Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Sounder - cover

    Sounder

    William H. Armstrong

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in the Deep South, this Newbery Medal-winning novel tells the story of the great coon dog, Sounder, and the poor sharecroppers who own him. Celebrating 30 years!  
    During the difficult years of the nineteenth century South, an African American boy and his poor family rarely have enough to eat. Each night, the boy's father takes their dog, Sounder, out to look for food and the man grows more desperate by the day.  
    When food suddenly appears on the table one morning, it seems like a blessing. But the sheriff and his deputies are not far behind. The ever-loyal Sounder remains determined to help the family he loves as hard times bear down on them. 
    This classic novel shows the courage, love, and faith that bind an African American family together despite the racism and inhumanity they face. Readers who enjoy timeless dog stories such as Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows will find much to love in Sounder.
    Show book
  • The Niagara Falls Mystery - cover

    The Niagara Falls Mystery

    Gertrude Chandler Warner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the Boxcar Children’s first trip to Canada, and they are very eager to explore Niagara Falls and all of the attractions in the area. They are even more thrilled when a friend of Grandfather’s asks if they want to help out in his souvenir shop. But then valuable things begin to disappear from the store. The Boxcar Children must find out who is responsible!
    Show book
  • A Breath of Frost - cover

    A Breath of Frost

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Emma Day and her two cousins, Gretchen and Penelope, are uninterested in their debutante lives. All the boring balls, tiresome curtsying and polite conversation leave much to be desired. Then a girl is found dead, frost clinging to her lifeless body, and the murder is traced to Emma. As their world is turned upside down, Emma discovers more about herself and her cousins, from her connection to the murders to the secrets of her family legacy. Now the girls must embrace their true Lovegrove inheritance in order to stop the chaos, even if that means risking their lives. Dangerously handsome Cormac Fairfax wants to help Emma – but, with secrets of his own to hide, can she trust him? 
     
    The first book in a deliciously dark new trilogy. Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Ruth Warburton.
    Show book
  • The Mystery of the Black Raven - cover

    The Mystery of the Black Raven

    Gertrude Chandler Warner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Back in the days of the gold fever, one of the Aldens’ ancestors was part of the Four Rock Miners, a group that met annually in Skagway, Alaska. Now the Aldens are keeping the tradition alive by attending a reunion with the descendants of the other miners. But when the raven statue and scrapbook that have belonged to the group for more than a century go missing, it looks like the Aldens have stumbled onto another case!
    Show book
  • Small Steps - cover

    Small Steps

    Louis Sachar

    • 0
    • 78
    • 0
    Armpit and X-Ray are living in Austin, Texas. It is three years since they left the confines of Camp Green Lake Detention Centre and Armpit is taking small steps to turn his life around. He is working for a landscape gardener because he is good at digging holes, he is going to school and he is enjoying his first proper romance, but is he going to be able to stay out of trouble when there is so much building up against him? 
    In this exciting novel, Armpit is joined by many vibrant new characters, and is learning what it takes to stay on course, and that doing the right thing is never the wrong choice.
    Show book
  • Pride Unleashed - cover

    Pride Unleashed

    Cat Kalen

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    She might finally be free…but revenge will bring her back. 
     
    After fighting for her escape, Pride will stop at nothing to release the enslaved shifters still caged in the estate's underground prison. With  only one way back inside the fortified mansion, Pride allows herself to be captured. 
     
    She might be back inside her cage but this time, she knows she has Logan and Stone on her side-powerful alphas who will both fight to the death for her. But the compound has many secrets… 
     
    When bonds are tested and bloodlines are revealed, she'll be heading into a world where no one, least of all Pride, is safe.
    Show book