Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Shadow of Ashland - cover

Shadow of Ashland

Terence M. Green

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

“THE BOOK YOU HAVE TO READ”–Entertainment Weekly"Things have to be settled, or they never go away."Only weeks before she dies in March, 1984, Leo Nolan’s mother shows her son a rose she says was just given to her by her brother, Jack, who disappeared 50 years earlier. After her death, letters from Jack begin to arrive at the family home. They are postmarked 1934. The final one is from Ashland, Kentucky.Leo heads to Ashland, to track down the source of the letters…. And to find out why they are arriving now, after 50 years.Time shifts. Time runs underground, then surfaces. It is 1934, and Leo experiences the Great Depression and the ghosts of the past as no one has in 50 years, in Ashland, where dreams die and are born again.“A love story, time travel epic, ghost story, labor history, road novel and a bank heist, all with the added touch of Steinbeckian metaphysics. For me it was the surprise of the year, a rich evocation of 1934 small-town Kentucky that winds up completely unpredictable.”–The Edmonton Journal, “Top Fiction Pick of the Year”“Green has devised a truly mysterious mystery, he writes with a real and rare sympathy for his characters.”–The Atlanta Constitution“A jewel of a novel”–Booklist“A deceptive novel, one that begins and ends simply yet is filled with extraordinary events…. SHADOW OF ASHLAND succeeds.”–The New York TimesWORLD FANTASY AWARD FINALIST 

Other books that might interest you

  • Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1 - cover

    Shadow Descendant - Descendants #1

    L.D. Hall

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A powerful witch, a centuries-old vampire, and a passion that can't be denied… 
     
    Naomi Feldman has never understood the strange energy that hums beneath her senses. But when she comes across an ancient artifact that seems to beckon to her, she may finally find the answers she's been seeking. 
     
    Alaric, a centuries-old vampire, lives a solitary life by choice. When he's assigned to protect Naomi, long dormant emotions stir to life. 
     
    Pursued by a dangerous enemy and battling their growing attraction, Naomi and Alaric follow the mystery of the artifact from the museums of Athens, the streets of London, towards a confrontation that will decide the fate of two worlds… 
     
    Fans of Charlaine Harris, Deborah Harkness, and Karen Marie Moning will love Shadow Descendant, the first book of a mesmerizing new paranormal romance series. Scroll up and grab your copy today! 
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 8
    • 25
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau's bed? He's not dessert—he's the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there's another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course it doesn't hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger's bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That's a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice - cover

    Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice

    Angela Roquet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    (Blood Vice Book Six) 
    Jenna Skye, the new Duchess Tempus of House Lilith, is losing her mind. After spending eight months holed up in the duke's manor with her new sire, the slightly nutty and ever moody Ursula, all she wants to do is to get out of the house. She'll take any excuse she can to ditch the princess's etiquette lessons and do something worthwhile with her time—even if it means visiting a fancy blood finishing school where one of Dante's potential scions has gone missing. 
    Jenna's sudden jealousy forces her to take a closer look at the conflicted feelings she has for Dante, and the guilt she still harbors over Roman Knight's fateful farewell. Of course, a house full of new residents, preparations for the upcoming All Hallows' Eve ball, and unsolved murders don't leave much time for introspection.
    Show book
  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Letters from the Dead - cover

    Letters from the Dead

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  
    Show book
  • Assassins and Victims - cover

    Assassins and Victims

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Campbell Armstrong’s chilling novel of suburban horror, something evil lurks in the garden behind an English boardinghouse Eric Billings is not a violent man—not really. It’s just that his temper sometimes gets the best of him. Eric has had fourteen apartments in the last two years. He isn’t sure why he keeps moving, but something always seems to go wrong. Take his latest residence, for instance. It’s a quiet room with a big window and a friendly landlady downstairs. But there’s a dog in the backyard that won’t stop barking at night. Eric is beginning to lose sleep, to miss work, to get angry. And when that happens, he can’t be sure what he’s going to do next.   A winner of a Scottish Arts Council Award, this chilling novel of suburban horror shows that evil can hide beneath even the most benign exteriors.
    Show book