Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
What Her Body Thought - A Journey Into the Shadows - cover

What Her Body Thought - A Journey Into the Shadows

Susan Griffin

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this boldly intimate and intelligent blend of personal memoir, social history, and cultural criticism, Susan Griffin profoundly illuminates our understanding of illness. She explores its physical, emotional, spiritual, and social aspects, revealing how it magnifies our yearning for connection and reconciliation. 
Griffin begins with a gripping account of her own harrowing experiences with Chronic Fatigue and Immune Dysfunction Syndrome (CFIDS), a potentially life-threatening illness that has been misconstrued and marginalized through the label "psychosomatic." Faced with terrifying bouts of fatigue, pain, and diminished thinking, the shame of illness, and the difficulty of being told you are "not really ill," she was driven to understand how early childhood loss made her susceptible to disease. 
Alongside her own story, Griffin weaves in her fascinating interpretation of the story of Marie du Plessis, popularized as the fictional Camille, an eighteenth-century courtesan whose young life was taken by tuberculosis. In the old story, Griffin finds contemporary themes of "money, bills, creditors, class, social standing, who is acceptable and who not, who is to be protected and who abandoned." In our current economy, she sees "how to be sick can impoverish, how poverty increases the misery of sickness, and how the implicit violence of this process wounds the soul as well as the body." 
Griffin insists that we must tell our stories to maintain our own integrity and authority, so that the sources of suffering become visible and validated. She writes passionately of a society where we are all cared for through "the rootedness of our connections. How the wound of being allowed to suffer points to a need to meet at the deepest level, to make an exchange at the nadir of life and death, the giving and taking which will weave a more spacious fabric of existence, communitas, community." Her views of the larger problems of illness and society are deeply illuminating.

Who read this book also read:

  • Gay Erotica Three Erotic Gay Stories - cover

    Gay Erotica Three Erotic Gay...

    Jeff Vyoney

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Gay Erotica Three Erotic Gay Stories. steamy erotic compilation stories.
    Show book
  • Everything Eyes - Professional Techniques * Essential Tools * Gorgeous Makeup Looks - cover

    Everything Eyes - Professional...

    Bobbi Brown

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bestselling author and world-famous makeup artist Bobbi Brown reveals her expert techniques for creating show-stopping eyes—from everyday natural to smoky to party sparkle. To coincide with the launch of Bobbi's eyewear range and a brand-new eye makeup palette, Everything Eyes covers basic eye care, essential brushes and tools, and step-by-step tutorials for 10 stunning looks. Famous for her signature glasses look, Bobbi also shares her tried-and-true tips for selecting frames and wearing makeup with glasses. This chic book is the manual for all women who want gorgeous eyes. And that means every woman!
    Show book
  • Domination and Submission - An Xcite Guide to Sexy Fun - cover

    Domination and Submission - An...

    Aishling Morgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This series is about pleasure; joyful, liberated, sexual pleasure. User-friendly - it's designed for the curious amateur. It's about pleasures that go beyond what most people are used to, and beyond what is generally accepted as mainstream, not just sex, but naughty sex, the kind of sex that involves more leather than lace, more kink than kissing, that involves bound wrists and smacked bottoms.
    
    * User-friendly. Designed for the curious, liberated amateur
    * Playful. This is what consenting adults can do for fun.
    * Written with 25 years of experience.
    * Focussed on playing at home. You don't have to spend a lot of money or go out to clubs – perfect for the credit crunch.
    * Polysexual not excluding hetro, gay, lesbian, transgender or polyamorous people. 
    
    About the Author
    
    Aishling Morgan is one of many pseudonyms used by the world's most prolific author of erotic literature, with over one hundred published titles. Aishling also has personal experience stretching back to the 'seventies, has been involved in London's active and vibrant fetish scene for many years, enjoys tastes that cover a multitude of pleasures and leave very few avenues unexplored, and has plenty of knowledgeable friends to help fill in the gaps. Nobody could be better qualified to write this book
    
    WARNING: Contains sexually explicit images - 18+ content
    Show book
  • Coconut Oil to Raise Your Energy Level - Coconut Oil Natural Cures Secrets - cover

    Coconut Oil to Raise Your Energy...

    Sherri Neal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The coconut is a tropical fruit and this fruit has been long used in so many traditional medical treatments as well as in personal hair, skin care. You may eat the coconut meat or drink its juice or milk to get the most of the therapeutic goodness of this fruit but experts believe that using coconut oil is the best way to reap the benefits of the coconut. Coconut oil is extracted from the processing of coconut meat. In very delicate wet processing, the meat is removed and processed using machines to yield oil. This oil is further refined to remove any impurities. There are two types of coconut oil: food-grade and therapeutic-grade coconut oil. Food-grade oils are used as ingredients to food, recipes and in making various food stuffs while therapeutic-grade oil is used as ingredients in making personal care products and for medical purposes. Using coconut oil to boost energy level becomes very popular. Aim of the book Coconut Oil to Raise Your Energy Level: Coconut Oil Natural Cures
    Show book
  • 1000 Unforgettable Senior Moments - Of Which We Could Remember Only 254 - cover

    1000 Unforgettable Senior...

    Tom Friedman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The president who left the nuclear launch codes in a suit at the dry cleaners. The novelist who put the orange juice outside and the kitten in the refrigerator. The Russian general who left home in full military dress . . . minus his pants. The famous sex goddess who blew the same line through 52 takes. And the rock star who no longer remembers 1975. Filled with classic lapses, gaffes, and mental bloopers, 1,000 Unforgettable Senior Moments is a fabulous and witty gift for anyone of a certain age. And now it is updated, revised with more than 20 percent new stories, and repackaged in two color, making it an even more vibrant, visually appealing, fresh, and compellingly readable book. Anyone who’s ever had a mental lapse will empathize with relative spring chicken Nicki Minaj, who, while accepting a BET Viewers’ Choice Award, forgot why she was receiving the statuette (on live national television, no less). Or the team of astrophysicists who believed they had discovered proof of alien life—only to discover the signals were coming from the lunchroom microwave. Here’s a best man forgetting to show up at the wedding, a musician leaving his priceless cello in a cab, the bank robber who wrote a holdup note on a paycheck stub that had his name and address printed on it, and the Fox studio chief who, when pressed by his leading lady to remember her name, offered “. . . Cleopatra?”  
    Show book
  • The Happiness Project (Revised Edition) - Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning Clean My Closets Fight Right Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun - cover

    The Happiness Project (Revised...

    Gretchen Rubin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible  
    Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
    Show book