Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Warriors: Dovewing's Silence - cover

    Warriors: Dovewing's Silence

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this digital original novella from the world of Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series, discover what happened to Dovewing after the events of the fourth Warriors arc, Omen of the Stars. 
    The Dark Forest has been defeated—but Dovewing's powers are gone. Will she able to adjust to life as an ordinary warrior? 
    Warriors: Dovewing's Silence also includes a teaser to Warriors Super Edition: Bramblestar's Storm.
    Show book
  • New Whitby - The Blood Dynasty Chronicles #5 - cover

    New Whitby - The Blood Dynasty...

    David L. Dawson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Part 5 of "The Blood Dynasty Chronicles", a new serial for young adults based on the legend of Sleeping Beauty, only with added vampires and dystopian futures! 
    America had been renamed New Whitby by the vampires.  It is a land of rich aristocratic vampires and massive human slave breeding camps.  It's also where Ashlyn's cousin Sara lives.  What will Ashlyn make of her new vampire cousin?  Meanwhile, Union Jack is on a mission of his own.  He must rescue some recently escaped slaves and take them to safety.  But is there a traitor waiting to destroy everything he's built?
    Show book
  • The Ghost of the Trenches and other stories - cover

    The Ghost of the Trenches and...

    Helen Watts, Taffy Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As the Great War raged, and in its aftermath, people created hundreds of legends and stories round it, to speak of the sadness, the heroism, the deaths. Author Helen Watts and storyteller Taffy Thomas bring together this compelling, moving collection of ghost stories and mysteries from both sides of the conflict, from the haunted U-boat to the ghost of the trenches.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #3: The Wide Window - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 4
    • 41
    • 0
    NOWA NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Dear Reader, 
    If you have not read anything about the Baudelaire orphans, then before you read even one more sentence, you should know this: Violet, Klaus, and Sunny are kindhearted and quick-witted, but their lives, I am sorry to say, are filled with bad luck and misery. All of the stories about these three children are unhappy and wretched, and this one may be the worst of them all.If you haven't got the stomach for a story that includes a hurricane, a signalling device, hungry leeches, cold cucumber soup, a horrible villain, and a doll named Pretty Penny, then this book will probably fill you with despair.I will continue to record these tragic tales, for that is what I do. You, however, should decide for yourself whether you can possibly endure this miserable story. 
    With all due respect, 
    Lemony Snicket
    Show book
  • My Favorite Mistake - An A Circuit Novel - cover

    My Favorite Mistake - An A...

    Georgina Bloomberg, Catherine Hapka

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Tommi, Kate, and Zara are well established in the world of elite horse showing. But being a pro in your sport doesn't mean you're a pro in your social life. 
    Tommi, the billionaire heiress, is training a young horse to prove to her father that she can make horses a real career. But when her new beau, Alex, convinces her to skip a horse show in order to party in the Hamptons, the results could be disastrous. Meanwhile, Zara, the celebutante wild child is finally taking her riding seriously. Until the new "nanny" her dad hires while he's touring in Europe threatens to upstage Zara's party girl status. And then there's Kate. She doesn't have money to burn like the other girls, but she does have Fitz, the barn's resident hot guy. But Kate's perfectionist tendencies threaten to get in the way of her relationship and her riding when her friends suspect she has an eating disorder.  
    The parties are hot, the riding is intensely competitive, and the social drama spills from the parties right into the show ring.
    Show book
  • Warriors: Mapleshade's Vengeance - cover

    Warriors: Mapleshade's Vengeance

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this novella from the world of Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series, discover the sinister past of one of the most treacherous cats in the Dark Forest, leading up to the events of Warriors Super Edition: Crookedstar’s Promise. 
    Long before she troubled the dreams of Crookedstar or Tigerclaw, Mapleshade was a warrior of ThunderClan. But then the Clans cast her out as a traitor—and she vowed to seek her revenge…. 
    Warriors: Mapleshade's Vengeance also includes a teaser to Warriors Super Edition: Crookedstar's Promise.
    Show book