Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents - cover

The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents

Terry Pratchett

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Carnegie Medal Winner * New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age * VOYA Best Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults * Book Sense Pick 
The Amazing Maurice runs the perfect Pied Piper scam. This streetwise alley cat knows the value of cold, hard cash and can talk his way into and out of anything. But when Maurice and his cohorts decide to con the town of Bad Blinitz, it will take more than fast talking to survive the danger that awaits. 
For this is a town where food is scarce and rats are hated, where cellars are lined with deadly traps, and where a terrifying evil lurks beneath the hunger-stricken streets.... 
Set in Terry Pratchett's beloved Discworld, this masterfully crafted, gripping read is both compelling and funny. When one of the world's most acclaimed fantasy writers turns a classic fairy tale on its head, no one will ever look at the Pied Piper—or rats—the same way again!

Who read this book also read:

  • The Crown of Dalemark - cover

    The Crown of Dalemark

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When this final book of Diana Wynne Jones's quartet of novels about the mythical kingdom of Dalemark was published in 1995, it earned the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature. 
    The Crown of Dalemark continues the adventures of Mitt after his flight from Holand as a fugitive accused of attempted murder. Since his arrival in the North of Dalemark, Mitt has become disillusioned. The North seems no more free than the South from which he came. And now he has been given an order to kill someone he doesn't even know, or else risk the lives of his friends. 
    Forced once more to flee, Mitt is joined by Moril, the quietly powerful musician, and Maewen, out of her time but mysteriously fated to play a part in their quest. For the evil powers of the mage Kankredin are re-assembling, and only the Adon's gifts-the ring, sword, and cup-can reunite Dalemark. 
    The Countess and Lord Keril send Mitt to kill a young woman Noreth Onesdaughter, who claims to know where the lost crown is hidden.
    Show book
  • Full Moon Kisses - cover

    Full Moon Kisses

    Ellen Schreiber

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    This enticing paranormal romance featuring werewolves and the popular girl who loves them is a great conclusion to the Full Moon series. 
    What will Celeste do now that both her heroic boyfriend, Brandon, and her popular ex-boyfriend, Nash, are werewolves? And someone wants to turn her into a werewolf, too. Life is complicated under Legend Run's full moon. 
    Perfect for fans of Ellen Schreiber's New York Times–bestselling Vampire Kisses series, or romantic werewolf stories like Nightshade by Andrea Cremer and Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater, Full Moon Kisses delivers danger, mystery, and undeniable romance.
    Show book
  • Hector fox and the giant quest - cover

    Hector fox and the giant quest

    Fastpencil Premiere

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hector Fox, Mo Marten, Charlie Chipmunk, Jeremiah Rabbit, and Lucy Skunk venture far from home to find a fairytale giant. Will they make a huge discovery? Find out in the first Hector Fox & Friends book!
    
    Astrid Sheckels, a native of the small farming town of Hatfield, Massachusetts, cannot remember a time when she was not telling or illustrating stories. Her illustrations are primarily done in watercolor. Starting with a storyboard, she creates countless sketches and pencil drawings in the process of developing the layout of the book. Astrid goes on location photo shoots to discover the right setting, and bases each of her illustrated characters on real people. Nic and Nellie is one of her most beloved books that she both wrote and illustrated. She also illustrated the award-winning titles The Scallop Christmas (2009) and The Fish House Door (2010), as well as Hope Somewhere in America (2012), Black Cloud (2012), and Tennessee Rose (2012). Astrid has won the Archibald MacLeish Prize for Art and the Medici Award in the Visual Arts. Astrid now lives in Greenfield, Massachusetts.
    Show book
  • Dorothy Must Die - cover

    Dorothy Must Die

    Danielle Paige

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling first book in a dark new series that reimagines the Oz saga, from debut author Danielle Paige. 
    I didn't ask for any of this. I didn't ask to be some kind of hero. But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado—taking you with it—you have no choice but to go along, you know? 
    Sure, I've read the books. I've seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little blue birds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can't be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There's still a road of yellow brick—but even that's crumbling. 
    What happened? Dorothy. They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe. 
    My name is Amy Gumm—and I'm the other girl from Kansas. I've been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I've been trained to fight. And I have a mission: Remove the Tin Woodman's heart. Steal the Scarecrow's brain. Take the Lion's courage. And—Dorothy must die.
    Show book
  • Vacations from Hell - cover

    Vacations from Hell

    Maureen Johnson, Sarah...

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Life's a beach . . . and then you're undead?  
    in this must-have collection, five of today's hottest writers—Libba Bray (A Great and Terrible Beauty), Cassandra Clare (City of Bones), Claudia Gray (Evernight), Maureen Johnson (13 Little Blue Envelopes), and Sarah Mlynowski (Bras & Broomsticks)—tell supernatural tales of vacations gone awry. Lost luggage is only mildly unpleasant compared to bunking with a witch who holds a grudge. And a sunburn might be embarrassing and painful, but it doesn't last as long as a curse. Of course, even in the most hellish of situations, love can thrive. . . .  
    From light and funny to dark and creepy, these stories have something for everyone. You definitely won't want to leave this collection at home!
    Show book
  • Doppelganger - cover

    Doppelganger

    David Stahler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Doppelgangers are monsters, hardwired for murder. 
    They are not supposed to have doubts, but this one does. He wishes he could be different. More human, maybe. But even that can't stop him from killing people so he can take their places and live their lives. He has to do it; it's who he is.  
    But when the doppelganger murders a small-town teenager, assumes his shape, and takes over his life, he's shocked by the world he steps into. Engulfed in a whirlwind of peer pressure, messy family dynamics, and a provocative relationship with a beautiful girl, he quickly learns that there's more than one way to be human, and many ways to be a monster. 
    Told in the tortured voice of a most extraordinary teen, this contemporary gothic romance brews a captivating combination of violence, desire, and atonement. Here is the story of a monster yearning for a human life.
    Show book