Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters - cover

Brightwood - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters

Tania Unsworth

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 3
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home--and the only place she’s ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, half-ruined walls. They may not have a computer or phone, but Daisy has all the friends she could want, including a mischievous talking rat named Tar and the ghostly presence of a long-ago explorer who calls herself Frank. When Daisy’s mother leaves one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. But as the days tick by and Daisy’s mother doesn’t return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it, unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him. Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Origami Toys - cover

    Origami Toys

    Paul Jackson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Step-by-step instructions for making more than thirty  interactive origami toys that flap, jump, fly, spin, bang, tumble, turn  inside out, peck, snap, rock, and talk. Each design presents an exciting  combination of interesting design and innocent delight.
    Show book
  • 303 Tween-Approved Exercises and Active Games - cover

    303 Tween-Approved Exercises and...

    Kimberly Wechsler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is not just for classrooms or families with overweight or unhealthy kids--every family that has children with televisions, computers, and/or video games under one roof should take care to exercise regularly. 'Tweens spend as much time sitting down watching TV, playing video games, or using computers as they spend in school each week. According to statistics from the U.S. Health and Human Resources Department, one third of American children are overweight or obese due to our lifestyle choices. The number one concern that parents bring up to pediatricians is keeping kids fit, and half of all children are not physically active enough for the development of a healthy cardiovascular system. In this age of electronic media, where we become watchers instead of doers, we are simply forgetting the many wonderful ways of playing and exercising together.'Tweens in particular are susceptible to overweight issues; the drop-out rate of structured sports programs is highest at this age group.303 Tween-Approved Exercises and Active Games is written specifically for kids ages 9-12 years old. Kimberley Wechsler, a specialist in Kid's Fitness, took into account the fundamental attributes of being a child while developing these exercises. Children have specific physiologic differences that make them unique. They grow, mature, and develop skills at different ages, so what may be skill appropriate for one child could be harmful for another child. These exercises reflect the emotional, social, physical level of this age group.Children of this age group are now at the skill level in which physical challenges like mind, body, meditation, balance, muscle strengthening, and sport performance building exercises become very important. Sports skills and drills can now be developed, and competition is highlighted and welcomed within this age group. Kids at this age like to show off their talents so it is important for teachers and parents to observe and provide positive feedback on all of their accomplishments. At this age, tweens want to belong to a sport, group, or identify with a sport celebrity to begin to define who they are and what their likes are; friends also tend to become more of an influence than parents at this age. Bad behavior patterns and peer pressure have now developed--making it more difficult to change current patterns--but it can be done. 303 Tween-Approved Exercises and Active Games can help tweens build confidence in high-pressure situations and build their social skills through playing team sports.Kids within this age group are now experienced with the basic fundamentals of fitness and prefer games, sports, and exercises that are more challenging and competitive. They are physically, intellectually, emotionally becoming young adults. They can think abstractly, make decisions, understand rules and challenge rules; they are more mature then kids 6-8 years old, and their games and physical challenges must reflect these characteristics. They have formed a sense of self-identity and they are more independent, yet their friends are very important to them. Many of the exercises are written to include their friends--they can challenge their friends or work as a team with their friends.Tweens have a preferred Fitness Personality--a style of fitness that suits their likes. Therefore, they can choose their style of exercises from 303 physical challenges. They can choose to do them independently, with a friend, or with a group of friends. They can choose from many styles of fitness in 303 Tween-Approved Exercises and Active Games: mind/body, military style fitness, sports performance, functional resistance, strength training, plyometric style, outdoor challenges, circuit/interval/obstacle course training. 303 Tween-Approved Exercises and Active Games allows 'tweens to choose the type of exercise. By giving each challenge/game a point value, 'tweens can freely choose their exercises and will receive a complete workout each and every time. Teachers and parents can join in on the fun too!
    Show book
  • There Will Be Lies - cover

    There Will Be Lies

    Nick Lake

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In four hours, Shelby Jane Cooper will be struck by a car. 
     
    Shortly after, she and her mother will leave the hospital and set out on a winding journey toward the Grand Canyon. 
     
    All Shelby knows is that they're running from dangers only her mother understands. And the further they travel, the more Shelby questions everything about her past--and her current reality. Forced to take advantage of the kindness of unsuspecting travelers, Shelby grapples with what's real, what isn't, and who she can trust . . . if anybody. 
     
    Award-winning author Nick Lake proves his skills as a master storyteller in this heart-pounding new novel. This emotionally charged thrill ride leads to a shocking ending that will have readers flipping back to the beginning. 
     
    Awards for There Will Be Lies 
    A Boston Globe Best YA Book of 2015 
    A Texas TAYSHAS Pick
    Show book
  • Out of Bounds - cover

    Out of Bounds

    Lauren Blakely

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    The first rule of football--don't screw with a streak. 
      
     My career is finally looking up, and I'm leading a new pro team down the field every Sunday. No way will I mess with that. But when I meet the most stunning and captivating woman I've ever seen, I tell myself one night will have to be enough.   
      
     But it's not. And now I can't get her out of my mind. Even when I'm playing. Even when I need to focus. Even when I'm on the hottest streak of my life.  
     
    And it turns out, she's not just some random woman I met. She works for the team. My team. 
      
     *** 
     
    I only have one goal this season--do my part as the team's lawyer to keep them out of trouble. Help rebuild their reputation on and off the field. There's no room for error and certainly no room for a secret tryst with a player . . . even if he's the quarterback. 
      
     Right?
    Show book
  • Nothing Rhymes with Orange - cover

    Nothing Rhymes with Orange

    Adam Rex

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    We all know nothing rhymes with orange. But how does that make Orange feel? Well, left out! When a parade of fruit gets together to sing a song about how wonderful they are—and the song happens to rhyme—Orange can't help but feel like it's impossible for him to ever fit in. But when one particularly intuitive Apple notices how Orange is feeling, the entire English language begins to become a bit more inclusive. Beloved author-illustrator Adam Rex has created a hilarious yet poignant parable about feeling left out, celebrating difference, and the irrefutable fact that nothing rhymes with orange.
    Show book
  • I Am Strong - cover

    I Am Strong

    Suzy Capozzi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I Am Strong follows a young boy on a fun-filled day as he learns what it means to be strong. Despite his small size, he surprises his teammates and himself when he demonstrates mental, emotional, and physical strength to become the Field Day champion! This third title in the Positive Power series will get kids excited about their own strengths--whether it's learning to read or running really fast.
     
    About the Positive Power Series:
     
    Short on words and long on empowerment, the Positive Power early reader series teaches kids and parents alike the power of positive affirmations and how to incorporate them into their daily lives.
    Show book