Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fairy Tales - cover

Fairy Tales

The Brothers Grimm

Publisher: Sai ePublications

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

THE GOLDEN BIRD
 
A certain king had a beautiful garden, and in the garden stood a tree which bore golden apples. These apples were always counted, and about the time when they began to grow ripe it was found that every night one of them was gone. The king became very angry at this, and ordered the gardener to keep watch all night under the tree. The gardener set his eldest son to watch; but about twelve o'clock he fell asleep, and in the morning another of the apples was missing. Then the second son was ordered to watch; and at midnight he too fell asleep, and in the morning another apple was gone. Then the third son offered to keep watch; but the gardener at first would not let him, for fear some harm should come to him: however, at last he consented, and the young man laid himself under the tree to watch. As the clock struck twelve he heard a rustling noise in the air, and a bird came flying that was of pure gold; and as it was snapping at one of the apples with its beak, the gardener's son jumped up and shot an arrow at it. But the arrow did the bird no harm; only it dropped a golden feather from its tail, and then flew away. The golden feather was brought to the king in the morning, and all the council was called together. Everyone agreed that it was worth more than all the wealth of the kingdom: but the king said, 'One feather is of no use to me, I must have the whole bird.'
 
Then the gardener's eldest son set out and thought to find the golden bird very easily; and when he had gone but a little way, he came to a wood, and by the side of the wood he saw a fox sitting; so he took his bow and made ready to shoot at it. Then the fox said, 'Do not shoot me, for I will give you good counsel; I know what your business is, and that you want to find the golden bird. You will reach a village in the evening; and when you get there, you will see two inns opposite to each other, one of which is very pleasant and beautiful to look at: go not in there, but rest for the night in the other, though it may appear to you to be very poor and mean.' But the son thought to himself, 'What can such a beast as this know about the matter?' So he shot his arrow at the fox; but he missed it, and it set up its tail above its back and ran into the wood. Then he went his way, and in the evening came to the village where the two inns were; and in one of these were people singing, and dancing, and feasting; but the other looked very dirty, and poor. 'I should be very silly,' said he, 'if I went to that shabby house, and left this charming place'; so he went into the smart house, and ate and drank at his ease, and forgot the bird, and his country too.
 
Time passed on; and as the eldest son did not come back, and no tidings were heard of him, the second son set out, and the same thing happened to him. He met the fox, who gave him the good advice: but when he came to the two inns, his eldest brother was standing at the window where the merrymaking was, and called to him to come in; and he could not withstand the temptation, but went in, and forgot the golden bird and his country in the same manner.
 
Time passed on again, and the youngest son too wished to set out into the wide world to seek for the golden bird; but his father would not listen to it for a long while, for he was very fond of his son, and was afraid that some ill luck might happen to him also, and prevent his coming back. However, at last it was agreed he should go, for he would not rest at home; and as he came to the wood, he met the fox, and heard the same good counsel. But he was thankful to the fox, and did not attempt his life as his brothers had done; so the fox said, 'Sit upon my tail, and you will travel faster.' So he sat down, and the fox began to run, and away they went over stock and stone so quick that their hair whistled in the wind.
Available since: 01/14/2017.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Exiles - cover

    The Exiles

    Vivian Stuart

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    VOYAGE TO THE LAST FRONTIER...
    The first book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    They were transported from 1780s' England, packed like cattle in cargo compartments: scammers and prostitutes, thieves and murderers — doomed to build His Majesty's new colony in Captain Cook's anchorage in Botany Bay.
    It was a cruel fate even for the toughest of individuals but especially for 15-year-old Jenny Taggart, who was sentenced to lifelong exile for a crime she did not commit. Will there be a future for her in this unknown country, or will she succumb to a rough and brutal life?
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • The Prisoners - cover

    The Prisoners

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The second book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    Life in the new colony of Australia is tough — tough for those who are free and even tougher for the prisoners. Many succumb to disease and starvation. Many try to escape, but only few succeed, and those who fail are brutally punished.
    Yet some, including Jenny Taggart, are determined to make this savage land their own. She is betrayed in friendship and in love, but she never parts with her vision: a future as a free woman.
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • The Secrets of Greystone House - cover

