Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Trilogy of Desire - The Financier The Titan The Stoic - cover

Trilogy of Desire - The Financier The Titan The Stoic

Theodore Dreiser

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The saga of a Gilded Age mogul’s rise and fall, inspired by a real historical figure, from the author of An American Tragedy.   Inspired by the life of railway tycoon Charles Tyson Yerkes, these three novels weave a tale of American capitalism in the late nineteenth century. Included in this volume are:  The Financier: Ruthlessly ambitious businessman Frank Cowperwood finds his life derailed by the financial panic of 1873.  The Titan: Cowperwood leaves prison and heads to Chicago to regain his fortune—but his past follows close behind him.  The Stoic: In London, Cowperwood pursues the opportunity to make a fortune from a new underground railway system, while facing hard truths about the life he has lived and the fate that lies ahead.  Praise for the Trilogy of Desire   “An amazingly intricate description of high-rolling 19th-century finance.”—The Wall Street Journal
Available since: 10/16/2020.
Print length: 1426 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sister of the Sun - cover

    Sister of the Sun

    Clare Coleman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the second volume of the Ancient Tahiti series, years after she first landed on Tahiti, Tepua returns to her home island to care for her dying father—and discovers that home can change. She faces challenges both brutal and overwhelming as a band of foreigners ruins the mystical beauty of her island and unleashes the savagery at the heart of her homeland. But Tepua is possessed of a passion all her own—one that could lead her people to war and destruction, one over which only she can possibly hold control, as the fate of all her people rests in her hands. The Ancient Tahiti series, which continues with Child of the Dawn, is a must-read for fans of Jean M. Auel's The Clan of the Cave Bear, Linda Lay Shuler's She Who Remembers, and other novels set among pre-historic cultures.
    Show book
  • The Killing Time - cover

    The Killing Time

    Paul Lederer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An out-of-work lawman rides into the hills in search of a runaway killerBefore he draws his gun, Tom Dyce waits for John Bass to shoot first. He plugs the killer in the stomach but doesn’t fire again. A marshal’s deputy, Tom has never killed a man in cold blood . . . at least, not yet.The confrontation with Bass sours Tom on working for the marshal. Needing a change, he decides to return home to Thibido and the woman he loved long ago, Aurora Tyne. Before he leaves Rincon, the marshal offers him one last assignment: tracking a fugitive bank robber who has fled into the hills outside of Tom’s hometown. Though he wants nothing to do with bounty hunting, the reward isn’t the only thing that draws him to the chase. Aurora’s life is in danger, and saving her may require murder.
    Show book
  • When the Men Were Gone - A Novel - cover

    When the Men Were Gone - A Novel

    Marjorie Herrera Lewis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Marjorie Herrera Lewis's debut historical novel the inspiring true story of high school teacher Tylene Wilson—a woman who surprises everyone as she breaks with tradition to become the first high school football coach in Texas—comes to life. 
    Football is the heartbeat of Brownwood, Texas. Every Friday night for as long as assistant principal Tylene Wilson can remember, the entire town has gathered in the stands, cheering their boys on. Each September brings with it the hope of a good season and a sense of unity and optimism. 
    Now, the war has changed everything. Most of the Brownwood men over 18 and under 45 are off fighting, and in a small town the possibilities are limited. Could this mean a season without football? But no one counted on Tylene, who learned the game at her daddy's knee. She knows more about it than most men, so she does the unthinkable, convincing the school to let her take on the job of coach. 
    Faced with extreme opposition—by the press, the community, rival coaches, and referees and even the players themselves—Tylene remains resolute. And when her boys rally around her, she leads the team—and the town—to a Friday night and a subsequent season they will never forget. 
    Based on a true story, When the Men Were Gone is a powerful and vibrant novel of perseverance and personal courage.
    Show book
  • Train Dreams - A Novella - cover

    Train Dreams - A Novella

    Denis Johnson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Denis Johnson's Train Dreams is an epic in miniature, one of his most evocative and poignant fictions. 
    Robert Grainer is a day laborer in the American West at the start of the twentieth century—an ordinary man in extraordinary times. Buffeted by the loss of his family, Grainer struggles to make sense of this strange new world. As his story unfolds, we witness both his shocking personal defeats and the radical changes that transform America in his lifetime.  
    Suffused with the history and landscapes of the American West—its otherworldly flora and fauna, its rugged loggers and bridge builders—the new novella by the National Book Award-winning author of Tree of Smoke captures the disappearance of a distinctly American way of life.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • Jabberwocky - cover

    Jabberwocky

    Lewis Carroll

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox volunteers bring you 34 different recordings of Jabberwocky, by Lewis Carroll. This was the weekly poetry project for the week of January 21st, 2007.
    Show book
  • The Witch from the Sea - cover

    The Witch from the Sea

    Philippa Carr

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In Tudor England, a dark mystery threatens a marriage. “Carr is a master at creating and sustaining suspense . . . a story that will draw you in” (Regan Romance Review).  Linnet Pennlyon, proud daughter of a sea captain, finds herself in a vicious trap: Pregnancy has forced her to marry the cunning Squire Colum Casvellyn. Once their baby is born, she devotes herself to their son. Yet, little by little, against her will, Linnet finds herself drawn to her passionate, mercurial husband. Dark secrets lurk in their castle: The squire’s first wife died amid rumors of foul play. When a beautiful stranger washes up on the shore, Linnet suddenly finds she’s no longer in control of her family—or her life. It falls to Linnet’s daughter, Tamsyn, to uncover the truth about a long-ago night . . . and put to rest the rumors about her beloved mother. Her discovery sets in motion an unstoppable chain of events that will reverberate for decades to come.  
    Show book