Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Listener - The Rush Chinbroski Series #1 - cover

The Listener - The Rush Chinbroski Series #1

Steve Copling

Publisher: Steve Copling

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A Rush/Chinbroski Novel, Volume 1 
During a rare Texas freeze, Detectives Greg Rush and Rick Chinbroski investigate the discovery of a woman found dead in her bathtub. She is encased in ice with a cellular phone positioned against her ear.  A note left at the scene of the crime leads the detectives to determine that they are not the only ones on the killer's trail.  A woman, it seems, is desperate to help the police catch him...but only when she decides it's time. More notes, written in an obscure American dialect, follow, leading the detectives to California, where the woman reveals her identity...and that of the monster they are hunting.

Other books that might interest you

  • Playing with Fire - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Playing with Fire - A Novel of...

    Peter Robinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Chief Inspector Alan Banks finds himself up against a diabolical arsonist in this electrifying novel of suspense from New York Times bestselling author Peter Robinson. 
    In the early hours of the morning, a man reports a fire on two old canal boats. One of the firefighters notices the use of accelerant at the scene and calls the police, but by the time Inspector Banks arrives, the fire brigade have put out the flames and only the smoldering wreckage remains. A body has been found on each barge, and all the evidence points towards a deliberate arson attack.  
    One of the victims is Tina, a young girl with a drug addiction and a terrible past who had been living with her boyfriend Mark. The other is Tom, an artist who had been living alone. Now, with little evidence to go on and a number of possible suspects, including Tina's boyfriend, the local 'lock-keeper' who reported the fire, and Tina's own father, Banks must begin to delve into the lives of the victims, and to discover who could have wanted them out of the way forever... 
    From the master of psychological suspense, Peter Robinson, comes a mind-bending thriller of secrets and murder.
    Show book
  • Close to Home - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Close to Home - A Novel of Suspense

    Peter Robinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The past returns to haunt Chief Inspector Alan Banks in this harrowing novel of suspense from New York Times bestselling author Peter Robinson. 
    There are human bones, buried in an open field, the remains of a lost teenaged boy whose disappearance devastated a community more than thirty-five-years ago…and scarred a guilt-ridden friend forever… 
    A long-hidden horror has been unearthed, dragging a tormented policeman into a past he could never truly forget no matter how desperately he tried. A heinous crime that occurred too close to home still has its grip on Chief Inspector Alan Banks—and it’s leading him into a dark place where evil still dwells. Because the secrets that doomed young Graham Marshall back in 1965 remain alive and lethal, and disturbing them could cost Banks much more than he ever imagined.  
    Master of suspense Peter Robinson once again delves into the human psyche to reveal what leads some to commit murder in this compelling, unforgettable thriller.
    Show book
  • The Gregory Sallust Series Starter - cover

    The Gregory Sallust Series Starter

    Dennis Wheatley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dennis Wheatley (1897 – 1977) was an English author whose prolific output of stylish thrillers and occult novels made him one of the world's best-selling writers from the 1930s through the 1960s. 
     
    Wheatley was the eldest of three children, and his parents were the owners of Wheatley & Son of Mayfair, a wine business. He admitted to little aptitude for schooling, and was expelled from Dulwich College, London. In 1919 he assumed management of the family wine business but in 1931, after a decline in business due to the Depression, he began writing. 
     
    His first book, The Forbidden Territory, became a bestseller overnight, and since then his books have sold over 50 million copies worldwide. During the 1960s, his publishers sold one million copies of Wheatley titles per year, and his Gregory Sallust series was one of the main inspirations for Ian Fleming's James Bond stories. 
     
    During the Second World War, Wheatley was a member of the London Controlling Section, which secretly coordinated strategic military deception and cover plans. His literary talents gained him employment with planning staffs for the War Office. He wrote numerous papers for the War Office, including suggestions for dealing with a German invasion of Britain. 
     
    Dennis Wheatley died on 11th November 1977. During his life he wrote over 70 books and sold over 50 million copies.
    Show book
  • Blaze Away: A Harpur & Isles British police procedural - cover

    Blaze Away: A Harpur & Isles...

