What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Off For The Sweet Hereafter - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Off For The Sweet Hereafter

T. R. Pearson

Publisher: Barking Mad Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From Library Journal 
T. R. Pearson, author of last year's A Short History of a Small Place , again presents an intimate view of small-town North Carolina, but Neely is no Mayberry, and its residents remind one more of a Southern verison of The Beans of Egypt, Maine than of Andy Griffith. The Neely-ites are a motley crew, known by lineage and physical attributes ("the bald Jeeter"). Raeford Benton Lynch, of the Chickenhouse Lynches, never has done a great deal with himself, until he hires on with a grave-moving crew and meets hot-blooded Jane Elizabeth Firesheets, whose charms lead him to a life of crime. Pearson has a dense, folksy style all his own, and although his storyline sometimes gets muddled and his prose busy, his originality and unerring sense of place make this book a winner. Ann H. Fisher, Radford P.L., Va. 
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc. 
Review 
"Anyone from anywhere should feel a fond familiarity with the citizens of Neely, North Carolina. Even at their most manically comic, they are gentle souls at heart. They have the swarming, entangled look of the crowd in a Bruegel painting, but each face stands out separately, innocent and endearing."  -- Anne Tyler, The New York Times 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Mangle Street Murders - cover

    The Mangle Street Murders

    M.R.C. Kasasian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two crime solvers venture into Victorian London’s East End to investigate a murder in this “excellent first novel by a British author who has a bright future” (Mystery Scene Magazine). March Middleton has moved to Gower Street to live with her curmudgeonly guardian, Sidney Grice, London’s most famous personal detective. She is intelligent, witty, and talkative. He thinks young women should be seen and not heard. But he grudgingly allows her to join his latest murder case: A young woman is dead and her loving husband is the only suspect. Their investigations lead the pair to the darkest alleys of the East End: Every twist leads Sidney Grice to think the husband guilty, but March is convinced that he is innocent. And as the case threatens to foment civil unrest, Sidney Grice finds his reputation is not the only thing in mortal danger . . .
    Show book
  • I Know You Know - A Novel - cover

    I Know You Know - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Gilly Macmillan comes this original, chilling and twisty mystery about two shocking murder cases twenty years apart, and the threads that bind them. 
    Twenty years ago, eleven-year-olds Charlie Paige and Scott Ashby were murdered in the city of Bristol, their bodies dumped near a dog racing track. A man was convicted of the brutal crime, but decades later, questions still linger. 
    For his whole life, filmmaker Cody Swift has been haunted by the deaths of his childhood best friends. The loose ends of the police investigation consume him so much that he decides to return to Bristol in search of answers. Hoping to uncover new evidence, and to encourage those who may be keeping long-buried secrets to speak up, Cody starts a podcast to record his findings. But there are many people who don’t want the case—along with old wounds—reopened so many years after the tragedy, especially Charlie’s mother, Jess, who decides to take matters into her own hands.  
    When a long-dead body is found in the same location the boys were left decades before, the disturbing discovery launches another murder investigation. Now Detective John Fletcher, the investigator on the original case, must reopen his dusty files and decide if the two murders are linked. With his career at risk, the clock is ticking and lives are in jeopardy…
    Show book
  • The Land of Trees - cover

    The Land of Trees

    L.A. Naylor

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Adoptee Lia has followed her Spanish teacher, Rafael, to Guatemala, for romance and adventure. She doesn't know much about the country, but she's happy because she's finally living life on her own terms. On their first night together, Lia decides to declare her feelings, but before she gets the chance, the unimaginable happens and Rafael is brutally killed. Devastated, Lia travels to Rafael's family home in the countryside, where she becomes determined to find out why. But not everyone is keen on her investigation. The locals are hostile and the landowner has family problems. Lia has to decide what is more important: living without answers or taking the deadly consequences that come with the truth. Set against a backdrop of civil unrest and huge political change, Naylor shows the powerful impact the past can have, decades down the line.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 43
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Inside - cover

    Inside

    D.M. Siciliano

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    1987 “Does it burn in the dark?”Reid is a bully, but he’s still Alex’s best friend. When Reid pushes Alex and their friends into invading a historically haunted Massachusetts house, Alex knows it’s a terrible idea, but indulges his friend. What could go wrong?Inside, a mysterious Shadow looms in the darkness. The door to the house vanishes, leaving them trapped. The group flees through the tiny, one-roomed house that defies logic, constantly shifting, presenting them with new doors, hallways, and rooms that seem to be plucked from their memories and fears. One by one, the Shadow hunts them, intent on burning them all from within.Is there any way to escape? Or will they be burned from the inside out?
    Show book
  • Devil's Cup The - A Medieval mystery - cover

    Devil's Cup The - A Medieval...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sir Josse d’Aquin is summoned to assist the beleaguered King John in the 17th – and final – Hawkenlye mystery.
    
     
    
    
    September, 1216. A foreign army has invaded England. The country is divided. Some support the rebel barons and Prince Louis of France; others remain loyal to the king. His rule under threat, King John summons Sir Josse d’Acquin to support him. But can Sir Josse save the king from himself?
    
     
    
    
    Meanwhile, Josse’s daughter Meggie is summoned to Hawkenlye Abbey to attend a sick patient in a very distressed state. The elderly woman is warning of terrible danger unless she can complete her mission. What she learns from her patient will set Meggie on a perilous journey to retrieve a cursed treasure. But will she be in time to prevent a tragedy?
    Show book