Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Saving Maverick - cover

    Saving Maverick

    Debra Elise

    • 3
    • 2
    • 0
    STRIKE ONE 
         Days before the biggest game of playboy pitcher Maverick Jansen's career, his brother is killed in a horrific car accident. Determined not to let his teammates down, Mav pushes through his grief only to lose control of his signature pitch-and the series.   
     
    STRIKE TWO 
         Still dealing with the backlash of his once adoring fans, Maverick learns the team's owner plans to move the ball club to small town America. During a night of hard drinking Mav rails against the move to Hicksville while a fan records the entire tirade. His career takes a nosedive when the video goes viral right before spring training.   
     
         Kelsey Sullivan, Media Consultant, returns to her hometown of Pineville, Idaho after a former client implicates her in a drug cover-up.  Kelsey is hired by the team's owner to help restore Maverick's image and find a way to get back his mojo. As the daughter of a minor league ball player who walked away from her and her unstable mother, Kelsey breaks her main client rule-no athletes-to restore her own tarnished image.            
     
    STRIKE THREE, or…Happily Ever After? 
         Forced to pretend they're a couple as a last ditch effort to secure his place on the team and fix his public image, Maverick and Kelsey's romance goes from on the bench to rounding the bases in no time.  
     
          Maverick knows what they have is more than just soul-shattering sex, but he'll have to overcome his fear of commitment to prove to Kelsey love can save them both. But once burned, twice shy Kelsey might not be able to trust again, unless she can bury her long-held belief that this bad boy baseball player isn't the happily-ever-after type. 
     
    **This steamy romance is intended for readers 18+**
    Show book
  • Catching Luke - cover

    Catching Luke

    Debra Elise

    • 3
    • 8
    • 0
    He needs someone like her . . . 
     
    Luke Garibaldi is a member of the Outlaws' dugout of bad boys and the league's premier catcher. On the diamond, he plays to win, but when it comes to his private life, what the league doesn't know won't hurt, right? He spends his off hours breaking the rules: riding his motorcycle and putting his legendary arms too close to the asphalt, and playing the field. After all, with his body and his skills, he can have any woman he wants. Except Lara.  
     
    She needs to stay far away from guys like him . . . 
     
    Sports therapist Lara Andretti doesn't have time to play around with baseball players. Especially baseball players as hot as Luke Garibaldi. (Okay, maybe she has a little time to play around with a guy as hot as Luke Garibaldi.) But Lara's not looking for anything serious, especially with Luke's playboy reputation and cocky attitude. Besides her heart's still hurting from the last man who crushed it, and she's ready to leave town and make a fresh start.  
     
    But when an accident brings their lives together, and their attraction turns into something more, it becomes clear that the road to happily ever after is never easy.  Can they find their way back to each other and win the game of love?
    Show book
  • Scarface - cover

    Scarface

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide.In Scarface, Andre Norton tells the story of a swashbuckling adventure with a pirate crew on the Spanish Main!The boy Scarface watched the lights of Tortuga dim as the Naughty Lass stood out for the open sea. The Spanish Main promised rich prizes for Captain Cheap and his pirate crew. And this time Cheap had set his sights high—for no less a prey than Sir Robert Scarlett, his lifelong enemy, and Her Majesty’s fleet at Bridgetown. His plan was daring. Muskets roared and swords flashed as redcoats and pirates fought savagely. The fate of Bridgetown hung in the balance—and with it the secret of Scarface’s true identity.
    Show book
  • Sorcerer's Ring Bundle (Books 1 2 and 3) - cover

    Sorcerer's Ring Bundle (Books 1...

    Morgan Rice

    • 1
    • 18
    • 0
    “THE SORCERER’S RING has all the ingredients for an instant success: plots, counterplots, mystery, valiant knights, and blossoming relationships replete with broken hearts, deception and betrayal. It will keep you entertained for hours, and will satisfy all ages. Recommended for the permanent library of all fantasy readers.” --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto MattosThis bundle includes the first three books in Morgan Rice’s #1 Bestselling fantasy series THE SORCERER’S RING (A QUEST OF HEROES, A MARCH OF KINGS and A FATE OF DRAGONS). These three bestselling novels are all here in one convenient file. It is a great introduction to the SORCERER’S RING series. Over 200,000 words of reading, all for an incredible price! It is a great deal, and it also makes the perfect gift! THE SORCERER'S RING tells the epic tale of the coming of age of Thorgrin, a special 14 year old boy, the least loved of his father, as he strives to become a warrior in the magical Kingdom of the Ring, and as he learns he has powers, and a destiny, he does not understand. An outsider, he must fight for acceptance as he strives to join the King’s elite Legion, and as he falls in love with the king’s 16 year old daughter. Most of all, he must learn who he really is, why his destiny is so important, and why the entire fate of The Ring depends on him. With its sophisticated world-building and characterization, THE SORCERER’S RING is an epic tale of friends and lovers, of rivals and suitors, of knights and dragons, of intrigues and political machinations, of coming of age, of broken hearts, of deception, ambition and betrayal. It is a tale of honor and courage, of fate and destiny, of sorcery. It is a fantasy that brings us into a world we will never forget, and which will appeal to all ages and genders. Books #4--#13 in the series are now also available--individually and in bundles!
    Show book
  • Fae - cover

    Fae

    C.J. Abedi

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    In this YA bestseller, optioned for film by Ridley Scott, the battle between Light and Dark is about to begin.
    
    Caroline Ellis' sixteenth birthday sets into motion a series of events that have been fated for centuries. A descendant of Virginia Dare, the first child born in the lost colony of Roanoke, and unaware of her birthright as the heir to the throne of the Light Fae, it isn't until Caroline begins a tumultuous relationship with Devilyn Reilly that the truth of her heritage is revealed.
    
    Devilyn is the only Fae who is both of the Light and of the Dark, and struggles to maintain that precarious balance to avoid succumbing to the power of the Dark within him. He is the only one who can save Caroline from those who would destroy her and destroy all hope for unity among the Fae. He promises Caroline that he will protect her at all costs, even when it means protecting her from himself. Told from the alternating perspectives of Caroline and Devilyn, FAE draws on mysteries, myths and legends to create a world, and a romance, dangerously poised between Light and Dark.
    Show book
  • How to Merit in Monsters - cover

    How to Merit in Monsters

    Matthew Cody

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A new chapter book series teeming with monsters, the biomes they roam, and the hopeless scout troop out to save them.
     
    When a scout troop learns that their sleepaway camp is really a training ground for protecting the earth's most endangered species--monsters--the lowest-ranked Troop D (or Troop Dweeb, as the other troops refer to them) is next in line to earn their Monster Merit Badges.
     
    In How to Merit in Monsters, join Troop D on a mission to rescue the legendary Big Foot, whose water supply has been contaminated. With the help of their troop master and the ever-handy century-old Scout's Handbook, they might just have a chance!
    Show book