Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Dare to Remember: New Psychological Crime Drama - cover

Dare to Remember: New Psychological Crime Drama

Susanna Beard

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite

Other books that might interest you

  • The Last Templar - A Knights Templar Mystery - cover

    The Last Templar - A Knights...

    Michael Jecks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Knights Templar 
    They had all joined taking three vows: poverty, chastity, and obedience…for they were monks: warrior monks, dedicated to theprotection of pilgrims in the Holy Land -- until stories spread by anavaricious king who wanted their wealth for his own destroyed the order. 
    There was one knight, however, who escaped the stake, vowing justiceas he watched his innocent brothers die. 
    In the Service of the Lord 
    Simon Puttock has not been bailiff of Lydford Castle long in this year of 1316, when he is called to a nearby village to examine a burned-out cottage and the dead body within. But it is the newly arrived knight, Sir Baldwin Furnshill, who discerns the deceased was no victim of a tragic mishap; he was, in fact, murdered prior to the blaze. Simon would be well-served by accepting further assistance from this astute, though haunted and secretive stranger. For a second fatal burning indicates that some harsh evil has invaded this once-peaceful place, and its hunger has yet to be sated.
    Show book
  • Higher Learning - The Charlie Davies Mysteries #4 - cover

    Higher Learning - The Charlie...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charlie Davies is about to face her worst nightmare: she's going back to high school. Following the death of a local schoolgirl, Charlie must go undercover to find out who is dealing drugs to students. Not only does this mean heading back to class, but she must also get to know the girl's friends - who happen to be cheerleaders. Time to break out the pom-poms. 
    While at school, Charlie runs into her ex-boyfriend, now a science teacher, and can't tell if he's just being friendly or if there's something a little off about him. And naturally, police officer James McKenzie is working the case too - which is kind of awkward, seeing as he and Charlie haven't really spoken since The Incident.  
    This is not adding up to be a fun case. That's some maths even Charlie can do. 
    ***Contains some swearing.*** 
     
    'Higher Learning' is the fourth book in The Charlie Davies Mysteries. If you enjoy soft-boiled mysteries with a snarky heroine, give this series a try!
    Show book
  • Cold Comfort - Decker's War #2 - cover

    Cold Comfort - Decker's War #2

    Eric Thomson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Some people never learn that it’s a really bad idea to mess with a Marine Pathfinder, even one who has been forced into early retirement. Zack Decker just wanted to be left alone so he could live a quiet life with the woman he loved and make up for lost time, but his enemies simply couldn’t resist the temptation to pursue their vendetta. One moment, he was hauling cargo across the depths of interstellar space, the next he was in the hands of pirates and headed for the barbaric worlds beyond the Coalsack nebula, to be sold into captivity. Marines don’t make good slaves and Zack was more than happy to show everyone why he should have been killed straight away, because he was coming back, looking for blood. Revenge might be cold comfort, but he would remind them once again that he was still one of the Few…
    Show book
  • Dangerous Games - cover

    Dangerous Games

    Erin Lee

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    You can’t pick your kin or the risky games they play. Every family has its secrets but for Elise Reddick, entangled roots have turned deadly; leaving her torn between twisted memories and cold realities. 
    Estranged from her family of origin after a horrific crime, Elise tries to move on in the tiny town of Red Leaf while under investigation for her ex boyfriend’s murder. There, she forms new relationships and encounters more lies as she slowly unravels the truth behind her pedigree. 
    With the help of friends Marcus and Sylvia Bromsley, Elise has two choices – to allow her family to destroy her or to call checkmate. 
    But friends have secrets too. Sometimes, they even play games and loyalties are tested. Now tangled in her new friends’ worlds, trust more complicated than she ever anticipated. 
    Families, after all, are very twisted things. And friendships, too, can be dangerous.
    Show book
  • God Rob Ye Merry Gentlemen - Belchester Chroniclette - cover

    God Rob Ye Merry Gentlemen -...

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A festive special, complete with Beauchamps Major and Minor.
    
     
    It's nearly Christmas in Belchester and the carol singers are out in full swing. So too are the thieves! A spate of burglaries is underway and the police are baffled. 
    
     
    When Belchester Towers becomes a target, Lady Amanda Golightly is determined to get to the bottom of it all. None of the usual criminal types in the city seem to be involved, but after a bit of lateral thinking and old chum Hugo’s help, Lady Amanda is off, sniffing after a totally unsuspected scent...
    Show book
  • Cold Girl - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Cold Girl - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First police procedural has been set in the snowbound Hazelton area of northern B.C.
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    A northern winter and two mismatched detectives bring out outstanding character friction and dialogue
    Author is a court reporter and longtime resident of the Hazeltons who has seen many trials in the area, including murders, and conveys a sense of its isolation and the claustrophobic feel of its criminal investigations
    Author’s extensive courtroom experience also shows in the gripping psychological realism of the book's criminals
    Show book