Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Shadow of Ashland - cover

Shadow of Ashland

Terence M. Green

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

“THE BOOK YOU HAVE TO READ”–Entertainment Weekly"Things have to be settled, or they never go away."Only weeks before she dies in March, 1984, Leo Nolan’s mother shows her son a rose she says was just given to her by her brother, Jack, who disappeared 50 years earlier. After her death, letters from Jack begin to arrive at the family home. They are postmarked 1934. The final one is from Ashland, Kentucky.Leo heads to Ashland, to track down the source of the letters…. And to find out why they are arriving now, after 50 years.Time shifts. Time runs underground, then surfaces. It is 1934, and Leo experiences the Great Depression and the ghosts of the past as no one has in 50 years, in Ashland, where dreams die and are born again.“A love story, time travel epic, ghost story, labor history, road novel and a bank heist, all with the added touch of Steinbeckian metaphysics. For me it was the surprise of the year, a rich evocation of 1934 small-town Kentucky that winds up completely unpredictable.”–The Edmonton Journal, “Top Fiction Pick of the Year”“Green has devised a truly mysterious mystery, he writes with a real and rare sympathy for his characters.”–The Atlanta Constitution“A jewel of a novel”–Booklist“A deceptive novel, one that begins and ends simply yet is filled with extraordinary events…. SHADOW OF ASHLAND succeeds.”–The New York TimesWORLD FANTASY AWARD FINALIST 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Anne Boleyn - A Novel - cover

    Anne Boleyn - A Novel

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 1
    • 9
    • 1
    From the bestselling author of Elizabeth: The love story of Henry Tudor and his queen, the mother of one of Britain’s greatest monarchs. On a lovely midsummer afternoon, Henry Tudor rides to Hever Castle. There, he feasts his eyes on Anne Boleyn, who caught his roving attention at court a few months earlier. Anne is in no mood to receive her king. He has torn from her the one man she loved: Harry Percy, who was forced to marry another. But King Henry VIII is not a man who gives up—the thrill of the chase only excites him more. Yet the woman he desires so passionately is no fool. Educated at the French court, Anne vows that she will not share the fate of her naïve younger sister, Mary, who after bearing Henry a bastard son was cast away and married off to a country squire. No, Anne will settle for nothing less than the crown of England, even if Henry has to break with Rome in order to marry her.   Sixteenth-century history comes thrillingly alive in a novel that features a teeming canvas of iconic real-life characters: Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, the enemy Anne vows to destroy; Henry’s first wife, the proud and pious Queen Catherine of Aragon; and Thomas Cromwell, who engineers Anne’s downfall. From the halcyon early days of courtship to her imprisonment in the palace tower for treason, this is a tale of love, ambition, and the tragic destiny of Anne of the Thousand Days.
    Show book
  • Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER IN MAYFAIR, A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery, Book 2 by Marilyn Clay takes place in London. 
    Fresh from her terrifying fortnight at Morland Manor, eight-and-ten-year-old Miss Juliette Abbott and her friend Miss Cathleen Haworth are cataloguing Lady Carstairs' priceless artifacts in preparation to sell. But before they even approach the curiosity dealer, the handsome gentleman turns up dead! 
    With only two likely suspects and no funds to hire a Bow Street detective to investigate the crime, Juliette is left to unravel the mystery herself. Attempting to uncover who could have killed the kind gentleman, who made female hearts flutter and whom everyone declares was the most thoughtful man alive, keeps Juliette awake at night and on her toes each day. 
    Can Miss Abbott succeed without putting herself in jeopardy, or will the killer strike again before she sorts out the puzzle and brings the real killer to justice? 
    "Cleverly written with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing! The final twist surprised even me, a voracious reader of British cozy mysteries..." Elizabeth Morrison 
    “I LOVED it! Author Marilyn Clay has penned a refreshing read from a different perspective, not the same old, same old. Marilyn Clay’s Regency-set mysteries breathe new life into the genre! Well done!!!  -A. Hall. 
    "You won't be able to put this one down!" -Hailey Stanhope 
    Look for MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book 1 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series, Book 2, MURDER IN MAYFAIR and Book 3, MURDER IN MARGATE. Coming soon Book 4, MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 
    For more information visit the Marilyn Clay Author website.
    Show book
  • Original Death - A Mystery of Colonial America - cover

    Original Death - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite the raging war between French and British, Scottish exile Duncan McCallum has begun to settle into a new life on the fringes of colonial America, traveling the woodlands with his companion Conawago, even joining the old Indian on his quest to find the last surviving members of his tribe. But the joy they feel on reaching the little settlement of Christian Indians is shattered when they find its residents ritually murdered. As terrible as the deaths may be, Conawago perceives something even darker and more alarming: he is convinced they are a sign of a terrible crisis in the spiritworld which he must resolve.Trying to make sense of the murders, Duncan is accused by the British army of the crime. Escaping prison to follow the trail of evidence, he finds himself hounded by vengeful soldiers and stalked by Scottish rebels who are mysteriously trying to manipulate the war to their advantage. As he pieces together the puzzle of violence and deception he gradually realizes that it may not only be the lives of Duncan and his friends that hang in the balance, but the very survival of the native tribes. When he finally discovers the terrible truth, Duncan is forced to make a fateful choice between his beloved Highland clans and the woodland natives who have embraced and protected him.
    Show book
  • Danny - A Journey on the Oregon Trail - cover

    Danny - A Journey on the Oregon...

    R. S. Heller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the spring of 1867, the country is focused on rebuilding after the Civil War. As westward emigration begins once again, two thousand miles of desolation and dust, drenching rains and blazing sun, and life and death await those brave enough to tackle the Oregon Trail.
    
    Ian OFallon, a solitary scout with a mysterious past, arrives in St. Louis on the request of his boss, Captain Tom Williams, to investigate an Irish horse breeder who wants to join his wagon train to Oregon. But everything changes when he meets the breederthe beautiful widow, Danny Seabhac, who has a dream of starting a horse farm in Oregon. As the two become acquainted, Ian begins to fall in love with her. But there is one problem: Danny has her own secreta past that may have more to do with Ian than he realizes.
    
    Danny is a story of determination and perseverance, life and death, and beginnings and endings as a wagon train embarks on a dangerous journey on the Oregon Trail with two passengers about to realize their true destinies.
    Show book
  • Merlin at War - A DCI Frank Merlin Novel - cover

    Merlin at War - A DCI Frank...

    Mark Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    War rages across Europe. France is under the Nazi thumb. Britain has its back to the wall. In London, Scotland Yard detective Merlin investigates a series of disturbing events – a young girl killed in a botched abortion, a French emigré shot in a seedy Notting Hill flat, a mysterious letter written by a British officer, gunned down in Crete.
    
     
    With action spanning Buenos Aires, New York, Cairo and Occupied France, Merlin and his team are plunged into a dark world of espionage, murder, love and betrayal.
    Show book