Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Roland G Henin - 50 Years of Mentoring Great American Chefs - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Roland G Henin - 50 Years of Mentoring Great American Chefs

Susan Crowther

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Fifty interviews pay tribute to the Frenchman who transformed the American culinary scene and inspired countless chefs and foodies.    Certified Master Chef Roland G. Henin has been our nation’s top culinary mentor for the past fifty years, training such prestigious chefs as Chef Thomas Keller of French Laundry and Per Se and Certified Master Chef Ron DeSantis. For the first time, his story is being told—from his own perspective and through the lens of some of America’s most prominent chefs.   Read about how Certified Master Chef Rich Rosendale was inspired by Henin to turn a decommissioned nuclear bunker into a training kitchen. Discover Thomas Keller’s motivation for becoming a chef—a philosophy he learned from Henin. This fascinating memoir includes more than fifty interviews from mentees and colleagues who were shaped in some way by Chef Henin. Full of humorous anecdotes and behind-the-scenes glimpses into the elite culinary world, this is a rare and fascinating look at the life and legacy of a culinary genius.   Chef Henin was among the first European chefs to cross the Atlantic and bring classical cuisine to American culture. He and other pioneering chefs, like Jean-Jacques Rachou, were subversive radicals of their Old World. You won’t be disappointed by this unique memoir. As Chef Henin says, “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right.”

Other books that might interest you

  • The Baddest Bitch in the Room - A Memoir - cover

    The Baddest Bitch in the Room -...

    Sophia Chang

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is powerful as hell and the author is a total badass. 
    A poignant blend of memoir and actionable inspiration that goes beyond stories of celebrities and eschews insider gossip for a clear-eyed and open-hearted perspective on motherhood, desire and sexuality, aging, music, and professional life as an Asian woman in a male-dominated industry.
    This author is a juggernaut of self-promotion, confident, well-spoken, experienced, widely and deeply well-connected, and frequently speaks to audiences of hundreds of people (most recently at places like Spotify corporate, Conde Nast corporate, etc) 
    The marketplace has seen outstanding sales for books like The Last Black Unicorn, Let Love Have the Last Word, and Go Ahead in the Rain in recent years; however, there are still very few memoirs published by powerful Asian American women in the arts. The Baddest Bitch in the Room is groundbreaking as one of the only books at the intersection of memoir, personal growth, and inspiration written by a powerful, middle-aged, Asian American pioneer of the music business 
    Catapult is publishing this as TPO after Reese Witherspoon personally persuaded the author to take an audio-only deal with Hello Sunshine / Audible as part of the partnership's 6-title audio-only publication in September 2019; Six weeks after the audio book was released, THE BADDEST BITCH IN THE ROOM was still a #1 Audible bestseller; so this book is also groundbreaking in its very publishing model, an angle we'll be exploring
    To appeal to readers of Brene Brown, Michelle Obama, Nicole Chung, or Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic; it's also for fans of hip-hop, including artists Wu-Tang Clan, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, D'Angelo, and for fans of popular music history 
    Sophia Chang is a Korean-Canadian who left Vancouver for New York in 1987, when she first worked as an assistant to Paul Simon, and from there built her storied career at such record companies as Atlantic, Jive, and Universal Music Group. In 1993, Sophia met a Staten Island rapper named Prince Rakeem, now known as the RZA, founder of the Wu-Tang Clan, perhaps the most revered and influential rap group in hip-hop history. This meeting not only led to a deep, lasting friendship between Sophia and the Wu-Tang Clan that continues to this day, but also took Sophia’s life in new directions. Since then, she has managed Wu-Tang members ODB, GZA, RZA as well as Q-Tip, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, and D'Angelo. In 1995, Chang left the music business to be trained in kung fu and to manage the USA Shaolin Temple with her then partner with whom she has two children. She currently splits her time between LA and New York
    Catapult's edition will feature expanded content and extensive visuals
    Author will speak at major venues and corporate partners (Spotify, MailChimp, Google, Apple), and we're pitching 92nd St Y, Los Angeles Public Library, Asian American museums and cultural institutions
    Show book
  • Plant Dreaming Deep - A Journal - cover

    Plant Dreaming Deep - A Journal

    May Sarton

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    After a peripatetic life, forty-five-year-old May Sarton longed to put down roots and found them in New Hampshire in the form of a dilapidated eighteenth-century farmhouse with good bones . . . It was the realization of a dream that had been a long time comingIn Plant Dreaming Deep, Sarton shares an intensely personal account of transforming a house into a home. She begins with an introduction to the enchanting village of Nelson, where she first meets her house. Sarton finds she must “dream the house alive” inside herself before taking the major step of signing the deed. She paints the walls white in order to catch the light and searches for the precise shade of yellow for the kitchen floor. She discovers peace and beauty in solitude, whether she is toiling in the garden or writing at her desk.This is a loving, beautifully crafted memoir illuminated by themes of friendship, love, nature, and the struggles of the creative life.This ebook features an extended biography of May Sarton.
    Show book
  • A Childhood In Scotland - cover

