Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Blood Feud - cover

    Blood Feud

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It's been centuries since Isabeau St. Croix barely survived the French Revolution. Now she's made her way back to the living and she must face the ultimate test by confronting the evil British lord who left her for dead the day she turned into a vampire. That's if she can control her affection for Logan Drake, a vampire whose bite is as sweet as the revenge she seeks.  
     
    The clans are gathering for Helena's royal coronation as the next vampire queen, and new alliances are beginning to form now that the old rifts of Lady Natasha's reign have started to heal. But with a new common enemy, Leander Montmarte-a vicious leader who hopes to force Solange to marry him and usurp the power of the throne for himself-the clans must stand together to preserve the peace he threatens to destroy. 
     
    This second adventure in the Drake Chronicles-told from both Logan's and Isabeau's perspectives-has all the same butt-kicking action, heart-pounding romances and snarky humor that readers loved in Hearts at Stake, as well as exciting new revelations about the vampire dynasties to keep readers coming back for more. 
     
    Look out for the other books in this series: Hearts at Stake, Out for Blood, and Bleeding Hearts-out next year!
    Show book
  • Dark Lord of Derkholm - cover

    Dark Lord of Derkholm

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Mr. Chesney operates Pilgrim Parties, a tour group that takes paying participants into an outer realm where the inhabitants play frightening and foreboding roles. The time has come to end the staged madness . . . but can it really be stopped? Master storyteller Diana Wynne Jones serves up twists and turns, introduces Querida, Derk, Blade, and Shona and a remarkable cast of wizards, soldiers, kings, dragons, and griffins, and mixes in a lively dash of humor. With all the ingredients of high fantasy, this unforgettable novel will delight fans old and new.
    Show book
  • Eight Days of Luke - cover

    Eight Days of Luke

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    "Just kindle a flame and I'll be with you." 
    It's summer vacation, but David's miserably stuck with his unpleasant relatives. Then a strange boy named Luke turns up, charming and fun, joking that David has released him from a prison. Or is he joking? He certainly seems to have strange powers, and control over fire . . . 
    Luke has family problems of his own, and some very dark secrets. And when David agrees to a bargain with the mysterious Mr. Wedding, he finds himself in a dangerous hunt for a lost treasure, one that will determine Luke's fate!
    Show book
  • 21 Stolen Kisses - cover

    21 Stolen Kisses

    Lauren Blakely

    • 3
    • 18
    • 0
    ***NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!*** 
     
     
    When I first met him I resisted.  
    Like any forbidden love, I told myself he was a crush, and it would pass. 
    That was a lie. It never faded. 
     
    And I never expected he would fall for me just as hard.  
     
    There were so many reasons that should have kept us apart, least of all, the decade that separated us. 
    Growing up in New York City, I learned early on that love is a double-edged sword.  
    Love broke up my parents, love took away my friends, and love -- the big, intense, never-been-like-this-before 
    love -- landed me in therapy. 
    Now I'm heading to college, and it's time to give love a clean slate again. But, can I really start over when he's still in my life? 
    Because the one man I've always wanted, and also the only guy I absolutely can't haveÂ? 
    And he wants me just as fiercely.  
     
    Can I settle for anything less than the love of my life? 
     
     
    Reviews:  
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses captured my heart from the first page and didn't let go. It made my heart ache, leap from joy, and ultimately root for a love that's forbidden yet unstoppable." - NYT Bestselling Author Claire Contreras 
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses was a truly beautiful and genuine love story. This is romantic as it gets, people. Lauren Blakely brought it, and she brought it hard. Nothing will make you believe in true love more than this story right here." - Shayna Renee's Spicy Reads
    Show book
  • After the Train - cover

    After the Train

    Gloria Whelan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Peter Liebig can't wait for summer. He's tired of classrooms, teachers, and the endless lectures about the horrible Nazis. The war has been over for ten years, and besides, his town of Rolfen, West Germany, has moved on nicely. Despite its bombed-out church, it looks just as calm and pretty as ever. There is money to be made at the beach, and there are whole days to spend with Father at his job. And, of course, there's soccer. Plenty for a thirteen-year-old boy to look forward to.  
    But when Peter stumbles across a letter he was never meant to see, he unravels a troubling secret. Soon he questions everything—the town's peaceful nature, his parents' stories about the war, and his own sense of belonging.
    Show book
  • Blood Moon - cover

    Blood Moon

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When the vampire tribes convene for the rare Blood Moon ceremonies, Solange's fight with her feral nature, a mysterious stranger, family secrets and forbidden magic put all of the Drakes in danger. 
    And when Nicholas is caught between saving his little sister Solange, or his girlfriend Lucy, who will he choose?
    Show book