    Bill James

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Policemen Harpur and Iles get mixed up in the criminal world of fine art dealing
    
    Detective Chief Superintendent Colin Harpur feels a sort of warmth towards Jack Lamb, a brilliantly prosperous but profoundly dodgy fine arts dealer. Lamb is the greatest informant Harpur has ever dealt with – might be the greatest informant any police officer has ever dealt with – and although Jack ended this arrangement some time ago, Harpur still feels indebted to him.
    
    Lamb’s posh manor house is stuffed with expensive paintings, ripe for the pinching . . . and small-time thief George Dinnick and his crew intend to relieve him of a few. But their plans are complicated by local big-time crook Ralph Ember, who is on the lookout for some art to elevate his gentleman’s club, The Monty; and who else would he visit to procure this art but Jack Lamb? Add to the mix odd-job man and stolen-art procurer Basil Gordon Loam – aka Enzyme – who Harpur and Iles would very much like to see locked up, and things start to get complicated indeed.
    Show book
  • Power Struggle - Detective Madison Knight Series #8 - cover

    Power Struggle - Detective...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    One female detective. One Mafia hit man. One score to settle. 
     
    "Gritty and emotionally jagged, Carolyn Arnold's Power Struggle pours on the suspense as one twisted assassin plays hide-and-go-seek with a detective who refuses to give up." –Tome Tender Book Blog 
     
    Murder takes a personal turn for Detective Madison Knight when she's called to investigate the homicide of the man who had killed her grandfather. She struggles to remain objective, but the murderer's method and the victim's connection to the mob has her suspecting the Russian Mafia hit man—the one who nearly killed her months ago—is back in town. Her partner thinks she's crazy, but her worst nightmare becomes reality when the hit man makes it clear he's coming for her and her family. 
     
    Terrified, but not about to back down, Madison must summon her courage if she's going to protect those she loves. With the stakes higher than ever, she prepares for a final, chilling showdown. 
     
    Power Struggle was awarded the #1 pick for the Top 10 Books of the Year (2017) (Angels Book Review) and is "a murder-mystery with a thriller tone that takes readers on a journey of action, suspense and emotions." (Fanna) Perfect book for fans of the crime genre!  
     
    Buy this international bestselling book today and join the investigation! Uncover clues, follow leads, and catch a killer like hundreds of thousands of readers have done before you. It doesn't matter if this is the first book you're reading in the Detective Madison Knight series or not; all the books stand alone! 
     
    What readers say about Power Struggle: 
     
    ★★★★★ "This one will get your adrenaline as well as your blood pressure up a notch or three!" 
    ★★★★★ "Power Struggle is a crime television show in written form!" 
    ★★★★★ "Arnold…writes so gritty. It's exactly what you would expect from hard detectives that are way too overworked." 
    ★★★★★ "An intense suspenseful twisted chase to the final face-off!" 
    ★★★★★ "Edge-of-your-seat crime thriller." 
    ★★★★★ "Arnold's work is definitely on par with the top writers in crime and this book was no different." 
    ★★★★★ "Full of suspense." 
    ★★★★★ "This novel shows how much a writer can understand her genre and target audience to make sure every in and out is authentic." 
    ★★★★★ "A gripping story which left me wanting to read more of the Detective Madison Knight series." 
    ★★★★★ "Another brilliant book from Carolyn [Arnold]." 
    ★★★★★ "A fantastic crime thriller - very realistic and hooked from start to finish." 
    ★★★★★ "A page-turner; fast-paced and exciting throughout." 
    ★★★★★ "Arnold has created a novel that really takes the reader into the lives of her characters."
    Show book
  • The Executive Series (Omnibus Edition) - cover

    The Executive Series (Omnibus...

    Gary Grossman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Get ready to lose yourself in a hell of a story.” —Michael Palmer, New York Times bestselling author of Oath of Office   For Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke, every day is a ticking clock. In these three edge-of-your-seat thrillers, Roarke has the lives of the American people in his hands every day, from the leader of the free world on down, and every page brings him, and us, closer to annihilation. Perfect for fans of Brad Thor and David Baldacci, this bundle of political conspiracy thrillers pits a brilliant agent against an ruthless enemy, and will keep you turning pages to each jaw-dropping conclusion.
    Show book