Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Witches Abroad - A Novel of Discworld - cover

Witches Abroad - A Novel of Discworld

Terry Pratchett

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Be careful what you wish for... 
Once upon a time there was a fairy godmother named Desiderata who had a good heart, a wise head, and poor planning skills—which unforunately left the Princess Emberella in the care of her other (not quite so good and wise) godmother when DEATH came for Desiderata. So now it's up to Magrat Garlick, Granny Weatherwax, and Nanny Ogg to hop on broomsticks and make for far-distant Genua to ensure the servant girl doesn't marry the Prince. 
But the road to Genua is bumpy, and along the way the trio of witches encounters the occasional vampire, werewolf, and falling house (well this is a fairy tale, after all). The trouble really begins once these reluctant foster-godmothers arrive in Genua and must outwit their power-hungry counterpart who'll stop at nothing to achieve a proper "happy ending"—even if it means destroying a kingdom.

Who read this book also read:

  • My Man Jeeves - cover

    My Man Jeeves

    P. G. Wodehouse, Sheba Blake

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    My Man Jeeves is a collection of short stories by P. G. Wodehouse. Of the eight stories in the collection, half feature the popular characters Jeeves and Bertie Wooster, while the others concern Reggie Pepper, an early prototype for Wooster.
    
    Although the book was not published in the United States, all the stories had appeared there, mostly in The Saturday Evening Post or Collier's Weekly, and in the Strand in the UK, prior to the publication of the UK book.
    
    Several appeared later in rewritten form in Carry on, Jeeves (1925), such as "Helping Freddie", which in its later incarnation was called "Fixing It for Freddie" and featured Jeeves and Wooster. The other Reggie Pepper stories were included in the U.S. version of The Man with Two Left Feet (1917).
    
    Jeeves and Wooster had first appeared in the short story "Extricating Young Gussie", which appeared in the Saturday Evening Post in 1915, and was included in The Man with Two Left Feet.
    Show book
  • Girl: Repurposed - cover

    Girl: Repurposed

    Meaghan Curley

    • 1
    • 10
    • 1
    Tranquila Obiit is smart enough to save a stranger’s life.  But when Tran’s salty, daytime-television-addicted grandmother tricks her into selling her soul to Hades, dodging near-death experiences becomes a daily ritual. 
    Now, as an employee of the Underworld, Tranquila seeks out her purpose in life while pet-sitting a three-headed dog that is hell-bent on destroying her.  
    She’s not alone.  None of the Gods are any better off: Hades is battling negative Hollywood stereotypes.  Persephone is trying to overcome her jealousy issues.  Most importantly, Hera is trying to gain control of a domain that isn’t hers.  Will their insanity be Tranquila’s demise? 
    Girl: Repurposed is a refreshing satire on the American Dream that’ll keep readers laughing all the way to the Underworld.
    Show book
  • Three Men Little Alvin and a Tonka Truck - cover

    Three Men Little Alvin and a...

    Angelin Sydney

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    Three Men, Little Alvin, and a Tonka Truck is an adorable caper of a story. It will tug at your heartstrings. 
    Little Alvin is a cute, blond-haired, blue-eyed boy who has the world at his feet. Though he could afford to buy all the toy stores in the world, his most prized possession is a Tonka Truck. 
    Little Alvin is a prince in the eyes of his minders. They love him dearly and are prepared to lay their lives down for him. 
    When an attempt to kidnap Little Alvin materialised one day, the three men in his life leap into action. 
    Will they come it out of their ordeal alive? 
    Show book
  • The Outcasts - A Novel - cover

    The Outcasts - A Novel

    Stephen Becker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An American engineer journeys to the tropics to build a bridge and reclaim his manhood in this brilliant tragicomedy written during the height of the Cold War Fleeing two bad marriages and the sneaking suspicion that failure is his destiny, Bernard Morrison boards a flight bound for a freshly liberated country in desperate need of infrastructure. When the plane finally touches down, the pilot has happy news: The airport and the capital are not under attack. So far, so good, thinks Morrison as he heads for the jungle.   The bridge he has been sent to build may be in the middle of nowhere, but the work requires discipline and fortitude—qualities long missing from Morrison’s routine—and his interactions with the native laborers and their bosses are refreshingly out of the ordinary. When he discovers a primitive tribe living near the construction site, Morrison revels in their freedom and lack of inhibition. He vows to protect the innocent tribespeople, not realizing that it’s too late—the bridge to the future has already been built.   Part farce, part tragedy, The Outcasts is a powerful morality tale in the tradition of Joseph Conrad and Graham Greene.
    Show book
  • Not My 45 President - cover

    Not My 45 President

    Robert James Brydges

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The work within this book is a creative expression of a basic disagreement of political philosophy. It was written as a means to question the government in power and hold them to account for their policies, choices and decisions which clearly do not represent the majority of the people in this country as reflected in the daily media coverage of current events.
    Show book
  • Best Ever Classroom Jokes - Because some of us never grow up - cover

    Best Ever Classroom Jokes -...

    Mike Haskins

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    What’s brown and sticky? A stick. Remember the jokes you told in the playground? The ones you annoyed your parents with for hours and hours? The ones you secretly still find hilarious? This book contains them all, and more. Clean enough for children but funny enough for adults, Best Ever Playground Jokes is packed full of the stupidest jokes ever told. What happens if you pass out after eating too much curry? You go into a korma. What’s red and bad for your teeth? A brick. Containing a mix of well-loved favourites and brand new, originally written jokes, this rib-tickling book is an essential read for big kids everywhere.
    Show book