Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Sleep Tight Little Wolf – Dormi bene piccolo lupo Bilingual children's book (English – Italian) - cover

    Sleep Tight Little Wolf – Dormi...

    Ulrich Renz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bilingual children's book (age 2 and up), English – Italian
    Tim can't fall asleep. His little wolf is missing! Perhaps he forgot him outside? Tim heads out all alone into the night – and unexpectedly encounters some friends… 
    "Sleep Tight, Little Wolf" is a heart-warming bedtime story. It has been translated into more than 50 languages and is available as a bilingual edition in all conceivable combinations of these languages. 
    
    Libro per bambini bilinguale (da 2 anni), inglese – italiano
    Tim non riesce ad addormentarsi. Il suo piccolo lupo è sparito! Forse lo ha dimenticato fuori? Tim si  allontana tutto solo nella notte – e inaspettatamente riceve compagnia… 
    "Dormi bene, piccolo lupo" è un racconto della buona notte che scalda il cuore. È stato tradotto in oltre 50 lingue ed è disponibile in edizione bilingue in tutte le combinazioni possibili.
    Show book
  • At the Sign Of the Sugared Plum - cover

    At the Sign Of the Sugared Plum

    Mary Hooper

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'You be going to live in the city, Hannah?' Farmer Price asked, pushing his battered hat up over his forehead. 'Wouldn''t think you'd want to go there . . . Times like this, I would have thought your sister would try and keep you away.' Hannah is oblivious to Farmer Price's dark words, excited as she is about her first ever trip to London to help her sister in her shop 'The Sugared Plum', making sweetmeats for the gentry. Hannah does not however get the reception she expected from her sister Sarah. Instead of giving Hannah a hearty welcome, Sarah is horrified that Hannah did not get her message to stay away - the Plague is taking hold of London.  
    Based on much research, Mary Hooper tellingly conveys how the atmosphere in London changes from a disbelief that the Plague is anything serious, to the full-blown horror of the death carts and being locked up - in effect to die - if your house is suspected of infection.
    Show book
  • Holly - Rejacketed - cover

    Holly - Rejacketed

    Mary Hooper

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    'Holly. I hope you won't mind me buying you this. I think it's the sort of thing you'll like. Am I right? And I think it matches your eyes. This comes with best wishes from (and I know it's corny). A Friend.' And that was how it all started.  
     
    Holly starts receiving anonymous gifts at the café where she works. She can't believe it - how romantic can you get? But when Holly finds out the identity of her admirer she is in for a shock - her admirer is not a potential boyfriend: her admirer is her father. Holly has to come to terms with the fact that her father is not the man who lives at home with her, who she loves and calls her father. Her father is a man who has lived all her life on the other side of the world, not even knowing of her existence. Holly and her mother have some talking to do.  
     
    Mary Hooper tackles this emotionally fraught situation with tenderness and compassion, yet still with her trademark pacy readability that has proved so popular with the young teen girls' market.
    Show book
  • Amy - Rejacketed - cover

    Amy - Rejacketed

    Mary Hooper

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'It all started after I fell out with Louise and Bethany, really. It was falling out with them that made me try to find friends somewhere else, and the Internet seemed a good place to look . . .'  
     
    Amy is a level-headed sort of girl, certainly not one to get into dangerous situations. But when the new term starts she does find herself without her usual gang of friends. And so she turns to the Internet and meets a very sexy guy who calls himself Zed. It's not long before he is asking her to meet him . . . Even the level-headed Amy cannot in the end resist this invitation. 
     
    In Mary Hooper's classically accessible and unpreachy way, she tackles responsibly the potential danger of the Internet and the use of 'date-rape' drugs.
    Show book
  • Mystery of the Ballerina Ghost (Pack-n-Go Girls Adventures - Austria 1) - cover

    Mystery of the Ballerina Ghost...

    Janelle Diller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to Austria!
    Nine-year-old Brooke Mason has lived all her life on a ranch in the Colorado Rockies. Now she's headed to Austria with her mom. Brooke can't wait! They even get to stay in Schloss Mueller, an ancient Austrian castle. Even better? There's a girl Brooke's age to play with! Eva, the girl who lives in Schloss Mueller, is thrilled to meet Brooke. Unfortunately, the castle's ghost isn't quite so happy. 
    A 2014 Moonbeam Children's Book Award Winner - Best Chapter Book Series 
    About Pack-n-Go Girls
    Designed by girls for girls who love to play and travel, Pack-n-Go Girls engages the imagination of children ages 6-9 by introducing them to different countries around the world. Pack-n-Go Girls early chapter book adventures are packed with spooky mysteries, international friendships, and lots of fun and easy multicultural learning. Check out the Pack-n-Go Girls website for more learning fun and FREE learning activities: www.packngogirls.com
    Show book
  • Bloodsworn - The Sherwood Wolves #4 - cover

    Bloodsworn - The Sherwood Wolves #4

    Jody Morse, Jayme Morse

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    I remember nothing about the night I turned into a wolf. 
    I don’t know what I did or who I might have hurt. I think I may have even killed someone, but that’s the least of my worries right now. 
    The Sherwood pack is leaving Cedar Falls soon. The idea of being away from Jax scares me. 
    More obstacles keep getting in our way. The odds of surviving this life, let alone this relationship, seem slim. 
    Jax and I shouldn’t be together, but the problem is that it’s even riskier for us to be apart. Our bodies won’t survive being away from each other for too long. 
    Love isn’t supposed to be this dangerous. 
    Then again, I had known from the beginning that being with Jax Sherwood was a risk and I’d chosen him, anyway.
    Show book