Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Hitler's Pawn - The Boy Assassin and the Holocaust - cover

Hitler's Pawn - The Boy Assassin and the Holocaust

Stephen Koch

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 0
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

A remarkable story of a forgotten seventeen-year-old Jew who was blamed by the Nazis for the anti-Semitic violence and terror known as the Kristallnacht, the pogrom still seen as an initiating event of the Holocaust
After learning about Nazi persecution of his family, Herschel Grynszpan (pronounced "Greenspan"), an impoverished seventeen-year-old Jew living in Paris, bought a small handgun and on November 7, 1938, went to the German embassy and shot the first German diplomat he saw. When the man died two days later, Hitler and Goebbels made the shooting their pretext for the great state-sponsored wave of anti-Semitic terror known as Kristallnacht, still seen by many as an initiating event of the Holocaust.
Overnight, Grynszpan, a bright but naive teenager—and a perfect political nobody—was front-page news and a pawn in a global power struggle. When France fell, the Nazis captured Grynszpan after a wild chase and flew him to Berlin. The boy became a privileged prisoner of the Gestapo while Hitler and Goebbels plotted a massive show trial to blame "the Jews" for starting World War II. A prisoner and alone, Grynszpan grasped Hitler’s intentions and waged a battle of wits to sabotage the trial, knowing that even if he succeeded, he would certainly be murdered. The battle of wits was close, but Grynszpan finally won. Based on the newest research, Hitler’s Pawn is the richest telling of Grynszpan’s story to date.

Other books that might interest you

  • Vietnam: Remembrances of a War: With Commentary By Nelson DeMille - cover

    Vietnam: Remembrances of a War:...

    Chuck Mansfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After viewing the 2017 PBS documentary “The Vietnam War” by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick, the author recognized that Americans hold widely varying opinions about the effects and significance of the conflict. Immediately, he anticipated an opportunity to write about an historic event of which he not only knew something but in which he had also participated. Vietnam and what transpired there for millions of Americans, both at home and “in-country,” are distant and increasingly fading memories. The content herein comes from Vietnam War veterans and others, many of whose observations have never before appeared in print, and do not necessarily focus on the Burns-Novick documentary. In addition to new commentary, the author has recycled several earlier writings about his own service in the Marines and Vietnam.
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book
  • Sub Tweet - cover

    Sub Tweet

    Sara Schoen, Rena Marin, Hope...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sub Tweet 
    A Crazy Ink Anthology 
    Because someone needs to ask… 
    What's the truth behind the tweets? 
     "Grrrrr."           
    "Some people shouldn't use up oxygen." 
    "So done." 
     
    We've all seen the vague posts and tweets. We've all sat, wondering exactly how we should be responding to the oh-so-distressed regular sub tweeters who use social media as personal diaries aimed at making sure inquiring minds want to know. 
     
    But what's the real story behind the hashtags? 
     
    "Grrrr." (I stubbed my toe). 
    "Some people shouldn't use up oxygen." (Filling up balloons). 
    "So done." (With not getting attention). 
     
    A group of sassy authors will set out on a quest to collect vague book posts and sub tweets and unravel the mystery of all that 'please-ask' drama… 
     
    Sub Tweet, A Crazy Ink Anthology, will leave you fugly laughing, horrified, begging for more, and most certainly, never able to look at a vague status the same way again…
    Show book
  • The 50-Year Secret - cover

    The 50-Year Secret

    Julie MacNeil

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “A beautiful journey with a powerful message.” —Andy Chaleff, author of The Last Letter 
    Julie MacNeil is 6’4”, and although she is neither a WNBA athlete nor a famous model, she has a remarkable story to tell. As an adopted child, she always wondered about the parents who gave her up. After overcoming a challenging childhood and surviving two tumultuous marriages, a chance DNA test revealed an incredibly rare and life-threatening liver-lung disease. Julie then embarked on a difficult journey to find her birth family. Her goal was to warn them about the disease, which is highly genetic and often undiagnosed. What followed was a miraculous sequence of events and a remarkable homecoming.
    Show book
  • Deepwater Deception - The Truth about the Tragic Blowout and Perversion of American Justice - cover

    Deepwater Deception - The Truth...

    Robert Kaluza

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is an adventure, an investigation and a manhunt. It divulges the real reason for the Deepwater Horizon tragedy and leads the reader toward identifying the people responsible for causing it. It is the story of an oil-rig supervisor on a five-day assignment being scapegoated by his employer, BP, as part of a corrupt deal the company made with the U.S. Department of Justice. It was a deal that allowed BP to return to business as usual after the worst oil-spill disaster in the nation's history, and gave the accountable executives free passes. The narrative moves from the offshore rig to the courtroom, taking the reader on the life-altering journey of Bob Kaluza, an innocent man who was swiftly acquitted, yet still carries the scars of being accused of causing the deaths of eleven men and the environmental catastrophe in the Gulf of Mexico.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book