Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Braineater Jones - cover

Braineater Jones

Stephen Kozeniewski

Publisher: French Press

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

No memory. No pulse. No clue.The undead private eye everybody calls “Braineater Jones” has an axe to grind. Somebody plugged him and dumped his corpse in a swimming pool. Worse yet, his memory’s gone. He has no idea who killed him or why.But he’s damn sure going to find out.With a smartass severed head as a partner, Jones hangs up his shingle in the city’s undead quarter. When he’s not solving cases (poorly) Jones is always looking to keep his flask full. Prohibition is in full swing, and the dead need alcohol to function. Without liquor they become mindless, flesh-munching ghouls. (In a word: braineaters.)Everything will probably be fine. The investigation into his own murder probably won’t point Jones toward the city’s most important bootlegger. And even if it does, it’s not like he’ll risk cutting off the hooch just to seek justice for himself, right? No one man’s life is worth unleashing a cannibalistic orgy of violence. Right?Cracking this case will be a tall order, but one thing’s for sure: whatever happens, Braineater Jones isn’t getting out of this one alive…

Other books that might interest you

  • Celebrity - A Novel - cover

    Celebrity - A Novel

    Thomas Thompson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller: Three former friends bound by ambition, fame, and a dark secret reunite in this spellbinding saga from the author of Blood and Money. They were the princes of their high school in Fort Worth, Texas. Valedictorian Kleber Cantrell became a Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist who befriended the famous and exposed the notorious. Mack Crawford, teenage Adonis and University of Texas football hero, used his good looks to jumpstart an acting career. And T.J. Luther, voted “most popular” by the senior class, fell into a lurid life of crime but found God in prison and reinvented himself as the nation’s leading right-wing televangelist, his message of faith masking an all-consuming desire for power and revenge.   The different routes Kleber, Mack, and T.J. took to celebrity share common signposts: personal upheavals, ruinous marriages, petty jealousies, and blind ambition. Now, on the eve of their twenty-fifth high school reunion, their separate paths will cross to devastating effect—because these three friends have something else in common. It happened in an isolated cabin in the Texas woods on the night they graduated. They vowed never to speak of it again, but they always knew there would be a terrible price to pay . . .   A unique blend of fiction and autobiography, Celebrity is an “enthralling” tale of suspense from an Edgar Award–winning author whose journalism career gave him a front-row seat to the tumultuous lives of the rich and famous (TheBoston Globe). A six-month national bestseller, it was the basis for a television miniseries starring Ned Beatty, Hal Holbrook, and James Whitmore    
    Show book
  • A Cop Story - cover

    A Cop Story

    Donahue Silvis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Frankie, Phil, and Carlo grow up in a poor Italian neighborhood in Newark, New Jersey. It was during the depression and WWII. Times were bad and for them stealing was a way of life. The brothers, Frankie and Phil Fasino become wise guys working for the Family. Carlo Cardoni becomes a policeman to get away from the criminal element, or so he thought. Using the problems of his everyday life as an excuse, Carlo accepts favors from his past friends, Frankie, Phil, and their capo-regime. Favors he knows he must someday repay. Does Carlo renege on his commitments? Are Frankie and Phil ordered to hit their old friend, Carlo? Or, does Carlo give-up being a cop and join his Mafia friends?
    Show book
  • Monument Road - A Florida noir mystery - cover

    Monument Road - A Florida noir...

    Michael Wiley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shortlisted for the Shamus Awards 2018 - Best PI Hardcover NovelIntroducing former death-row inmate turned private investigator Franky Dast in the first of an intriguing new crime noir series.Having spent eight years on death row for a crime he didn’t commit, Franky Dast now works as an investigator for the Justice Now Initiative, seeking to help others in the same situation. But when he learns that Bill Higby, the detective whose testimony helped convict him, is facing his own murder charge, Franky is torn. Should he help the man he hates more than any other, the man who remains convinced of Franky’s guilt to this day?As Franky delves further, he comes to realize that in order to prove Higby’s innocence, he must also prove his own. Unless he finds out what happened that fateful night eight years before, the night 15-year-old Duane Bronson and his 13-year-old brother were murdered, Franky will always be under suspicion, and the real killer will remain free. What really happened that dark, wet night on Monument Road?  And is Franky prepared for the shocking truth? 
    Will appeal to fans of GREG ILES and MICHAEL CONNELLY
    Show book
  • Dead Reckoning - A contemporary horse racing mystery - cover

    Dead Reckoning - A contemporary...

    Glenis Wilson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Once again, jump jockey Harry Radcliffe is forced to turn reluctant sleuth in the third of this fast-paced, highly entertaining racing mystery series. When he stumbles across the body of local prostitute Alice Goode, champion jockey Harry Radcliffe is once again forced to turn reluctant sleuth. The prime suspect for Alice’s murder is ex-con Jake Smith. If Harry doesn’t find out who really killed Alice, and gets Jake off the hook, Jake will be coming after Harry – and his estranged wife, Annabel.As Harry begins to question Alice’s former clients, he uncovers some surprising secrets in her past. But, as determined as Jake is to ensure that Harry tracks down the real killer, a series of increasingly disturbing incidents makes it clear that someone else is equally determined to stop him finding out the truth. Will Harry survive long enough to race ride again?
    Show book
  • Old House of Fear - cover

    Old House of Fear

    Russell Kirk

    • 3
    • 10
    • 0
    A founding father of the American conservative movement, Russell Kirk (1918–94) was also a renowned and bestselling writer of fiction. Kirk’s focus was the ghost story, or “ghostly tale” – a “decayed art” of which he considered himself a “last remaining master.” Old House of Fear, Kirk’s first novel, revealed this mastery at work. Its 1961 publication was a sensation, outselling all of Kirk’s other books combined, including The Conservative Mind, his iconic study of American conservative thought. A native of Michigan, Kirk set Old House of Fear in the haunted isles of the Outer Hebrides, drawing on his time in Scotland as the first American to earn a doctorate of letters from the University of St. Andrews. The story concerns Hugh Logan, an attorney sent by an aging American industrialist to Carnglass to purchase his ancestral island and its castle called the Old House of Fear. On the island, Logan meets Mary MacAskival, a red-haired ingénue and love interest, and the two face off against Dr. Edmund Jackman, a mystic who has the island under his own mysterious control. This new edition features an introduction by James Panero, Executive Editor of The New Criterion.
    Show book
  • The Hidden - A British Police Procedural set in 1970's England - cover

    The Hidden - A British Police...

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Monika Paniatowski knows exactly who the killer is – but there’s no way she can tell anyone else! DCI Paniatowski’s team are increasingly convinced that the girl found dead in the woods is the victim of a ritual killing, carried out by a secret society which has been established in the very heart of Whitebridge. Their problem is that without Paniatowski there to back them up, they find it impossible to persuade the ambitious DCI ‘Rhino’ Dixon that treating it as a mere domestic murder will get them nowhere. And so Meadows, Crane and Beresford find themselves out on a limb - cutting corners, ignoring procedure, and running the very real risk that their careers could be brought to an abrupt and dramatic end.Meanwhile, Monika herself knows not only who the killer is, but also that he is stalking Louisa, her beloved daughter. But as she is one of the killer’s victims too, and is lying in a coma – hearing everything, but unable to move or speak – there is nothing she can do about it!
    Show book