Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
If You Are There - A Novel - cover

If You Are There - A Novel

Susan Sherman

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 0
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

Set in the early 1900s, the novel follows young Lucia Rutkowski who, thanks to the influence of her beloved grandmother, escapes the Warsaw ghetto to work as a kitchen maid in one of the wealthiest neighborhoods in the bustling city of Paris. Too talented for her lowly position, Lucia is thrown out on the street. Her only recourse is to take a job working for two disorganized, rather poor married scientists so distracted by their work that their house and young child are often neglected. Lucia soon bonds with her eccentric employers, watching as their work with radioactive materials grows increasing noticed by the world, then rising to fame as the great Marie and Pierre Curie.Soon, all of Paris is alit with the news of an impending visit from Eusapia Palladino, the world’s most famous medium. It is through her now famous employers that Lucia attends Eusapia’s gatherings and eventually falls under the medium’s spell, leaving the Curie household to travel with her to Italy. Ultimately, Lucia is placed directly in the crosshairs of faith versus science –what is more real, the glowing substances of the Curie laboratory or the glowing visions that surround the medium during her séance?

Who read this book also read:

  • The Shadow over Innsmouth - cover

    The Shadow over Innsmouth

    H. P. Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    „The Shadow Over Innsmouth” follows a nameless narrator touring New England for information on his family, and studying the local architecture. The story describes a man who finds himself stranded in a half-deserted town with strange inhabitants. They look human – mostly, but there is something odd about their eyes and their behavior. He meets the town drunk, Zadok Allen, who tells him the terrifying history of the town, about Devil Reef and mutant humanoids, sea gods, gold, and human sacrifice. When the narrator finds himself stranded in town overnight, he comes face to face with the town’s horrifying secret... one not of this world... A story about the horror that could turn to wonder, the once perceived abyss is afterwards seen as the most fascinating destiny, and what was at first avoided at all costs is eventually embraced with open arms.
    Show book
  • Hauntings - cover

    Hauntings

    Ellen Datlow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This fiendish anthology, complied by the horror genre’s most acclaimed editor, drags you into the twisted minds of modern literary masters at their fiendish best. Visionary storytellers fill this collection of tales lyrical and strange, monstrous and exhilarating, horrific and transformative.*A sweetly vengeful voice on the radio calls a young soldier out to join a phantom patrol.*A hotel maid who threw her newborn child from a fourth-story window lingers in an interminable state.*An intern in a paranormal research facility delves deeply into the unexplained deaths of two staff members.*A serial killer plans his ultimate artistic achievement: the unveiling of an extremely special instrument in a very private concert.At once familiar and shocking, these riveting stories will haunt you long after you put down your book and turn out the light.
    Show book
  • Fortified Dreams - Dreams and Reality #11 - cover

    Fortified Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    There is a conspiracy afoot, one involving some of the most dangerous people on the planet. A network of organized serial killers exists; Aislinn Cain and the SCTU have found evidence of it. Yet, they have very few leads.  
     
    Until the serial killers go on the offensive and Aislinn Cain wakes up to find herself living her worst fears. They have stormed the Federal Offices where Nyleena Clachan works and staged an uprising within the serial killer prison, The Fortress.  
     
    To bring an end to this madness and find out who is behind it all, sacrifices will have to be made. The costs will be high as Aislinn and the team go up against some of the baddest serial killers that exist.
    Show book
  • One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    One Lucky Vampire - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 9
    • 0
    No one does wickedly funny and irresistibly steamy like New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands—especially in this red-hot romance between a reluctant vampire and the beauty who needs his help. 
    Luck be a vampire tonight . . . 
    When Nicole Phillips agreed to hire a housekeeper, she pictured someone a little frumpy and almost certainly female. Instead, she gets gorgeous, unmistakably male Jake Colson. The man is proving indispensable in the kitchen—and everywhere else. Except Jake might not be a mortal man at all. 
    . . . and every night 
    Who wouldn't want to be a tall, dark, powerful vampire?Jake, for one. He's barely had time to adjust to his newstate before he's roped into a family favor. Still, secretly playing bodyguard to sweet, sexy Nicole is turning out to be the wildest ride of his life. First, he'll put a stop to whoever's targeting her. Then he'll prove that this kind of love, and luck, happens only once in an eternity.
    Show book
  • Triggered Reality - Dreams and Reality #15 - cover

    Triggered Reality - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For most of Kansas City, it was a beautiful spring day.  For Eric Clachan, it was the day he would get justice through bloodshed.  A rifle would ensure that the spree killer would never destroy another family.  He wouldn’t stop there.  Eric had a list of other targets inside the prison walls.  Targets that would ensure justice would change.  A single day would change the world and pave the way for the US Marshals to become the baddest serial killer hunters in the world.  Eric knew this as he looked down the scope and took aim.   
    Max Goff needed to relax.  His life had become overwhelming.  He should have gotten a massage and spent a day with friends.  Instead, he stole a car and began a killing spree that would terrorize an entire city.  Until the newly formed US Marshals’ Serial Crimes Tracking Unit would come hunting for him and he would learn what fear really was.
    Show book
  • Keeper Chronicles: Awakening - cover

    Keeper Chronicles: Awakening

    Katherine Wynter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Demons are among us. And humanity's hidden guardians are the Keepers...
    
    Rebekah Lorek is special. Not only is she the perfect hostess to the guests at her lighthouse bed-and-breakfast, she has extraordinary abilities that are only now awakening.
    
    When Rebekah's father, the lighthouse keeper, turns up dead, her ex-boyfriend Gabe McDaniel shows up to investigate-as does a dark secret. His suspicions are soon confirmed: Rebekah's father was murdered by a demon in disguise.
    
    As Rebekah struggles to manage the coastal inn with the help of a new houseguest she's fallen for, she becomes more and more aware of the hidden, supernatural conflict around her. More dead bodies are discovered, and as old flames are rekindled, Gabe must take matters into his own hands to protect Rebekah from the dark forces that would see them all destroyed.
    
    Will Gabe and Rebekah solve the mystery in time? Or will humanity fall?
    
    Keeper Chronicles: Awakening is a fast-paced urban fantasy thriller in the vein of Jocelyn Drake and Jaye Wells.
    Show book