As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Snow Foal - cover

Snow Foal

Susanna Bailey

Publisher: Egmont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'I absolutely love Snow Foal - it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime.' - Dame Jacqueline Wilson 
The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year. A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.  
When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster-care family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all. 
 
And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon . . .  
Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: Dawn of the Clans #3: The First Battle - cover

    Warriors: Dawn of the Clans #3:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Discover the origins of the warrior Clans in the third book of this thrilling prequel arc from mega-bestselling author Erin Hunter. The Dawn of the Clans series takes readers back to the earliest days of the Clans, when the cats first settled in the forest and began to forge the Warrior code. 
    The rivalry between Gray Wing and Clear Sky has driven a bitter wedge between the forest cats. As Thunder and Gray Wing struggle to find a peaceful path for the future, tensions are growing. What began as a misunderstanding between two brothers has spread far and wide—and now every mountain cat, rogue, and kittypet in the forest will be forced to pick a side. 
    Dawn of the Clans #3: The First Battle also contains an exclusive bonus scene and a teaser to Dawn of the Clans #4: The Blazing Star.
    Show book
  • Stick Dog - cover

    Stick Dog

    Tom Watson

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    Introducing everyone's new best friend: Stick Dog! 
    He'll make you laugh...he'll make you cry...but above all, he'll make you hungry! 
    Follow Stick Dog as he goes on an epic quest for the perfect burger. With hilarious text and stick-figure drawings, reluctant readers will eat this one up! 
    Perfect for fans of such series as Dog Man, Big Nate, Timmy Failure, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.
    Show book
  • Survivors #3: Darkness Falls - cover

    Survivors #3: Darkness Falls

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 31
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, comes the third book in the action-packed Survivors animal fantasy series. Full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Survivors will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Wild Pack’s ruthless Alpha has reluctantly agreed to allow the Leashed Dogs to join his Pack—but not before learning of Lucky’s role as a spy, and casting him out of the Pack forever. Lucky tries to be happy to have his freedom again, but this new world is treacherous for a Lone Dog. For the first time since the Big Growl, Lucky is desperate to have other dogs by his side . . . but it might be too late.
    Show book
  • Crown of Midnight - cover

    Crown of Midnight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 5
    • 24
    • 0
    She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known. 
    But does she have the heart of a killer? 
     
    After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin.  But Calaena is far from loyal to the crown. Keeping up the charade - while pretending to do the king's bidding - will test her skills in an entirely new way.  And it certainly isn't the only point of confusion for the young girl.  Because though she's made her choice between Dorian and Chaol, the ways of the heart are never simple...
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 5
    • 29
    • 0
    The seductive and stunning #1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas's spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre has undergone more trials than one human woman can carry in her heart. Though she's now been granted the powers and lifespan of the High Fae, she is haunted by her time Under the Mountain and the terrible deeds she performed to save the lives of Tamlin and his people.  
     
    As her marriage to Tamlin approaches, Feyre's hollowness and nightmares consume her. She finds herself split into two different people: one who upholds her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court, and one who lives out her life in the Spring Court with Tamlin. While Feyre navigates a dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms. She might just be the key to stopping it, but only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future-and the future of a world in turmoil. 
     
    Bestselling author Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her dazzling, sexy, action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • Warriors: Dawn of the Clans #6: Path of Stars - cover

    Warriors: Dawn of the Clans #6:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Discover the origins of the warrior Clans in this thrilling prequel to Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    The sixth book in the Dawn of the Clans series takes readers back to the earliest days of the Clans, when the cats first settled in the forest and began to forge the warrior code. 
    After moons of strife, the forest cats have settled into five camps. But now the dangerous rogue Slash has kidnapped Clear Sky's mate, Star Flower, and made demands for prey that the cats cannot afford to meet. Desperate to save Star Flower, Clear Sky must convince the other groups—led by Tall Shadow, Wind Runner, Thunder, and River Ripple—to join forces, or their new way of life may not survive. 
    Also includes a sneak peek at the next Warriors series, A Vision of Shadows! 
      
     
    Show book