Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Engineering's Public-Protection Predicament - Reform Education and Licensure for a Safer Society - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Engineering's Public-Protection Predicament - Reform Education and Licensure for a Safer Society

Stuart Walesh

Publisher: S. G. Walesh Consulting

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

If a surgeon errs during an operation, the consequences-however dire-are limited to one or a few people. In contrast, an engineering failure usually causes multiple injuries and deaths, as well as destruction. Some examples: space shuttle Challenger explosion, car fires, gulf oil rig tragedy, amusement ride accidents, and plane crashes. 
	These, and too many other engineering catastrophes, share one feature-employers responsible for the failures were exempt from requirements to put, in charge, competent and accountable licensed engineers (professional engineers, PEs) whose paramount responsibility was public protection. These industries, manufacturers, and utilities placed importance on the bottom line instead of safety. 
	The problem is compounded by an inadequate 90-year old education model used by the American engineering licensing system. The education for those aspiring to be PEs should match 21st century scientific, technological, social, political, economic, and environmental conditions. This disparity puts the public at risk. 
 	How did this predicament happen? What can we do about it? The book answers those questions by explaining that academic and practicing engineers, in collaboration with public sector leaders, need to:Eliminate/markedly reduce the adverse effects of U.S. engineering licensure-exemption laws Broaden and deepen the education and experience required for PEs to be consistent with today's challenges and opportunities 
	Engineering's Public-Protection Predicament offers numerous action ideas for interested individuals and organizations, within and outside of engineering, who want to take engineering up to the next level and, more specifically, improve public safety. The suggested actions will enable engineers, with assistance from others, to resolve American engineering's public-protection predicament.  
	The book provides potential engineering students, and their parents and advisors, examples of engineering excellence and exemplars. It also: Describes multiple careers offered by earning an engineering degreeSuggests ways to choose an engineering collegeOffers advice on how to adopt a growth mindset and succeed as a student  
	Every day across America, water supply systems supply, airplanes fly, chemical plants process, dams dam, generators generate, water treatment plants treat, carnival rides spin, wind turbines turn, refineries refine, pipelines pipe, nuclear reactors react, bridges cross, offshore oil wells pump, and satellites orbit. All of us have a stake in engineering.   
	Engineering's Public-Protection Predicament will help concerned citizen stakeholders and potential engineers more fully understand engineering's successes and challenges. This book will also enable engineering educators and practitioners, along with licensing boards, engineering societies, and others to build on achievements and resolve engineering's public-protection predicament.

Other books that might interest you

  • Is Our Will Truly Free? - cover

    Is Our Will Truly Free?

    Robert R. Kuhn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do you create your own destiny? Or does the universe deal you a hand that you have to play with?This series will stimulate your mind through a collection of profound and timeless questions about free will and determinism. As you analyze these competing philosophies, you will find that every answer raises fascinating new questions about morality, fate, consciousness, and the existence of a higher power.Of course, recent neuroscientific discoveries only fan the flames of the philosophical debate. Most scientific thought is predicated on the assumption that every action is determined by a prior action. But if that’s true, what does it imply about free will?In this series of three episodes, host Dr. Robert Lawrence Kuhn welcomes a total of 18 guest experts to discuss free will. Each episode is crafted as a series of one-on-one interviews.You’ll join some of the world’s leading philosophers, including John Rogers Searle of UC Berkeley, Ned Block of NYU, Peter van Inwagen of Notre Dame, and Daniel Clement Dennett III of Tufts. Within the field of philosophy of mind, Block has made important contributions to matters of consciousness and cognitive science. Meanwhile, van Inwagen is a leading figure in contemporary metaphysics, philosophy of religion, and philosophy of action.The implications of this debate are far-reaching and potentially paradigm-shifting. Now is your chance to unpack the details with the greatest minds the world has to offer.Note: Episodes One and Three—Is Free Will an Illusion? and Why is Free Will a Mystery?—were funded in part by a grant from the John Templeton Foundation.
    Show book
  • The Turning Point - cover

    The Turning Point

    Ph.D. Fritjof Capra

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A renowned physicist and author of The Tao of Physics turns his attention to the sweeping social changes brought about by what he describes as "the rising culture." As in his book The Turning Point, Dr. Capra addresses the state of the environment, modern industrial economy, and the choices individuals make in everyday life.
    Show book
  • The Vertical Farm - Feeding the World in the 21st Century - cover

    The Vertical Farm - Feeding the...

