Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Snow Foal - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Snow Foal

Susanna Bailey

Publisher: Egmont

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'I absolutely love Snow Foal - it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime.' - Dame Jacqueline Wilson 
The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year. A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.  
When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster-care family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all. 
 
And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon . . .  
Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Assassin's Blade - The Throne of Glass Novellas - cover

    The Assassin's Blade - The...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 23
    • 0
    Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she  works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to  no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam. 
     
    When  Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions  that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself  acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance.  Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that  she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying  Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by  her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they  hope to escape Arobynn's clutches-and if they fail, they'll lose not  just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . . 
     
    A prequel to  Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a  deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her  enthralling-and deadly-world. 
     
    Included in this volume: 
      The Assassin and the Pirate Lord 
      The Assassin and the Healer 
      The Assassin and the Desert 
      The Assassin and the Underworld 
      The Assassin and the Empire
    Show book
  • The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine - cover

    The Keepers #2: The Harp and the...

    Ted Sanders

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Horace F. Andrews and his friend Chloe are Keepers of magical objects of extraordinary power.  But as the presence of a new Keeper is made known, they are drawn into a struggle to find out who she is and where her loyalties lie. A gripping sequel to The Box and the Dragonfly, the first book in Ted Sanders’s Keepers series, hailed by the New York Times Book Review as a “satisfying and original quest tale.”  
    As Horace and Chloe adjust to their newfound talents—Horace can see the future and Chloe can walk through walls—a girl called April is drawn toward the Keeper stronghold, the Warren. She comes with a Tan’ji of her own, though it is damaged and there is no telling what will happen if it cannot be made whole again. Accompanied by a mysterious woman with a power of her own and the young boy leading them in the right direction, April is being pursued by a pack of sinister hunters. Will she reach the Warren in time, and will it offer safety or only more danger? 
    Ted Sanders’s series has the feel of classic fantasy with a science fiction twist, and this second book, The Harp and the Ravenvine, will thrill readers with adventure, intrigue, and the unexpected at every turn.
    Show book
  • Heir of Fire - cover

    Heir of Fire

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 23
    • 0
    Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed? 
     
    The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Times best-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.
    Show book
  • Septimus Heap Book Two: Flyte - cover

    Septimus Heap Book Two: Flyte

    Angie Sage

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The second book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a  wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard. 
    New York Times Bestselling Series 
    “Terrifically entertaining. Fans of the first book will be delighted with this sequel to Septimus’s story.” —VOYA (starred review) 
    “Readers will find themselves quickly immersed in this imaginative world, moving from one well-crafted adventure to another at a suspenseful pace.” —School Library Journal 
    It's been a year since Septimus Heap discovered his real family and true calling to be a wizard. As Apprentice to ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand, he is learning the fine arts of Conjurations, Charms, and other Magyk, while Jenna is adapting to life as the Princess and enjoying the freedom of the Castle. 
    But there is something sinister at work. Marcia is constantly trailed by a menacing Darke Shadow, and Septimus's brother Simon seems bent on a revenge no one understands. Why is the Darke Magyk still lingering? 
    Bringing fantasy to new heights, Angie Sage continues the journey of Septimus Heap with her trademark humor and all of the clever details readers have come to love.
    Show book
  • The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly - cover

    The Keepers: The Box and the...

    Ted Sanders

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.  
    From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it? 
    When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 
    Show book
  • A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting #1 - cover

    A Babysitter's Guide to Monster...

    Joe Ballarini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Last Kids on Earth meets Goosebumps in this hilarious new series about a secret society of babysitters who protect kids from the monsters that really do live under their beds! 
    When middle schooler Kelly Ferguson’s Halloween plans switch from party-going to babysitting, she thinks the scariest part of her night will be the death of her social life. But then Baby Jacob gets kidnapped by the Boogeyman’s minions and Kelly learns there’s a whole lot more to childcare than free snacks and Netflix. Like chasing shadow monsters, drop-kicking Toadies, and mastering monster-fighting moves like the Naptime Headlock and Playground Punch. 
    Now, with the help of an ancient handbook and a secret society of butt-kicking babysitters, Kelly sets out to destroy the Boogeyman before he brings Jacob’s nightmares to life. But when the monsters’ trail leads to her school’s big Halloween bash, Kelly will have to prove she can save the world—without totally embarrassing herself in front of her friends.  
    Packed with black-and-white illustrations and insider secrets from the world of monster hunting, A Babysitter’s Guide to Monster Hunting is full of tricks, treats, and terrifying twists!
    Show book