Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Respectable Woman - Secrets and second-chances in 1920s Manchester perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Polly Heron - cover

A Respectable Woman - Secrets and second-chances in 1920s Manchester perfect for fans of Lyn Andrews and Polly Heron

Susanna Bavin

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

‘The focus on historical and emotional authenticity will leave readers heartily satisfied’ Publishers Weekly 
After losing everything she holds dear in the Great War, Nell believes that marrying Stan Hibbert will help to recapture the loving family feeling she has lost. Five years on, she is just another penny-pinching, back-street housewife. When she discovers Stan is leading a double-life, she runs away to make a fresh start elsewhere. 
Nell forges a new life for herself and her children in Manchester, working in a garment factory as a talented machinist. Her neighbours and colleagues believe she is a respectable widow – even her children think their father is dead – but when the past comes back to haunt her, Nell is faced with a court trial and will have to answer for her actions. 
‘A real page-turner that will tug at your heartstrings’ Anna Jacobs

Other books that might interest you

  • Childhood's End - cover

    Childhood's End

    Arthur C. Clarke

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    In the Retro Hugo Award–nominated novel that inspired the Syfy miniseries, alien invaders bring peace to Earth—at a grave price: “A first-rate tour de force” (The New York Times).   In the near future, enormous silver spaceships appear without warning over mankind’s largest cities. They belong to the Overlords, an alien race far superior to humanity in technological development. Their purpose is to dominate Earth. Their demands, however, are surprisingly benevolent: end war, poverty, and cruelty. Their presence, rather than signaling the end of humanity, ushers in a golden age . . . or so it seems.   Without conflict, human culture and progress stagnate. As the years pass, it becomes clear that the Overlords have a hidden agenda for the evolution of the human race that may not be as benevolent as it seems.   “Frighteningly logical, believable, and grimly prophetic . . . Clarke is a master.” —Los Angeles Times
    Show book
  • The Sound Between The Notes - A Novel - cover

    The Sound Between The Notes - A...

    Barbara Linn Probst

    • 1
    • 4
    • 1
    The highly anticipated new novel from the multiple award-winning author of Queen of the Owls . . .
    
    
    
    What if you had a second chance at the very thing you thought you’d renounced forever?  How steep a price would you be willing to pay?
    
    
    
    Susannah’s career as a pianist has been on hold for nearly sixteen years, ever since her son was born. An adoptee who’s never forgiven her birth mother for not putting her first, Susannah vowed to put her own child first, no matter what. And she did.
    
    
    
    But now, suddenly, she has a chance to vault into that elite tier of “chosen” musicians. There’s just one problem: somewhere along the way, she lost the power and the magic that used to be hers at the keyboard. She needs to get them back.  Now.
    
    
    
    Her quest—what her husband calls her obsession—turns out to have a cost Susannah couldn’t have anticipated. Even her hand betrays her, as Susannah learns that she has a progressive hereditary disease that’s making her fingers cramp and curl—a curse waiting in her genes, legacy of a birth family that gave her little else. As her now-or-never concert draws near, Susannah is catapulted back to memories she’s never been able to purge—and forward, to choices she never thought she would have to make.
    
    
    
    Told through the unique perspective of a musician, The Sound Between the Notes draws the reader deeper and deeper into the question Susannah can no longer silence: Who am I, and where do I belong?
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - A gripping escapist thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Richard & Judy pick Dark Winter - cover

    Into the Woods - A gripping...

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 18
    • 1
    If you go into the woods, you're in for a dark surprise. 
     
    Thirty years ago, three girls followed a stranger into the woods. Only two returned. The surviving pair have never been able to remember what happened or what the fate of the third girl was. Local rumours talk of hippies and drugs and mystic rituals, but no one has learned the truth.
     
    This story is just what Rowan Blake needs. He's in debt, his journalistic career is in tatters – as well as his damaged body – and he's retreated to the Lake District to write. Yet even Rowan isn't prepared for the evil he is about to unearth, for the secrets that have been buried in that wood for far too long...
     
    Praise for David Mark: 
     
    'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' DAILY MAIL
     
    'Breathtaking' PETER MAY
     
    'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' PETER JAMES
     
    'Brilliantly written – a cracking story' RICHARD MADELEY, Richard and Judy Book Club
     
    'To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting. Beautifully crafted, filled with flashbacks, horror, angst, and chilling detail' KIRKUS REVIEWS
     
    'Exceptional ... Mark is writing at the top of his game' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, Starred Review
     
    'A master of the dark psychological thriller' KIRKUS
    Show book
  • Through the Waters and the Wild - cover

    Through the Waters and the Wild

    Greg Fields

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    "I was hungry, seeing myself starving for want of something I could not define. I sought it constantly, sought it at every turn, searched every face I met for hints of it, looked everywhere I could conceive. I lost time trying to slake this unquenchable thirst, trying to satisfy an endlessly burning hunger. But in the end I knew precisely what I had been after all along. It is the folly of the young, part of their particular curse, to be so unaware, to be blind as well as hungry. To be in exile from themselves and not know they are away." 
     
    Haunted by lost loves and limping through a lifeless career, Conor Finnegan's discontent mirrors the restlessness of his grandfather Liam, caught as a young man in the crossfire of the Irish Civil War. Drawing from Liam's wisdom and courage, Conor seeks to reinvent his character and reclaim passions made numb by neglect and loss. 
     
    Through the Waters and the Wild addresses the timeless questions, "Where shall I go now? What shall I do?"
    Show book
  • Ashes of Fiery Weather - A Novel - cover

    Ashes of Fiery Weather - A Novel

    Kathleen Donohoe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This “stunning and intimate portrayal of four generations of New York City firefighters somehow manages to be part Alice McDermott, part Denis Leary” (Irish America).   One of Book Riot’s 100 Must-Read New York City Novels   Firefighters walk boldly into battle against the most capricious of elements. Their daughters, mothers, sisters, and wives walk through the world with another kind of strength and another kind of sorrow, and no one knows that better than the women of the Keegan-O’Reilly clan. Ashes of Fiery Weather takes us from famine-era Ireland to New York City a decade after 9/11, illuminating the passionate loves and tragic losses of generations of women in a firefighting family—with “characters that come so vividly to life one forgets one is reading a novel . . . Anyone Irish will face an uncanny recognition in these pages; everyone else will be enthralled meeting such captivating figures” (Matthew Thomas, New York Times–bestselling author of We Are Not Ourselves).  
    Show book
  • Crang Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - Crang Plays the Ace Straight No Chaser Take Five and 1 more - cover

    Crang Mysteries 4-Book Bundle -...

    Jack Batten

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Like a fine wine, the [Crang] series — and its protagonist — have aged well.” — The Toronto Star 
     
    “Not to be missed.” — The Globe and Mail 
     
    Jack Batten's hard-boiled Crang series returns with this four-book bundle, including the latest Crang mystery, 2016's Keeper of the Flame! 
     
    Includes:Crang Plays the Ace
    Straight No Chaser
    Take Five
    Keeper of the Flame
    Show book