Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Discover London - Level 3 Reader - cover

    Discover London - Level 3 Reader

    Juliana O'Neill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Discover London in this Beginning Reader   Would you like to visit London? England's capital city is filled with interesting landmarks. Beginning readers will learn all about London in this short, leveled reader.  
     Here is an example of the text level:  Big Ben is the name of the bell inside this famous bell tower. It was once named the Clock Tower but was renamed the Elizabeth Tower in 2012. However, most people still call the tower Big Ben.  
     Discover Reading series books from Xist Publishing are created with digital and print reading in mind. Each page features a photograph with descriptive text leveled for early readers.
    Show book
  • Hooray for Daddy - cover

    Hooray for Daddy

    Beatrice Masini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three Cheers for Daddy!   Celebrate dads in this beautiful book from Beatrice Masini and Guilia Zaffaroni! In this sweet story narrated by a young boy, the child shares everything he loves about his dad. From second breakfast at the bakery to sleepy storytime, a boy and his father share a genuine love for spending time together. Delightful illustrations punctuate a child's insights into his father and dads everywhere.  Hooray for Daddy makes an excellent Father's Day (or any day) story to share with children and their daddies.  
     Part of the Hooray for Family series, this book was originally published in Italy. Featuring charming insights about Mommies, Daddies, Grandmas and Grandpas, each of the Hooray for Family books celebrates families in a delightful way.  Xist Publishing is proud to present the Hooray for Family books in their first English publication editions. By bringing beloved stories from diverse cultures to new audiences, Xist Publishing celebrates childhood in all its beautiful forms. We hope your children will enjoy these stories and discover a lifetime love of reading and love for all the people and creatures of the world.
    Show book
  • Araminta Spook: Gargoyle Hall - cover

    Araminta Spook: Gargoyle Hall

    Angie Sage

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Araminta throws cold water over her best friend, Wanda, to disperse a crowd of panicked bats, it's decided Araminta has been 'helpful' one too many times, and she is packed off to boarding school. On arrival, Araminta is surprised to discover that Gargoyle Hall makes her home, Spook House, seems positively cosy. Strange moans and clanks echo down the corridors and the two head girls are equally creepy. Most of the other pupils have been scared away, but Araminta senses that something – or someone – is behind the menace. 
     
    With the help of best friend Wanda and Uncle Drac's prize bat, she is going to do something about it!
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • Out of Bounds - cover

    Out of Bounds

    Lauren Blakely

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    The first rule of football--don't screw with a streak. 
      
     My career is finally looking up, and I'm leading a new pro team down the field every Sunday. No way will I mess with that. But when I meet the most stunning and captivating woman I've ever seen, I tell myself one night will have to be enough.   
      
     But it's not. And now I can't get her out of my mind. Even when I'm playing. Even when I need to focus. Even when I'm on the hottest streak of my life.  
     
    And it turns out, she's not just some random woman I met. She works for the team. My team. 
      
     *** 
     
    I only have one goal this season--do my part as the team's lawyer to keep them out of trouble. Help rebuild their reputation on and off the field. There's no room for error and certainly no room for a secret tryst with a player . . . even if he's the quarterback. 
      
     Right?
    Show book
  • Discover Sewing - Level 2 Reader - cover

    Discover Sewing - Level 2 Reader

    Katrina Streza

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Discover Reading Early Reader  
     Let's Sew and get Crafty!  Read all about dewing in this Discover Reading Beginning Reader. Children who would love to learn to sew or are interested in fabric and other craft materials will learn all about sewing in this book. Crafty kids will learn all about the art of sewing and the different tools required to sew their own project. Simple sentences for elearly elementary students provide a basic understanding of needles, thread, thimbles and more.
    Show book