The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly - cover

The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly

Ted Sanders

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.  
From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it? 
When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Devil's Race - cover

    Devil's Race

    Avi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ‘Sixteen-year-old John Proud discovers his family's dark secret'in 1854 an ancestral namesake confessed to being a demon.  Now John finds himself battling his ancestor who is trying to use John for an evil purpose.  Mounting suspense plus the sure draw of occult horror will keep readers turning the pages.' 'BL.  
      1985 Recommended Books for Reluctant Young Adult Readers (ALA) 2001 ALA Popular Paperback for YAs
    Show book
  • The 12th Candle - cover

    The 12th Candle

    Kim Tomsic

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Middle school meets magic in this hilarious and heartfelt novel about a girl whose life flips when she wishes on an enchanted candle—perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski and Wendy Mass.  
    Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage has been plagued by the Contrarium Curse that’s set her at odds with classmate Priscilla Petty. 
    Every time something goes right for Priscilla, it goes terribly, horribly wrong for Sage. And things always go well for Priscilla. 
    Sage blames the curse for all her middle school misery—from losing a friend to failing gym to gaining a reputation as the girl whose daddy’s in trouble. So when Sage is given a magical candle on her twelfth birthday, she seizes the chance to turn her luck around—with a wish to reverse the curse. 
    But when the consequences of her wish take a terrible turn, Sage has to team up with her worst enemy—before she’s doomed to a life of opposites forever. 
    Show book
  • The Distance Between Us - cover

    The Distance Between Us

    Kasie West

    • 11
    • 143
    • 0
    Money can't buy a good first impression. 
    Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom's porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise. Enter Xander Spence—he's tall, handsome, and oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and the fact that he seems to be one of the first people who actually gets her, she's smart enough to know his interest won't last. Because if there's one thing she's learned from her mother's warnings, it's that the rich have a short attention span. But just when Xander's loyalty and attentiveness are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn't a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she'd ever realized. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them?
    Show book
  • Darkness Rising - Daughters of Light - cover

    Darkness Rising - Daughters of...

    Mary Jennifer Payne

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    The Final Battle is coming. Are the Seers ready? 
     
    
    
    Sixteen-year-old twins Jasmine and Jade and the rest of the Seers are not only divided between Toronto and London, they’re  internationally wanted fugitives. While away in the Place-In-Between trying to return Solomon’s Ring, the girls become the prime suspects in a deadly terrorist attack in Toronto.  
     
    
    
    The Seers, their Protectors, and a handful of others know the truth: they are innocent, the world is dying, demons are around every corner, and the Darkness is taking over. As the only hope in the coming apocalyptic battle, the Seers will have to work together to save the world from the brink of destruction.
    Show book
  • Shadow - cover

    Shadow

    Mere Joyce

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Preston Craft is organizing a film festival for his school's film club. When one of the films goes missing two days before the festival begins, Preston is convinced it was stolen and is determined to get it back. The only indication of the theft is a suspicious shadow that Preston noticed right before he discovered the film was gone—but Preston is legally blind and no one quite believes him. However, not unlike the gritty private eyes in the classic black-and-white films he adores, Preston refuses to give up. Can he solve the mystery based on such a shady clue?
    Show book
  • The Earth My Butt and Other Big Round Things - cover

    The Earth My Butt and Other Big...

    Carolyn Mackler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Michael L. Printz Honor Book * An ALA Best Book for Young Adults * A YALSA Teens' Top Ten Book * An NYPL Book for the Teen Age 
     
    Carolyn Mackler's Printz Honor book--starring the unforgettably funny, body-conscious Virginia Shreves--returns in this 15th anniversary edition featuring text updates and never-before-seen material from the author. 
     
    Fifteen-year-old Virginia feels like a plus-sized black sheep in her family, especially next to her perfect big brother Byron. Not to mention her best friend has moved, leaving Virginia to navigate an awkward relationship with a boy alone. He might like her now . . . but she has her doubts about how he'll react if he ever looks under all her layers of clothes. 
      
     In order to survive, Virginia decides to follow a “Fat Girl Code of Conduct,” which works, until the unthinkable causes her family's façade to crumble. As her world spins out of orbit, she realizes that being true to herself might be the only way back.  
      
     Told in a perfect blend of humor and heart, this acclaimed Printz Honor winner resonates as much today as it did when it first published, and now features a new author foreword, text updates, and other bonus content.
    Show book