Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger - absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction - cover

The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger - absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Suzanne Fortin

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

'A deeply moving story of love in all its forms – I adored it' Mandy Baggot
 
Sometimes the past won't stay hidden, it demands to be uncovered...
 
Arthur Pettinger's memory isn't what it used to be. He can't always remember the names of his grandchildren, where he lives or which way round his slippers go. He does remember Maryse though, a woman he hasn't seen for decades, but whose face he will never forget.
 
When Arthur's granddaughter, Maddy moves in along with her daughter Esther, it's her first step towards pulling her life back together. But when Esther makes a video with Arthur, the hunt for the mysterious Maryse goes viral.
 
There's only one person who can help Maddy track down this woman – the one that got away, Joe. Their quest takes them to France, and into the heart of the French Resistance.
 
When the only way to move forwards is to look back, will this family finally be able to?
 
Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, Karen Swan and Lorna Cook
 
What readers are saying about The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger:
 
'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'This is a beautiful account that stops you dead in your tracks' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'This book is the love story to end all love stories ... I was hooked by the end of the first chapter and I didn't want to put this book down' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'This book broke my heart in all the right places. OMG masterfully written ... I could not put this down. Loved everything about this book. Happiness, tears, it had it all' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'What a read ... Beautifully written with the depth and warmth of true love. I could not put this book down. Exceptionally intriguing' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Other books that might interest you

  • The Club - A Novel - cover

    The Club - A Novel

    Takis Würger

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable—until two disasters change his life forever. He falls into the guardianship of his eccentric English aunt Alex, who invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history.
     
    
    Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return Hans must help her investigate a secretive Cambridge institution known as the Pitt Club. The Club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition, privilege, and decadence largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove Club material, including training for the university boxing team, he is drawn into a glamorous world of debauchery and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, the stakes of his deception are raised. For there are dark secrets in the Club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of an dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
     
    
    A provocative and timely novel from a highly regarded young writer, The Club is an invitation into a world behind closed doors, one of long-held secrets, hallowed history, and toxic behavior.
    Show book
  • Booking In - A Crang Mystery - cover

    Booking In - A Crang Mystery

    Jack Batten

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Mystery-solving criminal lawyer Crang returns to investigate the disappearance of two rare books. 
     
    
    Fletcher Marshall is a Toronto antiquarian book dealer, internationally respected in the business. One night, someone blows the safe in his office and makes off with the contents, which include an infamous forged first edition of Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s Sonnets from the Portuguese that is in itself a collector’s item. Fletcher, who was still in the process of verifying the book, doesn’t even know whether it was the real thing or a clever forgery (of a forgery). But rather than summon the cops to investigate the theft, he turns to his pal Crang, the nervy criminal lawyer, hoping he can retrieve the books before their owner gets wind of the crime. The owner happens to be the richest woman in Canada and a tough cookie who could ruin Fletcher’s career. 
     
    Crang gets on the hunt, learning much about the trade in musty books and the lucrative business it makes for forgers. Just as he seems to be getting close to answers, a shocking development makes things much more complicated — and much more dangerous.
    Show book
  • Sins of the Fathers - A family mystery set in Scotland and England - cover

    Sins of the Fathers - A family...

    Anthea Fraser

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Three families, separate yet joined by the sins of the fathers; sins that will ultimately lead to tragedy.Mark Richmond’s trip to York takes a surprise detour when he runs into Helena Crawford and ends up accompanying her to her parents’ ruby wedding anniversary in Drumlee, Scotland.Six months earlier, Mark attended Peter Kingsley’s sixtieth birthday party – the father of his now-estranged wife, Sophie – where Peter was unexpectedly taken ill. Mark’s father, Charles, has been friends with Peter for forty years, but how well does he really know him?As Peter’s health continues to deteriorate, it seems the Richmonds and the Kingsleys are inextricably entwined by devastating secrets, resentment, betrayal and deceit. And who is Ellie, the girl in the hooded anorak, who appears on the cliff path in Drumlee, pale and shivering from the cold?
    Show book
  • Crang Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - Crang Plays the Ace Straight No Chaser Take Five and 1 more - cover

    Crang Mysteries 4-Book Bundle -...

    Jack Batten

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Like a fine wine, the [Crang] series — and its protagonist — have aged well.” — The Toronto Star 
     
    “Not to be missed.” — The Globe and Mail 
     
    Jack Batten's hard-boiled Crang series returns with this four-book bundle, including the latest Crang mystery, 2016's Keeper of the Flame! 
     
    Includes:Crang Plays the Ace
    Straight No Chaser
    Take Five
    Keeper of the Flame
    Show book
  • Ink and Shadows - A Witty & Page-Turning Southern Cozy Mystery - cover

    Ink and Shadows - A Witty &...

    Ellery Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Entertaining…packed with mystery, romance, and sisterhood.” —Kirkus Reviews New York Times bestselling author Ellery Adams is back with the latest in her acclaimed Secret, Book, and Scone Society series. Local bookstore owner Nora Pennington is back on the case in Miracle Springs, North Carolina when an accidental death turns out to be something much more sinister…  Nora Pennington is known for her window displays, and as Halloween approaches, she decides to showcase fictional heroines like Roald Dahl’s Matilda and Madeline Miller’s Circe. A family-values group disapproves of the magical themes, though, and wastes no time launching a modern-day witch hunt. Suddenly, former friends and customers are targeting not only Nora and Miracle Books, but a new shopkeeper, Celeste, who’s been selling CBD oil products.   Nora and her friends in the Secret, Book, and Scone Society are doing their best to put an end to the strife—but then someone puts an end to a life. Though the death is declared an accident, the ruling can’t explain the old book page covered with strange symbols and disturbing drawings left under Nora’s doormat, a postcard from an anonymous stalker, or multiple cases of vandalism.   The only hope is that Nora can be a heroine herself and lead the Secret, Book, and Scone Society in a successful investigation—before more bodies turn up and the secrets from Celeste’s past come back to haunt them all . . .  
    Show book
  • The Whispered Word - cover

    The Whispered Word

    Ellery Adams

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this cozy mystery by a New York Times–bestselling author, a gifted bookstore owner can find the right book for any patron, but can she find a killer?The proprietor of Miracle Books in Miracle Springs, North Carolina, Nora Pennington believes that a well-chosen novel can bring healing and hope. But she and the other members of the Secret, Book, and Scone Society know that sometimes practical help is needed too. Such is the case with the reed-thin girl hiding in the fiction section of Nora’s store, wearing a hospital ID and a patchwork of faded bruises. She calls herself Abilene but won’t reveal much else. And when a customer is found dead in an assumed suicide, Nora uncovers a connection that points to Abilene as either a suspect—or another target. After a second death hits town, Nora and her intrepid friends must help the new, greenhorn sheriff discern fact from fiction—and stop a killer intent on bringing another victim’s story to a close…  “A love letter to reading, with sharp characterizations and a smart central mystery.”—Entertainment Weekly
    Show book