    The Secrets of Greystone House

    Marcus Attwater

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When he was eleven years old, Jack Riley spent two golden months at Greystone House with Gwendolyn, Ian, Rory and Jamie. Seventeen years later his job as a newspaper reporter brings him back, to learn that it wasn't just the children who kept secrets that summer. Those days just before the war were not as idyllic as they seemed, and instead of writing about the discovery of an Iron Age treasure hoard, Riley finds himself reporting on a murder inquiry to which his own memories may hold the key.
    Show book
  • The Woman at Number 19 - A Nail-Biting Psychological Suspense - cover

    The Woman at Number 19 - A...

    J.A. Baker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of The Other Mother delivers a psychological thriller “fraught with uncertainty, possibility, and quiet menace” (AudioFile). 
     
    Esther lost her husband, Julian, and her children, Harriet and Dexter, in a car accident and is struggling with her grief. Spurred on by her own loneliness and a need to make amends for not being able to save her own children, Esther takes it upon herself to watch the woman who lives at number 19. But when unexplainable incidents begin to happen in Esther’s house, she begins to fear for her safety. Meanwhile, over at number 19, the woman’s behavior is becoming more explosive and unpredictable. As Esther starts to lose her grip on reality, her world begins to unravel. Just who is this strange woman at number 19? And why is Esther so obsessed with her? 
     
    “In every sense a true ‘page-turner’ . . . explores the darkness of the mentally unstable mind.” —Fictionophile 
     
    “An absolutely brilliant, unputdownable, cracker of a read! . . . J.A. Baker has constructed a novel that in parts is quite frighteningly believable as she delves into what it might be like to live inside a confused, muddled psyche.” —Jan’s Book Buzz 
     
    “Superbly written . . . J. A. Baker has created such creepily believable characters that I felt a shiver go down my spine each time I came across the characters in question.” —gingerbookgeek
    Show book
  • Hunt for the Enemy - cover

    Hunt for the Enemy

    Rob Sinclair

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    They’ve erased his past and wiped out his very existence—but Carl Logan isn’t finished yet . . . “A spectacular finale to the trilogy.” —Crime Book Junkie
    
     Logan—once an invaluable asset, now branded a traitor—has been framed for murder. His own firm, the secretive Joint Intelligence Agency, has labeled him a rogue operative after two decades of loyal service. The agency is tracking him down . . . and they’re not the only ones. 
    
    But there’s much more at stake than just Logan’s life. One by one, agents and informants from all sides, all allegiances, are dying. And Carl Logan is the only man who can put a stop to it, once and for all. The hunt is on.
    
    Praise for Rob Sinclair and Hunt for the Enemy
     “An excellent action thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope . . . A great series.” — Off the Shelf Book Reviews 
    “Fast paced and gripping . . . highly tense.” —Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews
    Show book
  • Clockwork Destiny - cover

    Clockwork Destiny

    Kevin J. Anderson, Neil Peart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The final volume in the New York Times–bestselling, award-winning steampunk trilogy by Kevin J. Anderson and legendary Rush drummer Neil Peart
    		 
    In Clockwork Angels and Clockwork Lives, readers met the optimistic young hero Owen Hardy, as well as the more reluctant adventurer Marinda Peake, in an amazing world of airships and alchemy, fantastic carnivals and lost cities. Now Owen Hardy, retired and content in his quiet, perfect life with the beautiful Francesca, is pulled into one last adventure with his eager grandson Alain. This final mission for the Watchmaker will take them up to the frozen lands of Ultima Thule and the ends of the Earth. Marinda Peake must undertake a mission of her own, not only to compile the true life story of the mysterious Watchmaker, but also to stop a deadly new group of anarchists.
    		 
    The Clockwork trilogy is based on the story and lyrics from the last album of musical titans Rush, with Anderson and Peart expanding the world, stories, and characters. The two developed the final novel in the trilogy in the last years of Peart’s life, and more than a year after his passing, Anderson returned to that unfinished project, with the full support of Peart’s wife, bringing Owen and Marinda’s stories to a satisfying and stirring conclusion.
    Show book