Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Saint Thomas More - Courage Conscience and the King - cover

Saint Thomas More - Courage Conscience and the King

Susan Helen, Patricia Edward

Publisher: Pauline Books and Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Capturing a glimpse into the life of a Catholic torn between his faith and duty to his country, this 33rd volume in the Encounter the Saints series familiarizes children 9-12 with the life story of Saint Thomas More. He is a timely example for young people in the current culture that is often contrary to the teachings of the Church. With his assistance, children will be inspired and encouraged to stand up for their faith in all situations, regardless of the sacrifice.

Other books that might interest you

  • Walk on Earth a Stranger - cover

    Walk on Earth a Stranger

    Rae Carson

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A New York Times bestseller and National Book Award longlist selection 
    The first book in a new trilogy from acclaimed New York Times–bestselling author Rae Carson. A young woman with the magical ability to sense the presence of gold must flee her home, taking her on a sweeping and dangerous journey across Gold Rush–era America. Walk on Earth a Stranger begins an epic saga from one of the finest writers of young adult literature. 
    Lee Westfall has a secret. She can sense the presence of gold in the world around her. Veins deep beneath the earth, pebbles in the river, nuggets dug up from the forest floor. The buzz of gold means warmth and life and home—until everything is ripped away by a man who wants to control her. Left with nothing, Lee disguises herself as a boy and takes to the trail across the country. Gold was discovered in California, and where else could such a magical girl find herself, find safety? 
    Rae Carson, author of the acclaimed Girl of Fire and Thorns series, dazzles with the first book in the Gold Seer Trilogy, introducing a strong heroine, a perilous road, a fantastical twist, and a slow-burning romance, as only she can.
    Show book
  • Pretty Little Liars #2: Flawless - cover

    Pretty Little Liars #2: Flawless

    Sara Shepard

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling series 
    The second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series that inspired the hit ABC Family TV show Pretty Little Liars. 
    In ultra-exclusive Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four beautiful girls are hiding very ugly secrets. Spencer covets her sister’s boyfriend. Aria is fantasizing about her gorgeous young English teacher. Emily is infatuated with the new girl at school. And Hanna is using some ugly tricks to stay amazingly beautiful. But their most horrible secret is something so scandalous it could destroy their perfect little lives. And someone named “A” is threatening to do just that.  
    Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, Flawless is the second book in New York Times bestselling author Sara Shepard’s compelling Pretty Little Liars series.  
    Show book
  • I Am Not a Number - cover

    I Am Not a Number

    Lisa Heathfield

    • 4
    • 6
    • 0
    The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O'Neill and Lisa Williamson. 
     
    Ever since the Traditional party came into power, 15-year-old Ruby’s life has changed for the worse. Everything Ruby and her family and friends celebrate – equal rights for women, freedom of movement, individual expression – are forbidden. And things are getting worse . . . 
     
    Soon Ruby and her family find themselves taken to a prison camp far from home with no possessions, food or rights. Each person is allocated a number – Ruby is number 276. Forced into hard labour, starving and with friends and family going missing every day, Ruby knows she has to escape and let the world know what is happening. She has to somehow cling on to her identity, and fight back. The future depends on it.
     
    Lisa Heathfield's other books: 
     
    Seed 9781405275385Paper Butterflies 9781405275392Flight of Starling 9781405285902
    Show book
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend - cover

    The Fill-In Boyfriend

    Kasie West

    • 22
    • 248
    • 2
    When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. 
    The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship? 
    Smartly observed and wonderfully romantic, Kasie West's talent shines in this tale of one girl's unexpected quest to find love…and possibly herself.
    Show book
  • Red Queen - cover

    Red Queen

    Victoria Aveyard

    • 14
    • 119
    • 0
    The #1 New York Times bestselling series! 
    Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.  
    Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own. 
     
    To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. 
    One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal. 
    And don’t miss Broken Throne: A Red Queen Collection, featuring three brand-new novellas and other exclusive content, coming in April!
    Show book
  • Treacherous Love - The Diary Of An Anonymous Teenager - cover

    Treacherous Love - The Diary Of...

    Beatrice Sparks

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Jennie's life is turning upside down. Her father has walked out, and her anguished mother seeks solace in pills. Her best friend practically abandons her to be with a boyfriend. It seems like Jennie's real best friend is her diary. Then she meets Mr. Johnstone, the substitute math teacher. Jennie has never met such a charismatic teacher. She feels honored when Mr. J. seems to single her out for special attention, and begins to fantasize about him as her boyfriend. When Mr. J. first reveals his feelings for her, she is thrilled by the relationship that grows outside the classroom walls. Then, slowly, Jennie's diary becomes a record of her loneliness, pain, and confusion. Will it also offer her a way to escape from this treacherous love?
    Show book