Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Wild at Heart - Mustangs and the Young People Fighting to Save Them - cover

Wild at Heart - Mustangs and the Young People Fighting to Save Them

Terri Farley

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The author of the Phantom Stallion series presents a “gorgeously written, richly photographed and passionately argued” defense of America’s mustangs (Sy Montgomery, author of Kakapo Rescue).   Mustangs have thrived for thousands of generations. But now they are under attack from people who see them as pests. The lucky ones are adopted. Some are sent to long-term holding pens; more and more are sold for slaughter. But courageous young people are trying to stop the round-ups and the senseless killings. They are standing up to the government and big business to save these American icons. With eye witness accounts, cutting-edge science, and full-color photographs, Terri Farley and Melissa Farlow invite readers into the world of mustangs in all its beauty, and profile the people leading the charge to keep horses wild and free. Includes notes and sources, index, and glossary.   “Anyone who cares about wild horses should read this book. So should anyone who cares about how science is being abused to justify flawed management policies masquerading as ‘responsible conservation.’” —Dr. Ross MacPhee, curator, department of mammalogy, American Museum of Natural History   “Exceptionally eye-catching photography, and a final chapter on children and teens involved in the fight to save wild horses is particularly evocative and will surely usher in a new generation of activists.” —Booklist   “Fast-paced and factual, Wild at Heart weaves history, evolution, behavior, and first person accounts of North America’s native wild horses into a unique and highly entertaining book.” —Ginger Kathrens, Emmy Award–winning producer, cinematographer, and biographer of the wild stallion Cloud   “A sweeping introduction to the wild horses of the American West, their past, present, and possible future.” —Kirkus Reviews

Other books that might interest you

  • A Prince among Frogs - cover

    A Prince among Frogs

    E.D. Baker

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Princess Millie and her fiancé, Audun, are busy preparing for their wedding when trouble starts brewing in Greater Greensward. Millie's baby brother, Felix, has been kidnapped and is trapped in a swamp full of other frogs. With all the adults busy fixing problems elsewhere in the kingdom, it's up to Millie and Audun to find him-but they need all the help they can get to fight the family's oldest nemesis, the angry wizard Olebald. From the deep blue sea to the soaring skies, our two heroes will stop at nothing to get their families back together and banish all the troublemakers for good. 
     
    E. D. Baker brings out all our favorite characters for this funny and ferocious finale to Tales of the Frog Princess, the best-selling series that inspired Disney's The Princess and the Frog.
    Show book
  • My Life in Smiley (Book 3 in Smiley series) - Save Me! - cover

    My Life in Smiley (Book 3 in...

    Anne Kalicky

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Max is in trouble, SOS trouble, he's a prisoner in the middle of nowhere. His journal is the conclusive evidence that the next two weeks at summer camp are going to be absolutely miserable . . . or not! His parents signed him up to give him some “independence,” but all it’s given him so far is bug bites! It's super hot, he's got no video games, no salt and vinegar chips, and—worst of all—no friends. He even has to pretend to have fun and participate in activities! But despite all that, his roomies are cool, this girl Clara is kinda pretty, and he found a mysterious diary. . . . 
    Show book
  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely - cover

    A Curse So Dark and Lonely

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller! 
     
    "Has everything you'd want in a retelling of a classic fairy tale." - Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of A Spark of Light and Small Great Things 
     
    "Absolutely spellbinding." - Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary 
     
    In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast,  Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance  perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. 
     
    Fall in love, break the curse. 
     
    It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope. 
     
    Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world. 
     
    Break the curse, save the kingdom. 
     
    A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.
    Show book
  • More Than We Can Tell - cover

    More Than We Can Tell

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    * "Give to teens who enjoyed . . . The Perks of Being a Wallflower." - School Library Journal, starred review 
     
    New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer pens a new must-read story of two teens struggling under  the burden of secrets, and the love that sets them free. 
     
    With loving adoptive parents by his side, Rev Fletcher has managed to keep the demons of his past at bay. . . until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back. 
      
    Emma Blue's parents are constantly fighting, and her only escape is the computer game she built from scratch. But when a cruel online troll's harassment escalates, she not only loses confidence but starts to fear for her safety. 
     
     When Rev and Emma meet, they're both longing to lift the burden of their secrets. They connect instantly and deeply, promising to help each other no matter what. But soon Rev and Emma's secrets threaten to crush them, and they'll need more than a promise to find their way out.
    Show book
  • My Weird School #21: Ms Krup Cracks Me Up! - cover

    My Weird School #21: Ms Krup...

    Dan Gutman

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Something weird is going on! 
    A.J. thinks that nothing can possibly be as boring as a sleepover in the natural history museum. But anything can happen when Ms. Krup is in charge. The tour guide says that dinosaur skeletons come to life in the middle of the night. Is she right?
    Show book
  • Tower of Dawn - cover

    Tower of Dawn

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 10
    • 1
    In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire. 
     
    Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken. 
     
    His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica--the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them. 
     
    But what they discover in Antica will change them both--and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.
    Show book