Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Silver Hand - cover

The Silver Hand

Terry Deary

Publisher: Bloomsbury Education

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. 
 
It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, young Aimee has just found out that her mother is part of a spy network working with the British. After reluctantly befriending Marius, a German boy who has been left behind by his countrymen, she must try to help him get back behind German lines while evading a traitor she has helped to discover. 
 
This page-turning adventure sheds new light on the First World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish. 
 
Book band: Dark Blue

Other books that might interest you

  • Ghost Stories to Tell in the Dark - cover

    Ghost Stories to Tell in the Dark

    Anthony Masters

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    The storm rages. They huddle closer round the flames as the wind howls in the night. 
     
    Another ghost story begins. But is the old house really deserted, or is something screaming in the darkness? Do you dare to find out?
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #12: The Penultimate Peril - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 6
    • 41
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Lemony Snicket returns with the last book before the last book of his bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events. Scream and run away before the secrets of the series are revealed! 
    Very little is known about Lemony Snicket and A Series of Unfortunate Events. What we do know is contained in the following brief list:The books have inexplicably sold millions and millions of copies worldwidePeople in more than 40 countries are consumed by consuming SnicketThe movie was as sad as the books, if not more soLike unrefrigerated butter and fungus, the popularity of these books keeps spreading 
    Even less is known about book the twelfth in this alarming phenomenon. What we do know is contained in the following brief list: In this book, things only get worseCount Olaf is still evilThe Baudelaire orphans do not win a contestThe title begins with the word ‘The’ 
    Sometimes, ignorance is bliss.
    Show book
  • Drawing Flowers - Create Beautiful Artwork with this Step-by-Step Guide - cover

    Drawing Flowers - Create...

    Peter Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Graceful, beautiful and subtle, flowers are among the most delightful of subjects for artists to draw. This fresh, accessible book is aimed at those who want to translate their love of the natural world into vivid, accurate illustrations. Drawing Flowers is packed with examples and exercises across the full floral range, from simple structures, such as tulips, to more complex configurations, such as sunflowers, and compositions involving groups of flowers.
     
    Illustrated throughout by award-winning botanical artist Jill Winch, the book offers clear, concise instruction in the techniques of flower drawing. It also gives advice on practical considerations such as how best to position flowers for drawing, how to prevent them wilting and how to use a microscope to understand their structure.
    Show book
  • Underdogs - cover

    Underdogs

    Chris Bonnello

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A near-future war novel, where teenagers who escaped an attack on their special school become the last hope of freeing the British people.
    Show book
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight - cover

    A Court of Frost and Starlight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Narrated by Feyre and Rhysand, this bridges the events in A Court of Wings and Ruin and the upcoming novels in the series.  
         
    Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve. Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #13: The End - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 3
    • 82
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Like an off-key violin concert, the Roman Empire, or food poisoning, all things must come to an end. Thankfully, this includes A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. The thirteenth and final installment in the groundbreaking series will answer readers' most burning questions: Will Count Olaf prevail? Will the Baudelaires survive? Will the series end happily? If there's nothing out there, what was that noise?  
    Then again, why trouble yourself with unfortunate resolutions? Avoid the thirteenth and final book of Lemony Snicket's international bestselling series and you'll never have to know what happens.
    Show book