Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Waste Land - cover

The Waste Land

T. S. Eliot

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Famous for juxtaposing Eastern cultures with Western literary references, The Waste Land has been celebrated for its eloquence, depth of meaning, and numerous subtleties. Rich with allusions to the religious texts of Hinduism and Buddhism, ancient literature, and Eliot’s own life, the poem continues to be admired and studied in higher education English literature courses.   Quickly ascending to the status of literary classic, The Waste Land is widely considered to be Eliot’s finest work, representing maturity in his style and confidence in both expression and research.  This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Other books that might interest you

  • Workman's Dream - cover

    Workman's Dream

    Edgar A. Guest

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Edgar Albert Guest (20 August 1881 in Birmingham, England – 5 August 1959 in Detroit, Michigan) (aka Eddie Guest) was a prolific English-born American poet who was popular in the first half of the 20th century and became known as the People's Poet.From his first published work in the Detroit Free Press until his death in 1959, Guest penned some 11,000 poems which were syndicated in some 300 newspapers and collected in more than 20 books, including A Heap o' Livin' (1916) and Just Folks (1917). Guest was made Poet Laureate of Michigan, the only poet to have been awarded the title. - Summary by Wikipedia
    Show book
  • Reflections - A small book of poems - cover

    Reflections - A small book of poems

    Dawn Mayree

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    My book Reflections is a small book of poems which I wrote after thinking back to some of my situations, and of other people who I have known.
    Show book
  • Fort Laramie Volume 2 - cover

    Fort Laramie Volume 2

    CBS Radio

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Raymond Burr stars as the commanding officer of a rugged cavalry outpost in “Fort Laramie,” a subtle and realistic dramatic series created, written, and produced by many of the same people who made radio history with the groundbreaking adult western “Gunsmoke”. Producer Norman Macdonnell saw the series as “a monument to ordinary men who lived in extraordinary times”; their enemies “the rugged, uncharted country, the heat, the cold, disease, boredom, and, perhaps last of all, hostile Indians.” Though its run was short, just 40 episodes in all, “Fort Laramie” proved to be every bit as grand as the critically acclaimed “Gunsmoke” and, today, you’ll find it among the top ten shows on the list of many radio enthusiasts. This collection offers the final twenty shows of the series.
    Show book
  • Greybeards at Play - cover

    Greybeards at Play

    G.K. Chesterton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    G.K. Chesterton's first publication, "Greybeards at Play" is a collection of poetry and accompanying illustrations. The work is marked by the irreverent whimsy and ancient delight that would eventually be recognized as Chesterton's signature style. Short (only four poems long and a dedication), playful, and with a touch of awe, Chesterton's first piece (written at 26) is appropriately titled: it is the work of an amateur, mature in his spirit, young in his play. - (Summary by 5pak)
    Show book
  • The Forerunner & The Madman - Two lesser known works by the Sufi master - cover

    The Forerunner & The Madman -...

    Kahlil Gibran

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Most famously known for his book The Prophet, the Lebanese poet Kahlil Gibran, who has been called "the single most important influence on Arabic poetry and literature during the first half of [the twentieth] century." 
    Contained herein are two lesser known works. The Madman was the first book Kahlil published in English, and it's success was enough for The Forerunner to be released by the same publisher less than two years later.
    Show book
  • We Come Apart - cover

    We Come Apart

    Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers.  
     
    Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they're picking up litter in the park for community service. He's so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She's got a lot to hide. 
     
    Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad's fists are the most powerful force in Nicu's life, and in the end, he'll have to do what his dad wants. 
     
    As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can't be together, forever, and stay safe – can they? 
     
    An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two Carnegie honoured rising stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green. 
     
    Sarah Crossan received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Brian Conaghan's powerful debut, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, Peters Book of the Year and CBI Book of the Year Award.
    Show book