Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Andrew Jackson - cover

Andrew Jackson

Teri Kanefield

Publisher: ABRAMS Books for Young Readers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This biography for young readers explores the life of the controversial seventh U.S. president, as well as his successes, failures, and legacy. 
 
  
 
Born in the Carolina backwoods, Andrew Jackson joined the American Revolutionary War at the age of thirteen. After a reckless youth of gunfights, gambling, and general mischief, he rose to national fame as the general who defeated the British in the Battle of New Orleans.  
 
  
 
Jackson ran for president as a political outsider, championing the interest of common farmers and frontiersmen.  Determined to take down the wealthy, well-educated East Coast “elites,” he pledged to destroy the national bank—which he believed was an engine of corruption serving the interest of bankers and industrialists.  A staunch nationalist, he sought to secure and expand the nation’s borders. Believing that “we the people” included white men only, he protected the practice of slavery, and opened new lands for white settlers by pushing the Native people westward. 
 
  
 
Jackson, a polarizing figure in his era, ignited a populist movement that remains a powerful force in our national politics.  
 
The book includes selections of Jackson’s writings, endnotes, a bibliography, and an index.  
 
“A concise profile that successfully reveals Jackson’s personal complexities and contradictions and his controversial legacy as a public figure.” —Kirkus Reviews
Available since: 03/13/2018.
Print length: 244 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • God's Good News Bible Storybook - cover

    God's Good News Bible Storybook

    Billy Graham

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Christianity is Good News. . . . When we open up the Bible it is Good News from cover to cover. It’s the Good News that God loves us.” —Billy GrahamNo one has brought the Good News to more people than the Reverend Billy Graham, and the people who admire him span all generations. This Bible storybook will be a timeless classic for parents and grandparents to give a new generation of children the Good News; to show them the way to the cross; and to help them begin a lifetime of following Christ.God’s Good News Bible Storybook is a collection of over 60 favorite Bible stories—including Noah, Joseph, Moses, David, Jesus, and the disciples—and each is equipped with a takeaway devotion from Rev. Graham. The takeaways will help children focus on God’s Word, apply it to their lives, and begin walking with God and sharing the Good News from an early age.
    Show book
  • 태양은 불덩어리 - cover

    태양은 불덩어리

    박진영

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Science fairy tales read by fairies. It reads science common sense as a story.
    Show book
  • Speak English! - cover

    Speak English!

    Linda Barr

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Isabel's uncle, Arturo, flies into Cincinnati from Mexico City to play violin with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and to visit Isabel's family. Throughout the visit, Isabel works hard to teach her uncle English, however, it seems difficult for him. Isabel feels like he isn't really trying to learn the language. When the day of his performance comes, Isabel is amazed and impressed to find out that he is the featured performer. Later Isabel asks him to give her a violin lesson. He agrees, and Isabel finds out what it is like to try to learn something that is difficult, just as learning English is for Arturo.
    Show book
  • Indy Car Racing - cover

    Indy Car Racing

    Lori Polydoros

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Indy car drivers use skill, speed, and the latest technology to blaze down the track. They race on tracks of all shapes and sizes and all around the world. Take a look at Indy race cars, how they work, and the races they compete in.
    Show book
  • Endling #3: The Only - cover

    Endling #3: The Only

    Katherine Applegate

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The thrilling conclusion to the epic middle grade fantasy trilogy from Katherine Applegate, the New York Times bestselling and Newbery Award-winning author of The One and Only Ivan (now a major motion picture!), The One and Only Bob, Wishtree, and Crenshaw!  
    In the beginning, Byx’s original quest was to discover if there were more of her kind, or if she was destined to become an endling—the last dairne alive. She did indeed find more dairnes, and along the way she also created allies among other creatures in her world, including humans, felivets, raptidons, and wobbyks.  
    But Byx and her new friends soon learned that it wasn’t just dairnes in jeopardy of extinction, but that everyone was at risk. With the world in unprecedented danger, Byx must rally creatures of all kinds to lead a revolution.  
    Katherine Applegate’s Endling series has so far earned a collective five starred reviews, and each of the prior books has debuted on the New York Times bestseller list. She once again delivers an action-packed middle grade fantasy with a unique setting, enthralling characters, and gripping adventure that is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.
    Show book
  • Sleep My Little One - cover

    Sleep My Little One

    Kim Mitzo Thompson, Karen Mitzo...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As night draws near, mom and baby share precious moments during bath time and bedtime. “Up the stairs and in the bath I’ll wash those little toes. Tickle your tummy as you splash, then, I’ll kiss your sweet, wet nose.” Bedtime is a special time for bonding and saying, “I love you.”  Rhyming words will make this a favorite for young children. This book is the perfect way to end a busy day.  Titles in the Bedtime Series include:  Sleep, My Little One, The Night-Night Song, I Love You More, It’s Night, Night Time, and I Thank God For You.
    Show book