Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Cannibal Queen - A Flight Into the Heart of America - cover

The Cannibal Queen - A Flight Into the Heart of America

Stephen Coonts

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The New York Times–bestselling icon of the techno-aviation thriller takes to the skies in this memoir of a great American adventure in an open-cockpit biplane.   It was a bird’s-eye view of America—and the trip of a lifetime for author Stephen Coonts and his fourteen-year-old son. But even for Coonts, who had clocked 1,600 hours as a naval aviator and was the recipient of the Distinguished Flying Cross commendation, this was a first. He’d be flying closer to the earth than he ever had before. His big yellow wood-and-canvas bird was the Cannibal Queen, a Stearman open-cockpit biplane built in 1942. Destined for the scrap yard, it was rescued and restored for what Coonts would call his “Stearman summer.”   On a clear June afternoon in 1991, Coonts and his son took off to see the country the same way the barnstormers flew their Jennys: with a map and a compass. Coonts followed highways, railroad lines, back roads, mountains, rivers, and landmarks. For the next three months, seeing old friends and meeting new ones, he touched down on the diverse landscapes of each of the forty-eight contiguous states to record the stories of the American countryside, its spirited people, and its rich history.   Soaring from big cities to the heartland, experiencing everything from Bourbon Street jazz and small-town barbershop quartets to greasy spoons and backyard barbeques, the author of Flight of the Intruder and The Art of War captures not only the singular thrill of biplane aviation, but a nostalgia for the simple pleasures of an America thought lost and forgotten. Stephen Coonts found it, and in The Cannibal Queen he shares every exultant moment.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Stephen Coonts, including rare photos from the author’s personal collection.

Who read this book also read:

  • Marlborough: His Life and Times Volume I - cover

    Marlborough: His Life and Times...

    Winston S. Churchill

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the first volume of an ambitious and stunningly-written four-volume biography, Sir Winston Churchill discusses the early career and stratospheric rise to fortune of his illustrious ancestor. John Churchill, the Duke of Marlborough, may have been eclipsed in history by his more well-known descendant. But in his time, Marlborough was considered one of England’s foremost military leaders. 
    The first installment pays particular attention to personal details of Marlborough’s life, and the important role several women played in his success—including his sister, his wife, the Duchess of Cleveland, and Queen Anne herself. Sir Winston Churchill breathes life into these personal connections in an attempt to showcase Marlborough not only as a luminary figure in British history, but also to bring him to life once again in the mind of the reader.
    Show book
  • Don't Try This at Home - cover

    Don't Try This at Home

    Neil Strauss, Dave Navarro

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Step into the booth. Check your judgments at the curtain. Close your eyes. Listen: you can hear the voices of the visitors who sat here before you: some of the most twisted, drug-addled, deviant, lonely, lost, brilliant characters ever to be caught on film. What do you have to offer the booth?
    Show book
  • Conversations With Jerry Hicks - cover

    Conversations With Jerry Hicks

    Ronald Ritter, Sussan Evermore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jerry Hicks was Esther's Hicks husband and business partner who sadly passed away on the 22nd November 2011. Their success with books, workshops and seminars was never in question and they were the inspiration behind the highly successful book and film 'The Secret'.
    
    Through Sussan's open channel, we have achieved a direct connection to Jerry and present an unbiased brief view of his life. There were questions I asked and in turn Jerry responded candidly. 
    
    We talked about his life before Esther, his time in Cuba with a travelling sideshow and his death from Leukemia. 
    Jerry speaks clearly about his passing from Leukemia and chemotherapy treatment. So why or how did this happen to him of all people? 
    
    So join us as we take a step through the looking glass to meet Jerry Hicks. 
    
    Ronald Ritter
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood'  New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was  quickly  dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no  mercy killer, nor  was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son,  husband, beloved father, best  friend, and celebrated caregiver.  Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300  patients, he was also  perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American  history.  Cullen's  murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned  sixteen  years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
      Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a  surprisingly intelligent and  complicated young man whose promising  career was overwhelmed by his compulsion  to kill, and whose shy  demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to  his family and  friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two  former  Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of  Cullen's  professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put  everything at risk,  including her job and the safety of her children,  there's no telling how many  more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse  does more than  chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless  efforts to stop him; it  paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness  and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and  betrayal.
    Show book
  • Cheaper by the Dozen - cover

    Cheaper by the Dozen

    Ernestine Gilbreth Carey, Frank...

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Adapted into two classic motion pictures, this bestselling memoir is the unforgettable story of two parents, twelve kids, and a world of laughter and love.   Translated into more than fifty languages, Cheaper by the Dozen is the unforgettable story of the Gilbreth clan as told by two of its members. In this endearing, amusing memoir, siblings Frank Jr. and Ernestine capture the hilarity and heart of growing up in an oversized family. Mother and Dad are world-renowned efficiency experts, helping factories fine-tune their assembly lines for maximum output at minimum cost. At home, the Gilbreths themselves have cranked out twelve kids, and Dad is out to prove that efficiency principles can apply to family as well as the workplace.   The heartwarming and comic stories of the jumbo-size Gilbreth clan have delighted generations of readers, and will keep you and yours laughing for years.   This ebook features an illustrated biography including rare photos from the authors’ estates.   
    Show book
  • Becoming a Man - Half a Life Story - cover

    Becoming a Man - Half a Life Story

    Paul Monette

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Paul Monette’s National Book Award–winning memoir hailed as a classic coming-out storyPaul Monette grew up all-American, Catholic, overachieving . . . and closeted. As a child of the 1950s, a time when a kid suspected of being a “homo” would routinely be beaten up, Monette kept his secret throughout his adolescence. He wrestled with his sexuality for the first thirty years of his life, priding himself on his ability to “pass” for straight. The story of his journey to adulthood and to self-acceptance with grace and honesty, this intimate portrait of a young man’s struggle with his own desires is witty, humorous, and deeply felt.Before his death of complications from AIDS in 1995, Monette was an outspoken activist crusading for gay rights. Becoming a Man shows his courageous path to stand up for his own right to love and be loved.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Paul Monette including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the Paul Monette papers of the UCLA Library Special Collections.
    Show book