    A Childhood In Scotland

    Christiana Miller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Introduced by Dorothy Parker. When I was a little girl, the ghosts were more real to me than the people. In this perceptive and unpretentious autobiography Christian Miller recalls her privileged but at the same time deprived upper-class childhood in a castle in Scotland. Through the eye and ears of a 1920s child who seems to have seen and heard everything within the massive granite walls of her home, she gives us a unique insight into what must surely have been one of the last relics of feudal life. The books fascination lies in its re-creation of life in a big house of the period. This is a book one can live in. Daily Telegraph Opening the pages of this book is like stepping through the looking glass into another world. Glasgow Herald
    Show book
  • Full Service - My Adventures in Hollywood and the Secret Sex Lives of the Stars - cover

    Full Service - My Adventures in...

    Scotty Bowers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Now the subject of the hit documentary Scotty and the Secret History of Hollywood, praised by Vanity Fair as “full of revelations” and Entertainment Weekly as “deliciously salacious,” Full Service is the remarkable true story of Scotty Bowers, the “gentleman hustler,” during the heyday of classic Hollywood. 
     
    
    Newly discharged from the Marines after World War II, Bowers arrived in Hollywood in 1946. Young, charismatic, and strikingly handsome, he quickly caught the eye of many of the town’s stars and starlets. He began sleeping with some himself, and connecting others with his coterie of young, attractive, and sexually free-spirited friends. His own lovers included Edith Piaf, Spencer Tracy, Vivien Leigh, Cary Grant, and the abdicated King of England Edward VIII, and he arranged tricks or otherwise crossed paths with Tennessee Williams, Charles Laughton, Vincent Price, Katharine Hepburn, Rita Hayworth, Errol Flynn, Gloria Swanson, Noël Coward, Mae West, James Dean, Rock Hudson and J. Edgar Hoover, to name but a few.
     
    
    Full Service is not only a fascinating chronicle of Hollywood’s sexual underground, but also exposes the hypocrisy of the major studios, who used actors to propagate a myth of a conformist, sexually innocent America knowing full well that their stars’ personal lives differed dramatically from this family-friendly mold. As revelation-filled as Hollywood Babylon, Full Service provides a lost chapter in the history of the sexual revolution and is a testament to a man who provided sex, support, and affection to countless people.
    Show book
  • Historical Heroines - One Hundred Women You Should Know About - cover

    Historical Heroines - One...

    Michelle Rosenberg, Sonia D Picker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From Mata Hari and Pocahontas to Lucrezia Borgia and Hedy Lamarr—fascinating portraits of history’s most unforgettable, and some unjustly forgotten, women.   Cleopatra. Audrey Hepburn. Sappho. Calamity Jane. Marie Antoinette. Lilith. Harriet Beecher Stowe. Dame Emma Hamilton. Mary Shelley. Mary Frith. Some are celebrated in folklore legend; some are remembered only as movie stars; many will be familiar in their native countries; while others are, for the most part, unjustly unknown.   Not anymore. Let this rewarding anthology set the record straight on: World War I heroine and nurse Edith Cavell; turn of the century Iñupiat explorer Ada Blackjack; eighteenth-century abolitionist, slave, and women’s rights pioneer Soujourner Truth; Gorgo, 480 BC Queen of Sparta; Agent 355, the American Revolution’s most mysterious spy; nineteenth-century socialite and archaeologist Lady Hester Stanhope; eighteenth-century Irish physician Margaret Bulky who plied her trade by passing as a man for fifty years; and many, many more adventurers, leaders, and freedom fighters—each and every one, a groundbreaker whose name deserves a place in history.
    Show book
  • Nobody - A Liminal Autobiography - cover

    Nobody - A Liminal Autobiography

    Threasa Meads

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Nobody is a highly stylized memoir that employs the choose-your-own-adventure structure to illustrate the complexity of navigating trauma for both author and reader. Nobody invites you to closely share a young girl’s brave journey of growing up in Australia in the eighties in a violent and abusive world. It transgresses the boundaries of literary traumatic representation to weave moments of sweetness and humor through a narrative where unexpected threads of beauty and darkness intersect, emphasizing the horrors of her environment. In conflating the labyrinth and maze, Nobody offers glimpses of the threads and juxtapositions that emerge when struggling to cope with traumatic memory.Nobody’s second-person narration and choose-your-own-adventure form work seamlessly together with word and image to powerfully convey the intimate exchange that the author had with her fragmented selves while writing, and reveals the claustrophobia and confusion of PTSD.Nobody challenges readers to cross the threshold: it forces them to examine their position as voyeuristic consumers of trauma and asks them to recognize their essential role as participant-witnesses. Through facilitating readers’ uncomfortable engagement with the text, Nobody challenges them to see the threads of complicity connecting individuals and communities to the ongoing issues of domestic violence and child sexual abuse.
    Show book