Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Who read this book also read:

  • The Sound of Us - cover

    The Sound of Us

    Ashley Poston

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    America's favorite pop band, Roman Holiday, is done, dead, and so totally last year. For eighteen-year-old rockoholic Junie Baltimore, this is music to her ears. But when she discovers their sexy ex-lead singer hiding out on the boardwalk, her summer vacation becomes the cover story of the year. 
     
    She's willing to keep him a secret, but when a sleazy paparazzo offers her the cash she needs to save the bar her father left behind, could she sell out for the chance to save her future? Who is she kidding? That's a no-brainer...but she never planned on falling head over heels for the lead singer.
    Show book
  • Lost Island - cover

    Lost Island

    Steve Brezenoff

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two boys wreck their boat on a creepy island and it seems to hold mysteries.
    Show book
  • Growing Up for Girls - cover

    Growing Up for Girls

    Felicity Brooks

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A straight-talking book explaining puberty and the emotional, psychological and physical changes girls go through. Covers everything girls want to find out about, including moods and feelings, periods, what happens to boys, diet, eating disorders, exercise, body image, sex and relationships, contraception, self-confidence, drink and drugs, exam stress, and cyberbullying.
    Show book
  • A Night Time Story - cover

    A Night Time Story

    Roberto Aliaga

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This tale visits the magic moment, when all of the things we imagine, all of the things we dream, parade before our eyes…Guided Reading Level: L, Lexile Level: 790L
    Show book
  • The Girls' Book of Spells - Release your inner magic! - cover

    The Girls' Book of Spells -...

    Rachel ELLIOTT

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Girls' Book of Spells is a brilliant, bewitching guide for girls who want to release their natural magic and hidden talents!
    Inside you'll find: 
    - Tips on how to become a superb sorceress
    - Spells for you, your friends, school, luck and love!
    - A guide to spell materials and supplies
    How to write your own magical spells
    ... and much more! 
    This book is a must-have for every girl who's ready to release her inner magic and live a charmed life!
    Show book
  • Wait! He's Real? - cover

    Wait! He's Real?

    Maili McBride

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Avery Quinn never dated much in high school, so her friends challenged her to find a boyfriend by the start of her senior year.She failed.To save face, Avery creates a boyfriend, Garrett Cross, on Facebook.  Her friends are satisfied, and all of the fuss about a boyfriend dies  down—until she finds out that her imaginary boyfriend is real and moving  to her hometown!Life becomes even more complicated when her best friend, Jace  Michaels, confesses his love for her, and she finds herself in a  downward spiral of lies, intrigue, and heartbreak. Will Avery and Garret  find love, or is Jace truly the man of her dreams?Maili Anne McBride is a nineteen-year-old college student who became a  hit sensation on Wattpad with Wait! He’s Real? Maili loves to read,  loves the color red, and loves living in Southern California with her  pet lovebird, Sunny.
    Show book