Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Hidden Power of F*cking Up - cover

The Hidden Power of F*cking Up

The Try Guys, Keith Habersberger, Zach Kornfeld, Eugene Lee Yang, Ned Fulmer

Publisher: Dey Street Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
The Try Guys deliver their first book—an inspirational self-improvement guide that teaches you that the path to success is littered with humiliating detours, embarrassing mistakes, and unexpected failures. 
To be our best selves, we must become secure in our insecurities. In The Hidden Power of F*cking Up, The Try Guys - Keith, Ned, Zach, and Eugene - reveal their philosophy of trying: how to fully embrace fear, foolishness, and embarrassment in an effort to understand how we all get paralyzed by a fear of failure. They’ll share how four shy, nerdy kids have dealt with their most poignant life struggles by attacking them head-on and reveal their - ahem - sure-fail strategies for achieving success. 
But they’re not just here to talk; they’re actually going to put their advice to work. To demonstrate their unique self-improvement formula, they’ll each personally confront their deepest insecurities. A die-hard meat-lover goes vegan for the first time. A straight-laced father transforms into a fashionista. A perpetually single sidekick becomes the romantic lead. A child of divorce finally grows more intimate with his family. Through their insightful, emotional journeys and surprising, hilarious anecdotes, they’ll help you overcome your own self-doubt to become the best, most f*cked up version of yourself you can be!

Other books that might interest you

  • Influence - The Psychology of Persuasion - cover

    Influence - The Psychology of...

    Robert B. Cialdini

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    The widely adopted, now classic book on influence and persuasion—a major national and international bestseller with more than four million copies sold! 
    In this highly acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Dr. Robert B. Cialdini—the seminal expert in the field of influence and persuasion—explains the psychology of why people say yes and how to apply these principles ethically in business and everyday situations. 
    You’ll learn the six universal principles of influence and how to use them to become a skilled persuader—and, just as importantly, how to defend yourself against dishonest influence attempts:Reciprocation: The internal pull to repay what another person has provided us.Commitment and Consistency: Once we make a choice or take a stand, we work to behave consistently with that commitment in order to justify our decisions.Social Proof: When we are unsure, we look to similar others to provide us with the correct actions to take. And the more, people undertaking that action, the more we consider that action correct.Liking: The propensity to agree with people we like and, just as important, the propensity for others to agree with us, if we like them.Authority: We are more likely to say “yes” to others who are authorities, who carry greater knowledge, experience or expertise.Scarcity: We want more of what is less available or dwindling in availability. 
    Understanding and applying the six principles ethically is cost-free and deceptively easy. Backed by Dr. Cialdini’s 35 years of evidence-based, peer-reviewed scientific research—as well as by a three-year field study on what moves people to change behavior—Influence is a comprehensive guide to using these principles effectively to amplify your ability to change the behavior of others.
    Show book
  • Hushed Cries - Healing is Found in the Choices You Make - cover

    Hushed Cries - Healing is Found...

    Dorthea L. Hughes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    According to Child Help, at least five children die from abuse and neglect every day. The ones who survive walk away with an everlasting scar in their hearts. Dorthea L. Hughes’s honest, vulnerable, yet ultimately victorious memoir about surviving child sexual abuse will encourage others in similar situations, serve as a precautionary tale to keep them from going down the all-too- common path of self-destruction, and help those who care about young people recognize the warning signs and stop the abuse from continuing.
    Show book
  • When the Trust is Broken - Just When You Think Your Children are Safe Think Again - cover

    When the Trust is Broken - Just...

    Sharon Grace

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the story--a grandmother’s story--of the experiences and events that have shaped her life, including the sexual abuse of her four-year-old granddaughter in a daycare center. In these pages, the author will share her trials and tribulations and provide insight into overcoming life’s adversities, as well as what to do when the unthinkable comes out of nowhere. It is a personal, powerful, and agonizing story including a devastating fire, a flood, serious car accident, two failed marriages, a horrific family death, and the despicable acts of sexual abuse on her granddaughter, and the emotional impact it had on her family as well as the strength and forgiveness it took to overcome these challenges. Child sexual abuse is a violation of trust that can happen anywhere, anytime. Sex offenders do not pick and choose. Every child id a potential victim. "When the Trust is Broken" will not only educate the public but assist in recognizing some of the warning signs. Included are many success stories and many resources available to share. Everyone should have the tools and the power to protect their family. "When the Trust is Broken"  will take you through the day of sentencing and the prosecution of the perpetrator. "Children need to know it was never their fault but the fault of the sex offender". The convicted sex offender in this case is now serving 21 years.
    Show book
  • Intuitive Vision and Dreams - cover

    Intuitive Vision and Dreams

    Aggil Loupescou

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    You have dreams all your life some of which you never forgot because you believe or feel that they have been somehow important in your life. You are right. The same is the case with all people, across this planet and throughout all of its history, regardless of whether they confess to it or not, and that is the reason dreams have always been the focus of scientific research. It is not surprising that as we speak top scientists are studying the function of dreams and try to decode their messages. Researcher Aggil Loupescou did just that. This book will guide you into an exploration of the non-conscious part of your being and help you to understand who you really are. You will have a double gain: psychological balance and concordant development of the conscious and unconscious parts of yourselves, as well as positive energy to improve your life on a daily basis. It is worth reading it carefully.
    Show book
  • Conscious - A Brief Guide to the Fundamental Mystery of the Mind - cover

    Conscious - A Brief Guide to the...

    Annaka Harris

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    "If you’ve ever wondered how you have the capacity to wonder, some fascinating insights await you in these pages.” --Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Originals 
    As concise and enlightening as Seven Brief Lessons on Physics and Astrophysics for People in a Hurry, this mind-expanding dive into the mystery of consciousness is an illuminating meditation on the self, free will, and felt experience. 
    What is consciousness? How does it arise? And why does it exist? We take our experience of being in the world for granted. But the very existence of consciousness raises profound questions: Why would any collection of matter in the universe be conscious? How are we able to think about this? And why should we? 
    In this wonderfully accessible book, Annaka Harris guides us through the evolving definitions, philosophies, and scientific findings that probe our limited understanding of consciousness. Where does it reside, and what gives rise to it? Could it be an illusion, or a universal property of all matter? As we try to understand consciousness, we must grapple with how to define it and, in the age of artificial intelligence, who or what might possess it.  
    Conscious offers lively and challenging arguments that alter our ideas about consciousness—allowing us to think freely about it for ourselves, if indeed we can.
    Show book
  • A Year of Second Chances - A heartwarming emotional story perfect for summer reading - cover

    A Year of Second Chances - A...

    Kendra Smith

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Three women. Three very different lives. One life-changing adventure. 
     
    Charlie is a single mum unlucky in life. Her multiple jobs make barely enough to feed the family cat, never mind being able to give her son the life he deserves. So when an opportunity to make a lot of cash comes along, she simply has to take it. 
     
    Suzie has always wanted to be a mother. But fate has been cruel and now time is running out. Soon her final frozen egg will be destroyed and her last chance of having a baby will go with it. With her husband resolved to their childless life Suzie takes matters into her own hands. 
     
    Dawn is about to turn fifty and seems to have misplaced her mojo along with the car keys. But with an interfering mother-in-law and a gaggle of judgemental mums at her children's school, it's proving harder to find than a decent fitting bra. Especially after a series of highly embarrassing incidents... 
     
    Over the course of a year three lives are about to collide and as they do be prepared to laugh, cry and fall in love with these women as they discover how life can give you a second chance. 
     
    Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Paige Toon.
    Show book