Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Dare to Remember: New Psychological Crime Drama - cover

Dare to Remember: New Psychological Crime Drama

Susanna Beard

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite

Other books that might interest you

  • The Fall Guy - cover

    The Fall Guy

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Handyman Cedric O'Toole likes his simple life. He lives by himself on a hardscrabble farm, collecting sheds full of junk and dreaming of his next invention. Then one day a slick city lawyer drives down his lane and his nightmare begins. Lori-Anne Wilkins, the wife of a wealthy local businessman, has fallen to her death from a deck Cedric built, and the furious widower has slapped him with a lawsuit. When Cedric goes to check out the accident site, he discovers that someone has tampered with the railing around the deck. It appears he's been set up to take the blame. But who might want Mrs. Wilkins dead? Then, when someone runs him off the road, he realizes that his life is in danger too. To clear his name and save his life, Cedric has to use his inventive mind to trap the real killer.
    Show book
  • Dead Air - cover

    Dead Air

    Scott Overton

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    It’s a hard thing to
    accept that someone wants you dead. It forces you to decide if you have anything
    worth living for.
When radio morning host Lee Garrett finds a death threat on
    his control console, he shrugs it off as a prank. Until a series of minor
    harassments turns into undeniable attempts on his life. The suspects are
    many—he’s made enemies—and the police are strangely uncooperative. The radio
    career he loved has turned sour, leaving behind a dwindling audience and the
    wreckage of his marriage. Then the friendship of a newly blind boy and the
    boy’s attractive teacher offer unexpected hope. Maybe he can make a fresh
    start.
    
     
    
    
     
    But when the deadliest
    assault yet claims an innocent victim, Garrett knows he has no choice—he has to
    find his persecutors and force a confrontation. The extraordinary outcome will
    test the limits of an ordinary man
    
     
    
    
     
    “A gripping, insightful debut from a
    veteran radio personality and gifted wordsmith.” —Sean Costello, author of Here
    After
    
     
    “Scott Overton is a storyteller of
    boundless skill…a writer to watch.” —Mark Leslie, author of Haunted Hamilton and
    I, Death
    Show book
  • Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A heartbreaking set of murders bring detectives Leith and Dion together in the Lower Mainland, where violence flows like a riptide. 
     
    
    
    Last summer the inlet waters washed an unnamed woman’s body onto the rocks of North Vancouver’s Neptune shipyards. When RCMP Constable Cal Dion returns home after a year’s absence, he finds the case still open and grown cold. 
     
    
    
    While Dion works to fit back in and put closure to the Jane Doe drowning case, newly relocated Constable Dave Leith is learning to cope with his first big-city posting. But they have bigger concerns: Why would anyone beat up a young electrician, then track down his wife and baby girl to finish them off? It is a motiveless and haunting killing that leaves behind one small witness and a handful of cryptic clues. And who battered and asphyxiated a wealthy nightclub owner in his own garage? A case of home invasion, by the looks of it. But Leith has a less abstract set of suspects to deal with: the victim’s business partner and his strange little clan. 
     
    
    The North Vancouver General Investigations Section is put to the test, with two files to solve, one tragic cold case, and Dion seemingly lost at sea.
    Show book
  • Dead of Night - Sloane Monroe Series #6 - cover

    Dead of Night - Sloane Monroe...

    Cheryl Bradshaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Wren Bancroft has found herself at the wrong place at the wrong time.  
    After her mother-in-law is fatally stabbed, Wren is seen fleeing the house with the bloody knife. Is Wren really the killer, or is a dark, scandalous family secret to blame? 
    If you enjoy the twists and turns of a good suspense story, you'll be swept away with Dead of Night.  
    A New York Times bestselling mystery series.  
    "Keeps you guessing until the end."  
     
    "I haven't enjoyed a good story like this for months."  
     
    "You'll be guessing who and why throughout, and will be totally surprised by the ending." 
    Show book
  • Girl in the Woods The - cover

    Girl in the Woods The

    Patricia Macdonald

    • 5
    • 39
    • 0
    A deathbed confession has chilling consequences in this gripping novel of psychological suspense.“I have to tell you something … I did something bad”.Ever since her best friend Molly was murdered fifteen years before, Blair Butler has returned to her small hometown in the Pocono mountains as seldom as possible. Now she has been summoned home to see her terminally ill sister one last time – only for Celeste to make a shocking deathbed confession. Is it really true that the wrong man has spent fifteen years in jail for a crime he didn’t commit?Having promised her dying sister that she would do her best to right the wrongs of the past, Blair sets out to discover what really happened that cold, wet November night fifteen years before: the night Molly’s battered body was found in the woods behind her home. But is Blair prepared for the shocking truth … ?
    Show book
  • Shot in Southwold - cover

    Shot in Southwold

    Suzette A. Hill

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    1960. Lady Fawcett is eager to vet her daughter Amy’s current beau, aspiring film director Bartholomew Hackle, who is shooting his first major movie in the charming Suffolk town of Southwold. As Amy is unable to accompany her mother, Rosy Gilchrist is strong-armed into tagging along. 
    On the set of The Languid Labyrinth nobody really knows what is going on – least of all Felix Smythe whose bit part is constantly changing, much to his chagrin. But the unambiguous death by gunshot of a female cast member injects some drama into proceedings – something sorely lacking in the film itself. Lady Fawcett, Rosy and Felix are at the centre of a murder mystery in which further victims may face the cut. 
    ‘CHARMING, ASTRINGENT AND WITTY’ The Guardian
    Show book