"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Stella Rose - A Novel - cover

Stella Rose - A Novel

Tammy Flanders Hetrick

Publisher: She Writes Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Upon Stella Rose’s death, her best friend, Abby, moves to rural Vermont to take care of her sixteen-year-old daughter, Olivia. But Abby struggles to connect with Olivia and she soon finds guardianship of a headstrong teenager daunting beyond her wildest misgivings. Despite her best efforts, and the help of friends old and new, she is unable to keep Olivia from self-destruction.



As Abby’s journey unfolds, she grapples with raising a grieving teenager, realizes she didn’t know Stella as well as she thought, and discovers just how far she will go to save the most precious thing in her life.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • The Way It Should Be - cover

    The Way It Should Be

    Christina Suzann Nelson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    After years of estrangement, the lives of Zara Mahoney and her twin sister, Eve, are suddenly and completely intertwined again. Eve's troubled lifestyle causes the state to take custody of her two children and contact Zara and her husband, asking them to consider foster care. Newlywed Zara thought she'd finally been given a fresh start and feels wholly unprepared to care for a niece and nephew whose existence she wasn't even aware of.  
     
    Meanwhile, Eve may have a real chance to start over this time with the help of Tiff Bradley, who's dedicated to helping women everyone else has given up on after facing a heartbreaking tragedy in her own family.  
     
    Over the course of one summer, all three women's hearts and lives hang in the balance as Eve desperately works toward a new life. Can they redefine their expectations of how life should be to find the hope they--and those they love--so desperately need?
    Show book
  • Chattel - cover

    Chattel

    Frederick Hambling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “The bathroom was modern and spacious, stylishly appointed in a mixture of arctic white and pastels… But it belonged to only one of the two people occupying it at the time. And it was not to the male half of the equation. From his position between her legs, the smooth brown skin of her thighs visible to him as he knelt before her, the usual question assailed him as he prepared to do what was now required of him on a daily basis. It was by far the most debilitating and dehumanising requirement of the daily routine, “What would my ex-wife and two daughters say if they could see me at this moment?”  Divorced, unemployed, and about to have his home repossessed, a man is about at the end of his tether when the wealthy Indian housewife who was his neighbour offers him a lifeline. A lifeline, if he accepts it, that will lead to a life in her service. And in ALL ways. 
    Show book
  • Adult Education - cover

    Adult Education

    Patrick Richards

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When you go to a bar for a drink and the beautiful, sexy woman you met a couple hours ago tells you she wants to take you back to her place and fuck your brains out, what do you do? Most guys in their early 20’s would jump at the opportunity.  Rudy Fisher does just that, but he has no idea how deep the water is when he jumps in. After satisfying her orally for better than an hour, she locks him in an inescapable chastity cage without letting him cum. It isn’t long before he tells her he’ll be her slave forever. Talk about jumping in with both feet without even looking! 
     
    Susanne immediately takes control, becoming his Mistress and owner.  He has no way to stop her, and down deep, he doesn’t want to. This has been a secret fantasy of his for many, many years. Over the next few months, she totally destroys him, and he willingly accepts it. He knows that as a slave he is her property and no longer a man.  Rudy gives up everything to satisfy his need to serve a woman like her. He craves what she had to offer – the bondage, the pain, the total domination, and in the end he gives it all.
    Show book
  • All That We Carried - A Novel - cover

    All That We Carried - A Novel

    Erin Bartels

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    "Bartels proves herself a master wordsmith and storyteller."--Library Journal, starred review 
     
    "This subdued tale of learning to forgive is Bartels's best yet."--Publishers Weekly 
     
    "A deeply personal, thoughtful exploration of dealing with pain and grief."--Life Is Story 
     
    "Taut and engaging."--Foreword 
     
    *** 
     
    Ten years ago, sisters Olivia and Melanie Greene were on a backcountry hiking trip when their parents were in a fatal car accident. Over the years, they grew apart, each coping with the loss in her own way. Olivia plunged herself into law school, work, and a materialist view of the world--what you see is what you get, and that's all you get. Melanie dropped out of college and developed an online life-coaching business around her cafeteria-style spirituality--a little of this, a little of that, whatever makes you happy. 
     
    Now, at Melanie's insistence (and against Olivia's better judgment), they are embarking on a hike in the Porcupine Mountains of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. In this remote wilderness they'll face their deepest fears, question their most dearly held beliefs, and begin to see that perhaps the best way to move forward is the one way they had never considered. 
     
    Michigan Notable Book Award winner Erin Bartels draws from personal experience hiking backcountry trails with her sister to bring you a story about the complexities of grief, faith, and sisterhood.
    Show book
  • Hedge Witch - cover

    Hedge Witch

    Simon Kewin

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Two worlds, one nightmare…
     
    Cait Weerd has no idea the undain are hunting her. She doesn’t know the vile creatures need her blood to survive. She doesn’t even know she’s a witch, descended from a long line of witches. Cait Weerd doesn’t know much, but all that’s about to change.
     
    At Manchester Central Library, she’s caught in the crossfire between the witches and the undain, two worlds fighting for an old book. Cait takes the book and is told to run, hide the book or destroy it. The undain’s secrets are buried in its pages, and they want it almost as much as they want her.
     
    The fate of two worlds is at stake. Cait has to decide what to do: run, fight, or hope it all goes away.
     
    But then she learns who she really is, along with the terrible truth of what the undain have been doing in our world all this time…
    Show book