Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Pencilvania - cover

Pencilvania

Stephanie Watson

Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this illustrated, modern take on The Phantom Tollbooth meets Harold and the Purple Crayon, author Stephanie Watson beautifully explores grief and creativity through an unforgettable fantasy world.
 
Ever since she first learned to hold a crayon, Zora Webb has been unstoppable. Zora draws hamsters wearing pajamas and balloons and Lake Superior and pancakes and hundreds of horses. Her drawings fill sketchbooks and cover the walls of the happy home she shares with Frankie and their mother.
 
But when Zora's mom is diagnosed with leukemia, everything changes. After months of illness, she dies, and with her goes Zora's love of creation. Desperate to escape the pain, Zora scribbles out her artwork. Her dark, furious scribbles lift off the page and yank Zora and Frankie into Pencilvania, a magical world that's home to everything Zora has ever drawn. And one drawing—a scribbled-out horse named Viscardi—is determined to finish the destruction Zora started.
 
Viscardi kidnaps Frankie, promising to scribble her and all of Pencilvania out at sunrise. Zora sets out to rescue her sister, venturing deep into Pencilvania—a place crawling with memories, dangers, and new friends. If she is to save Frankie, Zora will have to face the darkness that both surrounds her and is inside of her.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blame It on the Mistletoe - cover

    Blame It on the Mistletoe

    Beth Garrod

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tweet Cute meets the movie The Holiday in this funny holiday rom-com where two very different girls swap lives for a Christmas adventure.
     
    Elle is a social medial star with the #DreamLife...or so it seems. Determined to shake up her content and gain new followers, she's on a mission: can she find a British fan to swap with for Christmas?
     
    Holly loves everything about Christmas. But after a mortifying mistletoe disaster with her ex, her perfect plans unravel like a bad Christmas sweater. Can Holly save the holidays when she switches places with favorite social media influencer?
     
    Elle gets more than she bargained for when she meets the cute boy from across the street. And Holly wasn't expecting Elle to have a handsome twin brother. This holiday is full of surprises.
    Show book
  • Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Vivian French

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy books. 
     
    When Dan gets into trouble at school for being untidy, he teams up with his best friend Billy to find out who's throwing his lunchbox on the floor. With chalk fingerprints and missing sardine sandwiches as clues, Detective Dan is on the case! 
     
    This humorous mystery from award-winning author Vivian French has appealing black-and-white illustrations by Daniel Duncan and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    'Patrice Lawrence, Tony Bradman, Margaret Mahy, Joan Aiken, Andrew Fusek Peters, Michaela Morgan, Geraldine McCaughrean and Narinder Dhami: any list that brings together such a quality line up of authors is going to be welcomed.' - Books for Keeps on the Bloomsbury Readers series 
     
    Book Band: Lime 
    Ideal for ages 7+ 
    Quizzed for Accelerated Reader
    Show book
  • Ten Steps To Us - cover

    Ten Steps To Us

    Attiya Khan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What if you meet the boy of your dreams but loving him is forbidden?
    Aisha Rashid has always felt invisible, so no one is more surprised than her when Darren, the hot new boy in school, takes an interest. But Aisha is a devout Muslim and Darren is firmly off limits. Will she follow her heart even if it means losing her own identity? If only there was a way to keep the boy and her faith. Maybe there is... all it takes is ten steps...
    Show book
  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • The Tooth Fairy and the Crocodile King - cover

    The Tooth Fairy and the...

    Catusha Warry

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Tooth Fairy and the Crocodile King is a fairy tale told in simple rhyming couplets. It is the story of a sleepy child who is visited by the Tooth Fairy; they take a journey together to the North Pole to meet King Crocodile, an avid collector of little teeth:
    
    "King Crocodile's home is made of teeth,
    And shimmers quite beyond belief,
    But in his mouth there is not one;
    His gums are bare as a baby's bum.
    He eats jam, soup and ice cream too,
    With mashed up pea and dumpling stew."
    
    In return for her tooth the Crocodile King gives our heroine a gold coin which allows her to travel anywhere she wishes to go and so she visits the bottom of the sea:
    
    “She swims with whales and talks to seals, 
    And slithers with some slippery eels. 
    She makes a hat from seaweed strands,
    And comfy shoes from giant clams.”
    
    Next morning she wakes to find the gold coin beneath her pillow and on her cupboard shelf:
    
    “There sits a playful fairy there, 
    Who waves her wand about the air. 
    No-one can see her only you - 
    And me of course, that makes just two."
    Show book
  • Grandma's Sugar Cookie - cover

    Grandma's Sugar Cookie

    Rose Rossner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Make your Christmas extra sweet this year with this heartwarming holiday board book for babies and toddlers!
     
    Celebrate the special bond between Grandma and grandchild with this oh-so-sweet story about Grandma's love! Packed with heartfelt rhymes and adorable illustrations, this book will inspire littles one and grandmas to bake some treats (and memories!) together this holiday season. This board book for ages 0-3 makes a perfect grandma gift, festive stocking stuffer, and Christmas gift for kids.
     
    Plus, this book includes a delicious cookie recipe in the back for Grandma and grandchild to make together! Create new memories and treasure these special moments for years to come!
     
    You are Grandma's Chocolate Chip,my special little treat.I love to laugh and play with youand bake you something sweet!
    Show book