Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Who read this book also read:

  • How To Draw Anime - How to Draw - cover

    How To Draw Anime - How to Draw

    Peter Childs

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Easy Step by Step Book for Kids To Draw Anime Manga Cartoon Characters. 
    The "How To Draw Anime " guide will enable your child to communicate with the outside world with visual intelligence. They will learn to express their feelings, emotions and wants more efficiently. 
    Peter Child's " How To Draw Anime " will help your children develop important cognitive skill . They will learn to express their emotions by drawing cartoon characters of anime manga that they see in the TV . This will teach them how to become a better artist. 
    This book in targeted towards young aspiring artists seeking to develop their technical and drawing skills and build a repertoire of skills. 
    Gradually your children will learn to express their feeling towards their family, friends and loved ones. They will start to correlate them with anime characters in a funny and constructive manner. 
    With time , your children will build confidence in drawing . At the same time they will be confident to recognize common cartoon characters and reproduce those using a pencil and a piece of paper. 
    If you are looking for a drawing book to guide your kids through step by step, you got it! This book is simple at the same time challenging. Simplicity will mean that your children will enjoy their work. Challenging will mean that they won't get bored . They will progress higher by going through the steps. 
    Even the youngest artists can learn how to draw anime step by step from basic shapes such as circles and ellipses. This book shows 33 anime manga cartoon heroes, heroines and villains drawn step by step. 
    Benefits of the book: 
    "How To Draw Anime" by Peter Childs will help your children with-Communication skills.Memory and recognition skillsHand-Eye co-ordinationsEarly art conceptPride is drawingUnderstanding of the worldMotivation and patienceColor vocabulary 
    Don’t let your child fall behind. This isn’t necessarily about the quality of their current artwork, it is about their ability to communicate with their surroundings.  
    Order this book and you will see how the simple process of improving your child’s ability to draw common cartoon characters will translate into an improved ability to connect with the world. 
    Show book
  • The Silly Book of Side-Splitting Stuff - cover

    The Silly Book of Side-Splitting...

    Andy Seed

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    This laugh-out-loud book is bursting with lists, facts, jokes and funny true stories all about silly people, silly animals, silly inventions, silly names and much more. Discover The Great Stink, the man who ate a bike, a girl really called Lorna Mower and a sofa that can do 101mph. 
      
    Find out about famous pranks, crazy festivals, nutty cats, gross foods, epic sports fails, ludicrously silly words and really rubbish predictions. There are even lots of great silly things to do. Unmissable!
    Show book
  • The Terror of the Southlands - cover

    The Terror of the Southlands

    Caroline Carlson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    More pirates, more magic, and more adventure in the second book of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series! Caroline Carlson brings the unceasing wit, humor, and fun of the first book in the series, Magic Marks the Spot, to this epic sequel. Fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society will love this quirky tween series and hope to join the VNHLP just like Hilary! 
    Hilary Westfield is now a bona fide pirate, but when her daring, her magical know-how, and even her gargoyle don’t convince the VNHLP that she’s worthy of her title, the Terror of the Southlands, she sets off with her crew on a High Seas adventure. But then Miss Pimm disappears and Hilary decides to find the missing Enchantress and protect the magic of Augusta.
    Show book
  • Aunt Maria - cover

    Aunt Maria

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Cranbury-on-Sea Aunt Maria rules with a rod of sweetness far tougher than iron and deadlier than poison. Strange and awful things keep happening in Cranbury. Why are all the men apparently gray-suited zombies? Why do all the children—if you ever see them—behave like clones? And what has happened to Mig's brother, Chris? Could gentle, civilized Aunt Maria, with her talk and daily tea parties, possibly have anything to do with it? 
    Diana Wynne Jones once again has created a fantastic, magical world. Her brilliant storytelling and wonderful sense of humor totally involve the reader in the lives of a lovable young heroine and a villainess readers will love to hate.
    Show book
  • There Was a Crooked Man - cover

    There Was a Crooked Man

    Russell Punter, David Semple

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The crooked man has a crooked house and a crooked cat. Now he wants a crooked fish for his supper. But where has it gone? Simply written in lively, flowing text Usborne First Reading books are designed to capture the imagination and build the confidence of beginner readers. This book includes audio, simple comprehension puzzles and downloadable worksheets and teacher’s notes."For every parent, child and teacher weary of the monotony of the average reading scheme, Usborne’s First Reading series will offer rays of sunlight. The books are carefully levelled and offer a huge variety of accessible and fun, fiction and non-fiction." - Tamara Linke (Proprietor, Tales on Moon Lane Bookshop)
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 4
    • 35
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing? 
    It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."
    Show book