    Dickson Despommier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When Columbia professor Dickson Despommier set out to solve America's food, water, and energy crises, he didn't just think big-he thought up. Despommier's stroke of genius, the vertical farm, has excited scientists, architects, and politicians around the globe. These farms, grown inside skyscrapers, would provide solutions to many of the serious problems we currently face, including:-Allowing year-round crop production-Providing food to areas currently lacking arable land-Immunity to weather-related crop failure-Reuse of water collected by dehumidification of the indoor environment-New employment opportunities-No use of pesticides, fertilizers, or herbicides-Drastically reduced dependence on fossil fuels-No crop loss due to shipping or storage-No agricultural runoff-And many moreVertical farming can be located on abandoned city properties, creating new urban revenue streams. They will employ lots of skilled and unskilled labor. They can be run on wind, solar, tidal, and geothermal energy. They can be used to grow plants for pharmaceutical purposes or for converting gray water back into drinking water.In the tradition of the bestselling The World Without Us, this is a totally original landmark work destined to become a classic. With stunning illustrations and clear and entertaining writing, this book will appeal to anyone concerned about America's future.
    Show book
  • The Seasons on Henry's Farm - A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm - cover

    The Seasons on Henry's Farm - A...

    Terra Brockman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “[A] lyrical portrait of a central Illinois sustainable farm . . . Brockman covers her subject with hard-earned expertise and organic passion.” —Publishers Weekly   Henry’s Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois—some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family—five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author—have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that’s sensible, sustainable, and focused on producing healthy, nutritious food in ways that don’t despoil the land. Terra Brockman tells the story of her family and their life on the farm in the form of a year-long memoir (with recipes) that takes readers through each season. Studded with vignettes, digressions, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm’s vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber.   “Here’s what you get when the farmer’s sister turns out to be a masterful writer: a compelling argument for rebuilding our nation’s food security that is threaded within a lyrical, funny, suspenseful narrative of life on her brother’s Illinois farm.” —Sandra Steingraber, author of Having Faith     “Terra Brockman's new book is such a delightful synergy of poetic inspiration and realistic descriptions of life on a farm. Here is everything from the joy and satisfaction of growing garlic and raising turkeys, to tending fruit trees and growing vegetables . . . Given the recent renewed interest in gardening and urban farming, the appearance of this inspiring book could not be more timely.” —Frederick Kirschenmann, president, Stone Barns Center for Food and Agriculture
    Show book
  • Green Guide to Wild Flowers Of Britain And Europe - cover

    Green Guide to Wild Flowers Of...

    David Sutton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bloomsbury Green Guides are portable handbooks to the most commonly found species in Britain and Europe. 
     
    A huge variety of wild flowers grow in fields, gardens, woodlands and even on roadsides, and recognising individual species can prove challenging. The Green Guide to Wild Flowers makes identifying them easy for beginners and amateur naturalists alike. 
     
    Concise descriptions include information on habitat, months in flower, as well as important features like fruit, leaf structure and stem 
     
    Beautiful colour illustrations of all 150 species 
     
    Detailed introduction includes colour photographs, botanical keys and information on families of wild flowers
    Show book
  • 21st Century Yokel - cover

    21st Century Yokel

    Tom Cox

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    21st-Century Yokel explores the way we can be tied inescapably to landscape, whether we like it or not, often through our family and our past. It's not quite a nature book, not quite a humour book, not quite a family memoir, not quite folklore, not quite social history, not quite a collection of essays, but a bit of all seven. It contains owls, badgers, ponies, beavers, otters, bats, bees, scarecrows, dogs, ghosts and yes, even a few cats. What emerges from this are themes that are broader, bigger and more definitive.
    Show book