Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger - absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger - absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Suzanne Fortin

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

'This story has great depths of emotion, highs and lows, and I found it utterly gripping!' Christina Courtenay
 
'A deeply moving story of love in all its forms – I adored it' Mandy Baggot
 
The secrets of the past won't remain hidden forever...
 
Arthur Pettinger's memory isn't what it used to be. He can't always remember the names of his grandchildren, where he lives or which way round his slippers go. He does remember Maryse though, a woman he hasn't seen for decades, but whose face he will never forget.
 
When Arthur's granddaughter, Maddy, moves in along with her daughter Esther, it's her first step towards pulling her life back together. But when Esther makes a video with Arthur, the hunt for the mysterious Maryse goes viral.
 
There's only one person who can help Maddy track down this woman – the one that got away, Joe. Their quest takes them to France, and into the heart of the French Resistance.
 
When the only way to move forwards is to look back, will this family finally be able to?
 
Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, Karen Swan and Lorna Cook
 
What readers are saying about The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger:
 
'Five stars' Poppy Alexander
 
'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'This is a beautiful account that stops you dead in your tracks' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'This book is the love story to end all love stories ... I was hooked by the end of the first chapter and I didn't want to put this book down' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'This book broke my heart in all the right places. OMG masterfully written ... I could not put this down. Loved everything about this book. Happiness, tears, it had it all' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
 
'What a read ... Beautifully written with the depth and warmth of true love. I could not put this book down. Exceptionally intriguing' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Other books that might interest you

  • A Single Spark - cover

    A Single Spark

    Judith Miller

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Wanting to do her part in the war effort, Clara McBride goes to work in the cartridge room at the Washington Arsenal, the city's main site for production and storing of munitions. She's given the opportunity to train new employees and forms a friendship with two of them. All seems to be going well, especially when one of the supervisors shows interest in her.   
     
    Lieutenant Joseph Brady is an injured army officer who, no longer able to lead troops into battle, has been assigned to a supervisory position at the Washington Arsenal. While Clara has caught his eye, he also makes it his mission to fight for increased measures to prevent explosions in the factory. 
     
    But when suspicions rise after multiple shipments of Washington Arsenal cartridges fail to fire and everyone is suspect for sabotage, can the spark of love between Joseph and Clara survive?
    Show book
  • Love Uncovered - cover

    Love Uncovered

    Diane Holiday

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Danger drives an archaeologist into the arms of her DEA agent ex-boyfriend in this romantic suspense novel for fans of Susan Stoker and Mary Burton.   Free-spirited Maddie Cooper never considered settling down—until Scott Fisher. But when the DEA agent left her with a broken heart and no forwarding address, Maddie dug in deeper with her first love: archaeology.   Scott suffered a tragic loss while on assignment and gave up on all the things that brought light to his life, including Maddie. She deserves far better than the dark, dangerous world that consumes him. Staying away from her turns out easier said than done as the man he’s chasing leads him to Maddie’s latest work site. Her spitfire attitude and impulsive nature have a habit of getting her into trouble, and her latest stunt places her in grave danger.   After a devastating break-in at her artifacts storage facility, Maddie’s shocked when Scott is assigned to the case. As if his reappearance and the burglary aren’t enough, a ruthless developer has moved to town and tries to bribe Maddie to falsify a survey. She’s determined to bring the crooked man down without any help, least of all from her former lover.    But with Maddie’s life on the line, Scott must win back the trust of the only woman he's ever loved before tragedy strikes again.    “This contemporary romance delivers electrifying heat between characters with a sprinkle of humor.”—InD’tale Magazine  “A fun, fast-paced story.”—Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Pursued (The Nikki Boyd Files Book #3) - cover

    Pursued (The Nikki Boyd Files...

    Lisa Harris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nikki Boyd's flight into Nashville was routine--up until the crash landing at the airport. When the dust settles, Nikki discovers that the woman who had been seated next to her on the plane is missing--and no one will admit she was ever there. Erika Hamilton had been flying to Nashville with an air marshal as a key witness in an upcoming grand jury trial. When she flees from the crash, is she running from trouble or straight into it? Before Nikki can even see her family, she and her team are pulled into a missing persons case where the motives are as unclear as the suspects. Bestselling and award-winning author Lisa Harris has planted danger around every turn in this can't-put-it-down thrill ride that will leave readers stunned.
    Show book
  • Vanishing Point - A Nikki Boyd Novel - cover

    Vanishing Point - A Nikki Boyd...

    Lisa Harris

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    During Garrett Addison's first week on the job as a criminal investigator for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, his team is called out to a murder scene of a young girl. She's the third victim in a string of disappearances with one thing in common--a Polaroid photo of each victim left behind at the crime scene.The FBI is pulled into the case to help, and Garrett finds himself working with Special Agent Jordan Lambert, the woman he once loved. When yet another girl dies--number six--Garrett blames himself and believes he doesn't have what it takes to be an agent. What he'll discover is that, while he may be done with the killer, the killer is not done with him--or Jordan.Bestselling and award-winning author Lisa Harris unveils an unforgettable story of a case that has haunted the public and law enforcement for more than a decade. Fans of the Nikki Boyd Files will thrill to finally discover what actually happened to Nikki's sister, Sarah. New readers will become instant fans after devouring this chilling tale.
    Show book
  • Still Life (Chesapeake Valor Book #2) - cover

    Still Life (Chesapeake Valor...

    Dani Pettrey

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Romantic Suspense's Rising Star Continues to Win FansBlacklisted in the photography business over a controversial shot, Avery Tate answered an ad for a crime scene photographer. She expected to be laughed at, but crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell hired her outright--and changed her life. But six months ago, when her feelings for Parker became too strong, she left his employ to sort out her heart. Now, for the first time, Avery is facing the world that rejected her to attend the gallery opening of a photography exhibit and support her best friend, who modeled for the show. But the only image of her friend is a chilling photo of her posing as if dead--and the photographer insists he didn't take the shot. Worse, her friend can't be found. She immediately calls Parker for help. As Avery, Parker, and his friends in law enforcement dig into the mystery, they find themselves face-to-face with a relentless and deadly threat.
    Show book
  • Holding the Fort (The Fort Reno Series Book #1) - cover

    Holding the Fort (The Fort Reno...

    Regina Jennings

    • 1
    • 21
    • 0
    Jennings Winningly Combines Humor, History, and RomanceLouisa Bell never wanted to be a dance-hall singer, but dire circumstances force her hand. With a little help from her brother in the cavalry, she's able to make ends meet, but lately he's run afoul of his commanding officer, so she undertakes a visit to straighten him out. Major Daniel Adams has his hands full at Fort Reno. He can barely control his rowdy troops, much less his two adolescent daughters. If Daniel doesn't find someone respectable to guide his children, his mother-in-law insists she'll take them.When Louisa arrives with some reading materials, she's mistaken for the governess who never appeared. Major Adams is skeptical. She bears little resemblance to his idea of a governess--they're not supposed to be so blamed pretty--but he's left without recourse. His mother-in-law must be satisfied, which leaves him turning a blind eye to his unconventional governess's methods. Louisa's never faced so important a performance. Can she keep her act together long enough?
    Show book