the 2016 U.S. presidential election, concerns about fake news have fostered calls for government regulation and industry intervention to mitigate the influence of false content. These proposals are hindered by a lack of consensus concerning the definition of fake news or its origins. Media scholar Nolan Higdon contends that expanded access to critical media literacy education, grounded in a comprehensive history of fake news, is a more promising solution to these issues. The Anatomy of Fake News offers the first historical examination of fake news that takes as its goal the effective teaching of critical news literacy in the United States. Higdon employs a critical-historical media ecosystems approach to identify the producers, themes, purposes, and influences of fake news. The findings are then incorporated into an invaluable fake news detection kit. This much-needed resource provides a rich history and a promising set of pedagogical strategies for mitigating the pernicious influence of fake news.
    Show book
  • Nazi Sex Spies - True Stories of Seduction Subterfuge and State Secrets - cover

    Nazi Sex Spies - True Stories of...

    Al Cimino

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All is fair in love and war. At least the Nazis thought so. They deployed sex like any other weapon in the service of the Third Reich. Al Camino examines many shocking cases, where brothels were hotbeds of bugging and blackmail, and pillow talk could topple nations. Cases include: • The bugging of Salon Kitty, a high-class brothel in Berlin which was taken over by the SS. • Nazi spy Lilly Stein, a 'good-looking nymphomaniac' who slept with US men in order to blackmail them. • Princess Stephanie Julianne von Hohenlohe, who used her intimate relationship with Lord Rothermere to get the British newspaper Daily Mail to support the Nazis in the 1930s Full of intrigue and surprise, Nazi Sex Spies presents a fascinating history of a little-known aspect of World War II.
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • An I-Novel - cover

    An I-Novel

    Minae Mizumura

    • 2
    • 1
    • 1
    Minae Mizumura’s An I-Novel is a semi-autobiographical work that takes place over the course of a single day in the 1980s. Minae is a Japanese expatriate graduate student who has lived in the United States for two decades but turned her back on the English language and American culture. After a phone call from her older sister reminds her that it is the twentieth anniversary of their family’s arrival in New York, she spends the day reflecting in solitude and over the phone with her sister about their life in the United States, trying to break the news that she has decided to go back to Japan and become a writer in her mother tongue.Published in 1995, this formally daring novel radically broke with Japanese literary tradition. It liberally incorporated English words and phrases, and the entire text was printed horizontally, to be read from left to right, rather than vertically and from right to left. In a luminous meditation on how a person becomes a writer, Mizumura transforms the “I-novel,” a Japanese confessional genre that toys with fictionalization. An I-Novel tells the story of two sisters while taking up urgent questions of identity, race, and language. Above all, it considers what it means to write in the era of the hegemony of English—and what it means to be a writer of Japanese in particular. Juliet Winters Carpenter masterfully renders a novel that once appeared untranslatable into English.
    Show book
  • Bad Behavior - cover

    Bad Behavior

    Noire, Kiki Swinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NINE LIVESKIKI SWINSONWild-card Aiden. Dead-shot Ava. Efficient, fast, and brutal, this notorious brother-sister hit team grew up abused, unwanted—and in lethal tune with each other. Killing nine targets in ten days will be their biggest score yet. But as Ava sets up their final target, she falls hard for him and a chance at a normal life. And that's a betrayal she may not live to regret . . . THE CRUSHED ICE CLIQUENOIREAt first all ghetto princesses Honore and Cucci want is quick cash-flow. But after sexing jewelry distributor Slimy Sam and learning his illegal tricks of the trade, they assemble a crack team of thieves for one dazzling scam. Replacing diamonds with fakes and selling the reshaped real deal on the black market is making them crazy-rich. But when Sam double-crosses them, these diamond divas must survive to steal another day . . . “Treachery, betrayal, and revenge add to the twists and turns and lots of drama in this book. Loved it! Can’t wait until the sequel comes out.”—RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars on Kiki Swinson’s The Score “Noire has created one of the liveliest urban fiction series headed by a most memorable protagonist. Fans will get a hoot out of the biting insults and dark humor marking practically every page.”—Library Journal STARRED REVIEW on Noire’s Stone Cold Liar
    Show book