Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dirt - cover

Dirt

Stuart Woods

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

The second novel in the thrilling Stone Barrington Series by #1 New York Times Bestselling author Stuart Woods 
"Blackmail, murder, suspense, love—what else could you want in a book?" –Cosmopolitan  
Feared and loathed for her poison pen and ice queen persona, Amanda Dart has made her share of enemies. Then the tables are turned. An anonymous gossipmonger is faxing Amanda's personal and private peccadilloes to anyone who can read. Desperate to save her reputation, she enlists the help of New York lawyer and private investigator Stone Barrington to learn the identity of the faxer. And everyone in the world of tabloid journalism becomes a suspect. 
But the faxes don't stop. In fact, they get worse. And Stone winds up with more leads than one man can handle, until Amanda takes matters dangerously into her own hands and turns the world of gossip on its head. As the circle of suspects shrinks, Stone discovers that even the most respected members of the social scene will stop at nothing—even homicide—to clear their sullied names.

Other books that might interest you

  • Till Sudden Death Do Us Part - cover

    Till Sudden Death Do Us Part

    Simon R. Green

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Although he hasn’t seen Robert Bergin for 40 years, Ishmael feels duty bound to respond when his old friend calls for help. Robert’s daughter Gillian is about to be married, and he is afraid she’ll fall prey to the ancient family curse. 
    Arriving in rural Yorkshire, Ishmael and his partner Penny learn that the vicar who was to perform the ceremony has been found dead in the church, hanging from his own bell rope. With no clues, no evidence and no known motive, many locals believe the curse is responsible. Or is someone just using it as a smokescreen for murder? With the wedding due to take place the following day, Ishmael has just a few hours to uncover the truth.
    Show book
  • Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - Shallow End Tumbled Graves Butterfly Kills Cold Mourning - cover

    Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When damaged, brilliant detective Kala Stonechild and workaholic staff sergeant Jacques Rouleau get paired up, pieces start falling into place. The series has been called “deeply atmospheric and tightly plotted” and praised for its grit. Now, the first four mysteries are available together in an ebook-exclusive bundle at a special price. 
     
    
    
    Includes: 
     
    
    
    Cold Mourning – Book #1 
    
    A week before Christmas, wealthy businessman Tom Underwood disappears into thin air, with more than enough people wanting him dead. Kala Stonechild is a new member of the specialized Ottawa Police unit tasked with bringing him home for the holidays, but a killer has other plans. Who can you trust when love turns to hate and murder stalks a family? 
     
    
    
    Butterfly Kills – Book #2 
    
    Rouleau is in a new job in a new city. He’s in a fight against time to keep his dysfunctional team together long enough to get to sort out the innocent from the evil. 
     
    
    
    Tumbled Graves – Book #3 
    
    When Adele Delaney and her daughter go missing, Kala Stonechild and Paul Gundersund investigate. Adele’s body soon turns up — dead, with no sign of her daughter. Struggling to to keep the case on track and her own life under control, Stonechild learns the dead woman had ties to a Montreal biker gang and heads to Quebec to find the missing piece. 
     
    
    
    Shallow End – Book #4, NEW! 
    
    Convicted child molester Jane Thompson has made parole, but one month later the body of the student she was found guilty of abusing is found on the shores of Lake Ontario. Sergeant Rouleau assigns Officers Stonechild and Gundersund to head up the murder investigation, but things quickly get ugly, and not just with the case.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Joys of My Life - cover

    Joys of My Life

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Hawkenlye medieval mystery - May 1199. Abbess Helewise has been summoned by Queen Eleanor to discuss the building of a chapel at Hawkenlye Abbey. Meanwhile, Sir Josse d'Acquin is on the trail of a group of mysterious knights rumoured to be devil worshippers. As Helewise heads for home, Josse follows his quarry to Chartres, where he meets the last person he expects: Joanna. And she has grave problems of her own . . .
    Show book
  • Winter King The - A Hawkenlye 13th Century British Mystery - cover

    Winter King The - A Hawkenlye...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All Saint’s Eve, 1211. An overweight but wealthy nobleman, desperate for an heir, dies at the celebration feast he’s thrown in his own hall. A natural death . . . or at the hands of his reluctant new wife?Sabin de Gifford, an apothecary and healer of note, is called to examine the body, and concludes that he died of a spasm to the heart. But she is troubled, all the same, and beset by suspicions. Did the man really die of a heart attack? Or was something more sinister to blame?There is only one person Sabin can turn to for help: fellow healer Meggie, daughter of Sir Josse d’Acquin. But what she requires of her is dangerous indeed . . .
    Show book
  • Way Between the Worlds - cover

    Way Between the Worlds

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An Aelf Fen medieval mystery - Come to me! I need you! These words bring apprentice healer Lassair awake one morning in the spring of 1092, trembling with terror. Soon Lassair is certain that one of her loved ones is in terrible danger . . . and when the news comes that a nun at Chatteris Abbey - where her beloved sister Elfritha lives - has been murdered, Lassair fears the worst. She sets off immediately, but the danger she will have to face may be greater than she is ready for . . .
    Show book