Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Piranesi - cover

Piranesi

Susanna Clarke

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

New York Times Bestseller 
Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
 
From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
  
 Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
 
There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
 
 For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.

Other books that might interest you

  • Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy - cover

    Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy

    Joseph A. McCullough

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dark Alchemy is an ebook only mini-expansion for Frostgrave that includes a three-scenario campaign which can be played by either solo by one player or by two players working co-operatively. It also includes an expanded potions table, with numerous new magical elixirs, as well as new rules for the buying, selling, and creation of potions.
    Show book
  • The House of Untold Stories - 50 Unexpected Tales - cover

    The House of Untold Stories - 50...

    Peter Chiykowski

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    An orphanage for wayward stories. A labyrinth of secrets. A home on the border of reality…Open each door to find a world of magic and menace waiting for you, if you dare. In The House of Untold Stories, every page is a door, and every door leads to a new tale of heartbreak, triumph, horror, or imagination. Wander into an enchanted mansion of pocket universes and miniature tales, where each door leads to a micro-fiction story. With tales about anger thieves, a deadly pizza delivery service, haunted music boxes, and more, each room will take you on an unexpected journey.
    Show book
  • The Annual Migration of Clouds - cover

    The Annual Migration of Clouds

    Premee Mohamed

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A novella set in post–climate disaster Alberta; a woman infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home or stay and help rebuild her community
    		 
    The world is nothing like it once was: climate disasters have wracked the continent, causing food shortages, ending industry, and leaving little behind. Then came Cad, mysterious mind-altering fungi that invade the bodies of the now scattered citizenry. Reid, a young woman who carries this parasite, has been given a chance to get away — to move to one of the last remnants of pre-disaster society — but she can’t bring herself to abandon her mother and the community that relies on her. When she’s offered a coveted place on a dangerous and profitable mission, she jumps at the opportunity to set her family up for life, but how can Reid ask people to put their trust in her when she can’t even trust her own mind?
    		 
    With keen insight and biting prose, Premee Mohamed delivers a deeply personal tale in this post-apocalyptic hopepunk novella that reflects on the meaning of community and asks what we owe to those who have lifted us up.
    Show book
  • Vampire Granny and Other Surprising Stories - cover

    Vampire Granny and Other...

    Lura Dymond

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Meet the entertaining characters of this short story collection and follow them on their action-filled adventures. The dozen stories are contemporary science fiction with a twist, except for the last one. Granny Evans is a sweet old lady who bakes cookies and babysits. None of her neighbors know that she was made a vampire more than 175 years ago in New Orleans. Then her too-handsome vampire son comes for a visit and wreaks havoc in the neighborhood. Sindra is an initiative in the Cult of the Virgin, using a portal to travel between worlds, when the universe sends her flying in another direction and she ends up at the cookie store in the West Temple Mall. She has to evade an evil flute player and find the arches that will take her home. Janey and Timmy are playing tag across time one Sunday when they become embroiled in the 1381 Peasants Revolt and Janey has a baby named after her in the fourteenth century. As for the story that isn't science fiction? It'll break your heart.
    Show book
  • Aether Ones - cover

    Aether Ones

    Wendi Coffman-Porter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A science fiction mystery with political upheaval and dangerous secrets. It’s got a kick-butt female lead and lots of really neat alien races.” —The Bookwyrm’s Den 
     
    Long ago, the Great Sundering ripped the universe apart, creating two separate realities. The kuldain realm developed advanced technology, and its inhabitants travel the universe on massive ships to colonize and expand their empire. The aether realm, meanwhile, harnessed the magic of the massively powerful eldrich energy that connects everything within their realm. 
     
    Now, a tentative peace reigns between the two realms, maintained by a treaty and by the Imperial Investigative Service—a force designed to monitor interactions between the realms and ensure that most kuldain inhabitants don’t even know aether space exists. 
     
    Leilani Falconi, a talented agent of the IIS, polices the galaxy with quick sarcasm and a quicker temper. When a series of suspicious deaths in kuldain space threatens the secrecy and peace, Lei must solve the mystery—fast—before both her realities change forever. 
     
    “Impressive and original world building . . . an entertaining read and a book which transported me to a fascinating and vivid universe.” —Facing the Story 
     
    “Aether Ones with its incredible protagonist and refreshing take on a science fiction slash fantasy genre is a very engaging, fast-paced read.” —Lili’s Blissful Pages
    Show book
  • The Black Dreams - Strange stories from Northern Ireland - cover

    The Black Dreams - Strange...

    Ian Sansom, Jo Baker, Moyra...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    I don’t recall if I saw my first gunman in my childhood nightmares or on my childhood streets.
     
    There were plenty in both and they looked very much like each other.
     
    
     
     
    
     
    So begins Reggie Chamberlain-King’s introduction to The Black Dreams, a thrilling and compelling collection of specially commissioned stories that explore the emotional geography of growing up and living in Northern Ireland.
     
    
     
     
    The fourteen stories gathered here criss-cross coast, border and city as they map a ‘strange’ territory of in-between states and unstable realities in which understanding is unreliable. Obsessions, death and rebirth, violence, sexuality, retribution and apocalypse are all part of the rich fabric of The Black Dreams.
     
    
     
     
    Bringing together some of Northern Ireland’s finest writers, along with some of the best new talents, The Black Dreams celebrates and extends the rich tradition of the weird, surreal and dream-like in Northern Irish writing. It is also a powerful act of imagining and storytelling – a vibrant, vivid and exhilarating exploration of a world we cannot, or choose not, to see.
     
    
     
     
    Contributors: Jo Baker, Jan Carson, Reggie Chamberlain-King, Aislínn Clarke, Emma Devlin, Moyra Donaldson, Michelle Gallen, Carlo Gébler, John Patrick Higgins, Ian McDonald, Gerard McKeown, Bernie McGill, Ian Sansom, 
     
    Sam Thompson
    Show book